Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2006
After some fairly average (by his standards) albums Miles went out in a blaze of glory. There are some great settings for his trumpet playing here, even with there half baked rap/vocals there are some really enjoyable tracks here. High Speed Chase is an excellent setting for Miles to showcase his playing which is ironic since the trumpet part was recorded first and the backing written after his death. A fitting swansong.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2002
Many reviews of this album have focused its weak points, complaining that Miles went out with an experimental album and not, I'm afraid, an all-time classic. However, I think to say that misses the whole point of this album, and of Miles' music; it was about trying new things, and for that the album should be applauded and cherished. There are a few slightly off points, but on the whole Miles' playing is fantastic and the result is a great, hugely enjoyable summer album.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 October 2001
Many jazz fans were dismissive of this album. 'It's just Miles playing over some loops' they said, totally misunderstanding the point... this is HipHop, not jazz.
The production is fine. It's rough, gritty, and hard. Miles plays the best he has since the late 70s, and sounds like he's really enjoying it. Not bad for a man in his 60s.
In a way I'm glad the other collaborations he had planned for this record didn't go ahead as it makes this more focussed. You would hardly guess 2 of the tracks were made up of old Miles sessions with a new backing!
The reason this gets a lower score is the quality of the rapping. Easy Mo Bee does fine on The Doo Bop Song, but the rest is pretty poor. It would have been nice to see some other rappers on here -- maybe from A Tribe Called Quest or De La Soul, who had more empathy for the jazzy grooves.
To those who just want to hear Kind Of Blue or Birth Of The Cool in every record he did, don't bother.
For those of us who had our eyes and ears opened by Miles' experimentation over the last half of the 20th Century, this is a fitting end to his career.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
I don't care what anyone says about Easy Mo Bee's contribution in this album, because after 10 years of owning it, I still love it. So much style, so much groove, it's a shame it was Miles' last album, but this really is a very nice bit work.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Miles Davis' posthumously-released `Doo-Bop' sees him once again pushing his own personal musical boundaries and embracing new styles, in this case rap and hip-hop (in the ascendancy in the late 1980s). Rapper Easy Mo Bee supplies many of the slammin' beats and the rap vocal on three tracks.

The result is a mixed bag, felt by most connoisseurs of Miles' prolific output over 40 years of musical virtuosity and innovation to be definitely not among his best. It's hard to dissent from this view, as the album overall is samey and lacks the depth, complexity and vision which characterises his greatest work. However it does work on its own terms and is popular with the younger crowd, so might offer an accessible gateway into jazz for a listener more comfortable with hip-hop rhythms who then might be encouraged to further explore Davis' extensive and varied back catalogue.

Miles' trumpet playing here is as sharp, inventive and captivating as ever, with his instantly recognisable style. The production values are a little rough, intentionally, to give edge to the `doo-bop sound.' We can only speculate that had Davis lived another couple of years, we might have had a different collection of tracks featuring other rap artists, a more thoughtful and interesting result and a more fitting final paragraph to the epic novel of one of the 20th century's greatest musical legacies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
Deeply personal emotional associations with this album may have coloured my feelings about it, but as a swansong for an extraordinary musician with a very long career behind him and looking to mortality, it's brave, innovative and passionate. Actually it's extraordinary that when he was already elderly and ill, Davis decided to strike out in an entirely different direction, creating something amazing and new. Yes, it is definitely worth getting - the Doo Bop song alone is worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Had this album many years back and it is still as fresh as the day it came out.......If some of the purists don't like it I feel sorry for them. Genius is genius and Miles was one of the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Good quality pressing, I considered buying an original but I'm not disappointed.
#I would highly recommend the Music On Vinyl re-issue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
I already knew how good it was as this iwas merely replacing my cassette version of it.
Excellent service as usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Arrived on time. Brilliant cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)