Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have
If you enjoyed the album, this is a must-purchase.

Elbow very much support the idea of an album rahter than cherry-picking tracks off iTunes and this production tells you why. A complete and coherent album, no fillers, taking you on an emotional ride with the atmosphere of a live orchestra making the hairs stand up on your arms at times.

Originally...
Published on 13 Nov. 2009 by G. Merryweather

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, but the MP3 is NOT what is advertised!
Brilliant album by a brilliant band. Be careful, however, as the MP3 download of this, advertised by Amazon as being the 2009 Abbey Road Edition is, in actual fact, just the 2008 vanilla edition WITHOUT the Abbey Road Live Session tracks. An honest mistake on Amazon's part, I am sure - but hard to correct the mistake once you have bought in good faith and downloaded, only...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. S. B. Bloodworth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
G. Merryweather (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
If you enjoyed the album, this is a must-purchase.

Elbow very much support the idea of an album rahter than cherry-picking tracks off iTunes and this production tells you why. A complete and coherent album, no fillers, taking you on an emotional ride with the atmosphere of a live orchestra making the hairs stand up on your arms at times.

Originally released as a limited box package, this is pretty much now the definitive version of the album for me - I haven't played the standard album since I received the Abbey Road one. Buy it if you are a true fan of real music, crafted tunes and meaningful lyrics - or just if you want to listen to a truly special moment in British music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is just staggering, 17 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
While live performances can wow you with exciting energy, there are times when I have listened to live music and come away feeling that something just did not have the impact of the recording. Could be the vocals are not quite right, the balance of sound has not been mixed very well, the timing is a bit rushed etc.

A live version of the Seldom Seen Kid (my favourite album from the last couple of years) could so easily have disppointed. How wrong I was to even think this! The dynamics range from the most gentle and intimate to a sound that makes your whole body vibrate. The lyrics and musicality of Elbow is amazing, and this is not swamped in any way by over sentimental orchestral arrangements, but somehow taken to a new level that wonders the merging of the two.

If you are a fan of the original and are unsure about owning two versions of the same songs - I emplore you to get this. I really do think that this is the best live performance of any band that I have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 18 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
My experience of Live albums has been a compromise in the production and vocals, but often made up for the raw energy of the event.

This album has it all! I can't stress enough how good this is. If you were a fan of the original, you won't be disappointed buy this. The albums feels as if it was written for an orchestra. Guy's vocals are spot on and if anything, there is more emotion in them than on the original.

The DVD is the cherry on top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest live album ever - absolutely essential!, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
"The Seldom Seen Kid" was my favourite album of 2008, bar none. It is an incredible piece of work - romantic, touching, sentimental, intelligent and truly magnificent. This live performance of the album in its entirely at Abbey Road together with the superb BBC Concert Orchestra doesn't only do the original recordings justice - in the case of many of the compositions, it takes the tracks to new, even greater heights. The orchestra just explodes on "Starlings", the choir is amazingly beautiful on "The Bones Of You" and the band themselves give an absolutely flawless and impassioned performance of their greatest studio album so far. There are so many talking points. The way the orchestra builds towards the climax of "Weather To Fly" is just jaw-droppingly gorgeous. "Grounds For Divorce" sounds twice as powerful with the orchestra augmenting the hard-hitting guitar break to hairs-on-the-back-of-the-neck rising in appreciation, spine-tingling effect. The version of "The Fix" with Richard Hawley is vastly superior to the studio version, infinitely more atmospheric and underlining the underhanded nature of the lyrics wonderfully.

Listening to (and watching) this live album is a truly emotional experience. I find myself close to tears at various points of the performance as Guy Garvey's sensational voice delivers his superb poetry with such passion and at such a timbre that it seems to bypass your ears and go directly to your heart. I can honestly say that there aren't many songs on this earth which have the power to move me as much as "The Loneliness Of A Tower Crane Driver" when Guy hits those high notes, soaring above the sweeping strings of that incredible orchestra and the magnificence of that choir. "Some Riot" is almost equally as stirring (the strings are just... wow) and, of course, the heart-achingly romantic "One Day Like This" is more than just a little bit special, although it is during the finale of this song when the loudness of the performance seems just a little overpowering. It's to the credit of the arranger/musical director that, otherwise, the dynamics are perfect throughout. "Friend Of Ours" is a touching and stirring ending to one of the most remarkable performances I have ever seen.

I'm tempted to say that this concert depicts Elbow at the height of their powers, but, quite honestly, I hope that they have the potential to realise even greater things in their musical careers. It's quite difficult to imagine that they could possibly improve on something which is this close to perfection, but a fan can dream. If you loved "The Seldom Seen Kid", you really must not pass this album & DVD by. This is absolutely esssential and, in my opinion, perhaps even the greatest live album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need this album in your life, 25 May 2010
By 
T. Ford "Tomarse" (Portishead, Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
Anyone who has the original studio version of TSSK would wonder if the original could be improved ? Well stand back and be prepared to be blown away. Recorded for Radio 2 at Abbey Road studios this is the best live album I have ever heard.

Sometime words are not enough and this is the case for me with this album. At times it makes the hair stand on the back of your neck up such is the sheer brilliant and beauty of the songs.

It is the definitive Seldom Seen Kid album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better tha studio version, 27 Jun. 2010
By 
alessandro pizzino (Catania, Sicilia Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
I've discovered Elbow hearing the astonishing version of "Mirrorball" performed by Peter Gabriel. I wanted to hear something about them and bought the studio version, only to discover that there was a live one with a dvd. I bought this too and can say that orchestra added something special to the already wonderful songs. I've also downloaded from iTunes the cover of PG's "Mercy Street" by Elbow and it's wonderful. Now have to go back in history to buy previous cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars power in plastic, 4 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
this is just an absolute favorourite the 'abby rd' set with orchestra is just spellbinding and brilliant for me de de de de dah!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmacking, 3 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
I am no great fan of Elbow as a rule.
I don't even really care for the original Seldom Seen Kid so much.
But this live rendition is a bizarre anomily - it is truly inspired and inspiring.
The live versions with the orchestra, choir and audience seem to bring the band to life in a way that the (compartively) drab studio fails to.
High points are 'Starlings' 'The Bones of You' and a take on 'One Day Like This' that so surpasses the original that it has become my favourite piece of music in the world.
Buy without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best cd ever, 23 Dec. 2009
By 
Claire Rowe (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
this has to be one of the greatest cd,s ever made.have seen elbow live and they are just fantastic.would reccommend this to all fans of music young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Product, 15 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Seldom Seen Kid [Abbey Road Live Edition] (Audio CD)
This is my first purchase of an Elbow CD, and I absolutely love it! Although I cannot compare it with the original Seldom Seen Kid, I can already assure you that this album will add beautiful background chorals to an extensive and well performed orchestra. If you live in the US, like I do, then you may not have heard of Abbey Road, however once, you listen to this album, you will be singing the praises of this outstanding orchestra for years to come. Furthermore, I fully recommend purchasing your Elbow albums from amazon.co.uk as it is much cheaper than the American equivalent. Great job Elbow, and I look forward to purchasing future albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews