Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Flash of Brilliance
After some fairly average (by his standards) albums Miles went out in a blaze of glory. There are some great settings for his trumpet playing here, even with there half baked rap/vocals there are some really enjoyable tracks here. High Speed Chase is an excellent setting for Miles to showcase his playing which is ironic since the trumpet part was recorded first and the...
Published on 18 Jan 2006 by Kevin Mcclure

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lift music
This is a disappointing album. It feels like the mixing desk was the most important instrument, and the sublime qualities of Mr Davis's playing are subjugated to the formulaic 'chill out' sound this album so clearly strives to create.

It is a waste of Miles Davis's abilities. Avoid.
Published 19 months ago by Boggy of Bucks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Flash of Brilliance, 18 Jan 2006
This review is from: Doo-Bop (Audio CD)
After some fairly average (by his standards) albums Miles went out in a blaze of glory. There are some great settings for his trumpet playing here, even with there half baked rap/vocals there are some really enjoyable tracks here. High Speed Chase is an excellent setting for Miles to showcase his playing which is ironic since the trumpet part was recorded first and the backing written after his death. A fitting swansong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not a classic, 23 April 2002
By A Customer
Many reviews of this album have focused its weak points, complaining that Miles went out with an experimental album and not, I'm afraid, an all-time classic. However, I think to say that misses the whole point of this album, and of Miles' music; it was about trying new things, and for that the album should be applauded and cherished. There are a few slightly off points, but on the whole Miles' playing is fantastic and the result is a great, hugely enjoyable summer album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles gets back to the streets, 9 Oct 2001
By 
Alan Moore "evilcat" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doo-Bop (Audio CD)
Many jazz fans were dismissive of this album. 'It's just Miles playing over some loops' they said, totally misunderstanding the point... this is HipHop, not jazz.
The production is fine. It's rough, gritty, and hard. Miles plays the best he has since the late 70s, and sounds like he's really enjoying it. Not bad for a man in his 60s.
In a way I'm glad the other collaborations he had planned for this record didn't go ahead as it makes this more focussed. You would hardly guess 2 of the tracks were made up of old Miles sessions with a new backing!
The reason this gets a lower score is the quality of the rapping. Easy Mo Bee does fine on The Doo Bop Song, but the rest is pretty poor. It would have been nice to see some other rappers on here -- maybe from A Tribe Called Quest or De La Soul, who had more empathy for the jazzy grooves.
To those who just want to hear Kind Of Blue or Birth Of The Cool in every record he did, don't bother.
For those of us who had our eyes and ears opened by Miles' experimentation over the last half of the 20th Century, this is a fitting end to his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles in the stlye of the hip hop bugle, 18 Oct 2003
This review is from: Doo-Bop (Audio CD)
I don't care what anyone says about Easy Mo Bee's contribution in this album, because after 10 years of owning it, I still love it. So much style, so much groove, it's a shame it was Miles' last album, but this really is a very nice bit work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miles' final work fusing jazz and hip-hop confirms his life-long quest for the new, 13 Mar 2011
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doo-Bop (Audio CD)
Miles Davis' posthumously-released `Doo-Bop' sees him once again pushing his own personal musical boundaries and embracing new styles, in this case rap and hip-hop (in the ascendancy in the late 1980s). Rapper Easy Mo Bee supplies many of the slammin' beats and the rap vocal on three tracks.

The result is a mixed bag, felt by most connoisseurs of Miles' prolific output over 40 years of musical virtuosity and innovation to be definitely not among his best. It's hard to dissent from this view, as the album overall is samey and lacks the depth, complexity and vision which characterises his greatest work. However it does work on its own terms and is popular with the younger crowd, so might offer an accessible gateway into jazz for a listener more comfortable with hip-hop rhythms who then might be encouraged to further explore Davis' extensive and varied back catalogue.

Miles' trumpet playing here is as sharp, inventive and captivating as ever, with his instantly recognisable style. The production values are a little rough, intentionally, to give edge to the `doo-bop sound.' We can only speculate that had Davis lived another couple of years, we might have had a different collection of tracks featuring other rap artists, a more thoughtful and interesting result and a more fitting final paragraph to the epic novel of one of the 20th century's greatest musical legacies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Miles Davis, 18 Feb 2014
By 
D. Roach - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doo-Bop [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
Good quality pressing, I considered buying an original but I'm not disappointed.
#I would highly recommend the Music On Vinyl re-issue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shows how Miles can appeal to a younger audience, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doo-Bop (Audio CD)
I already knew how good it was as this iwas merely replacing my cassette version of it.
Excellent service as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: Doo [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Deeply personal emotional associations with this album may have coloured my feelings about it, but as a swansong for an extraordinary musician with a very long career behind him and looking to mortality, it's brave, innovative and passionate. Actually it's extraordinary that when he was already elderly and ill, Davis decided to strike out in an entirely different direction, creating something amazing and new. Yes, it is definitely worth getting - the Doo Bop song alone is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lift music, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doo-Bop (Audio CD)
This is a disappointing album. It feels like the mixing desk was the most important instrument, and the sublime qualities of Mr Davis's playing are subjugated to the formulaic 'chill out' sound this album so clearly strives to create.

It is a waste of Miles Davis's abilities. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by the rap, 12 Nov 2006
By 
G. M. Phillips "goldhart" (In a deep dark cave) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doo-Bop (Audio CD)
A bit of a conflict here for me, as I absolutely hate rap music - I loathe and detest it, and yet I love Miles Davis's wide ranging styles. Fundamentally, the music played here is great, but then the rap starts up, and it's time to skip the track. They should rerelease the album without the pointless rap, then it would be perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doo-Bop
Doo-Bop by Miles Davis
Buy MP3 Album7.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews