Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars106
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I first heard Seasick Steve a few years ago now on Jools Holland's Hootenanny and was blown away. With lyrics written by himself and simple catchy music Steve produces the kind of music that others can only dream of. It is refreshing in a world of music that has become in many cases too commercialised that people like Seasick Steve are still around keeping things pure - especially on the Blues scene, where the songs are supposed to speak to us.

On this album are in total 12 tracks with Dan Magnusson playing drums on 7 of them. Where Steve really excels is when he is playing and singing by himself and these tracks are really good. All in all this is a brilliant album to have. If you are looking at this item then you probably already know Steve's work from previous albums, but if this is your first time then you are in for a real treat if you get this.

Although there are 12 tracks on this there are in fact 13 because if you listen to the last track it is extended, and after everyone says their goodbyes the song plays; Amy LaVere sings on this track.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
You cannot help but love Seasick Steve. He looks like a man who has travelled all over the world and his music and lyrics are filled with the consequent maturity and perspective. The opener to this album is a track called `Diddley Bo'. It is a phenomenal track filled with driving energetic drums and a lead line played on some kind of homemade lap steel instrument. To follow this `Big Green and Yeller' swaggers and struts with a more than accomplished riff and a wonderful rock vocal. This wouldn't be out of place in the 70's and yet it feels just as timeless today. Recent single `Happy (To Have a Job)' is well placed at track three with its stripped back production, bouncy folk guitar and deep vocals. `Banjo Song' then descends further into Seasick Steve's stripped back country sounds in such a way that you can't help but smiling at the simplicity.

After this the title track starts confidently with plodding drums before Steve's vocals ring through over a sliding and twanging guitar line. This is a wonderfully honest track. To follow this `That's All' struts with more of the same confidence and a produces a growing desire in me to dance in stereotypical hill billy fashion. The sound then returns to a more stripped back state with `Just Because I Can' which is a sombre and gentle travelling song. It acts almost as a prologue to `Never Go West' which though more energetic is angry and slightly bitter. On `Dark' Steve then produces a sombre and slightly remorseful track.

Ultimately the album closes out in similar style to the way it started. `Seasick Boogie' is plodding with a wonderfully bouncy guitar line. The whole package is then held together with Steve's vocals once more growling throughout. Once Steve, Vance, Roy and Nathan have said goodbye and Steve has set up a bit of a party you are treated to a beautifully soft version of Hank William's `I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry.'

Seasick Steve is a character almost unlike any other in the music industry today and albums like this are an absolute joy to listen to filled with wonderful stories, emotion and no small slice of fun.
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 October 2009
Got the free track from Amazon. Normally would not have touched with a barge-pole. did not think I liked blues and his picture put me off - he looks a bit Hicksville. but the free tack was great and so got the whole album straight away. all the tracks are as good as the freebie, some good singing, some good tunes, and a great laid-back feel. a class album.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
From the one-string Diddleybo to the three string transformer, Steve has knocked out yet another fantastic album. Every track is infused with the essence of this gentle and deeply souful man (hear Banjo Song), and when he's rockin', no-one does it better. Love the man, love his music, can't wait to see him this month in London.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In this, his fourth record since he exploded onto the music scene a few short years ago, Seasick Steve has produced another classic.

The disc is chock full of up tempo blues. It stomps, it boogies, it gets your feet tapping. It shows why Steve is one of the most highly regarded blues artists of the last 20 years.

The key to Steve's artistry is that, like all great blues artists, he has lived a full and eventful life, with much hardship. His writing and singing is inspired and informed by the years of hoboing around America. It adds another dimension to the recording, a touch of realism that sets it apart. It's reminiscent of the great Blues artists in 1950's Chicago, such as Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf, many of whom had tough lives before (and after) they found fame. Indeed, there are several occasions when Steve plays guitar breaks that sound a lot like Muddy Waters or John Lee Hooker. That other great bluesman, Bo Diddley, gets a name check in the first song (a tribute to Steve's unique one string instrument, the Diddley Bo) which is based around the famous Diddley beat.

This is music straight from the heart. No meaningless lyrics, pointless overproduction or synthesisers, it's real music played by real people with a great deal of skill and a deep love of what they're doing. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys music with feeling. Probably not of interest to fans of Cowell style plastic pop. This record really deserves to collect a lot of awards. My only slight niggle is that there are none of the great spoken word stories of his life as a Hobo that were so effective on his previous recordings.

If you enjoy this then check out Steve's other offerings, `I started out with nothing', `Doghouse music' and `Cheap. I would also recommend `Electric Dirt' by Levon Helm, another record made with feeling.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
Not quite as good as cheap or started out with nothing but knocks socks of most other current album releases. First song Diddley Bo is rocking. Sounds a bit like Steve Earle who I also like. I love folk/country/blues which tell stories and has he got a story to tell. This man has lead a LIFE. Man from another time is the old nostalgia thing where old folks always think that the old days were better. He used to think it was nonsense when he was a kid but now he's just the same now he's getting on a bit.Just Because I Can is about riding the railway for free on a lazy Sunday when he hasn't got anything else he needs to do and is a slow and relaxed song. Never go west is about getting put in jail when what seemed like a good idea at the time ended him and his mate in the wrong town. My home is a love song where he's saying he doesn't need to promise to be true or need to keep saying I love you because it's like saying day follows night or the world is round it's a fact and isn't going to change. And I'm glad my purchase of his previous albums has helped him to buy his Big Green and Yeller tractor. That's a lot better than what a lot of Artists spend their money on. All in all a great album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
I first saw Seasick Steve on Jools Holland's New Year's Eve show about 3 years ago and thought "that is my kind of music" but failed to write his name down. When he appeared again the following year I certainly did make a note of it and immediately ordered his latest CD which was "Dog House Music". I loved it and so when I heard he had brought out "Man from another Time" I ordered it as soon as it came out. He really just goes from great to marvellous. The tracks move from just plain fun to be alive and playing (Diddley Bo) through to reflective (Just Because I Can) and on to driving blues (Seasick Boogie). To anyone who loves the sound of Delta Blues, this is a must. He really is a Man from Another Time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
I'm a big fan of Steve Wold, a very big fan. I have all his albums, and this is the best one yet. I have the CD but can't wait for the vinyl, as this album was made for vinyl having been recorded in analogue, the strange thing is you can tell on the cd, and hell does it show, the sound is fantastic. The songs as usual are a mix of blues, country and down and dirty. Steve sings about diddly bows, green tractors and jobs the usual but always unusual Seasick fair. The title track Man From Another Time has Steve at his self depricating best. I've seen him twice and this album is the next best thing. Get it now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2009
I'm sure, Seasick Steve and that brilliant, swedish drummer has had a great time while recording this simple, honest album. Steve writes and sings and plays from deep in his heart about what he has seen and learned, and it's not a sophisticated heart, it's an old mans experienced and battered heart with a 12 bar beat most of the time. Blues or roots, call it what you want, it's the feeling that counts. If you love those magic hours - glass of wine in hand - when music and lyrics takes you to places, you would otherwise never visit. Steve is Your man. I live in Denmark, and while i am writing this, we have abt. two feet of snow, and more are coming down from the sky. Can't go anywhere. Would'nt want to anyways. My favorite so far is 'Dark' and Steves soothing observation, that the dark is a friend. It was there, when we came and will still be here, when we leave. I highly recommend his first, real album as well - 'I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left'. There is som real fine videos on Steves website - designed and produced by one of his sons. Seasick Steve is not a 'product', he and his music is for real with all the flaws and scars, that reality provides to some of us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
This another great album from Seasick Steve with stomping good tracks like Diddley BO, Big Green and yeller all about his John Deere tractor and happy (To have a Job)with brooding melodies like Man from another time (same riff as Chiggers),Dark and Just because I can. This is another album which offers all facets of Steve's talent. Dip your toe in and enjoy some Classic Seasick Steve.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)