Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Just Ask The Author
Echoing the other reviews of this book on here, this is a fantastic piece of work by one of the foremost Dylan experts and despite being chopped into individual songs it still manages to read like a cohesive whole. Even the most serious Dylan fans will find something new here and I for one can't wait for the next volume which will cover his less acclaimed but in many ways...
Published on 13 May 2009 by joebrody

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Dylan book ....
I am going to give this book only three stars because I felt quite bored by the author's relentless self-promotion. I find arrogance difficult to take and, having read a whole stack of Dylan books where the authors are rather more interested in Bob than themselves, I find this one rather irritating. The issue of scholarship is significant: Heylin has spent a lot of time...
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by Blind Brian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Dylan book ...., 2 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am going to give this book only three stars because I felt quite bored by the author's relentless self-promotion. I find arrogance difficult to take and, having read a whole stack of Dylan books where the authors are rather more interested in Bob than themselves, I find this one rather irritating. The issue of scholarship is significant: Heylin has spent a lot of time in the Colombia vaults and probably reads their system better than most, but his arrangement of the songs chronologically is very much a matter of opinion, informed as that opinion might be. That, effectively, is his one trick, and it is insufficient to carry this book since his critical skills are not of the same order. It becomes tedious that Heylin ends each section with a little twist that he presumably finds witty; I don't, at least after a few of them. He also seems to have much more respect for himself than for Dylan and, with an ego the size of his own should be more forgiving of both Bob's ego AND his libido. I also am much irritated by Heylin's lack of respect for other authors, I have met Michael Gray and find him an interesting, insightful and pleasant man. I am SURE that Gray would not speak of Heylin in the way that Heylin does of Gray and everyone else. In my opinion, the best thing to inform anyone wanting to find out more about Dylan is to read another book, so long as it is intelligently written. Heylin doesn't agree with this, thinking most other writers inferior to himself, and it is to his detriment. In a few word, I will state with certainty; Song and Dance Man 3 is MUCH better than this book, though much more demanding intellectually to read. I would like to test Heylin's knowledge of American roots music; I suspect it would NOT be great, and certainly would not match Gray's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Just Ask The Author, 13 May 2009
Echoing the other reviews of this book on here, this is a fantastic piece of work by one of the foremost Dylan experts and despite being chopped into individual songs it still manages to read like a cohesive whole. Even the most serious Dylan fans will find something new here and I for one can't wait for the next volume which will cover his less acclaimed but in many ways more interesting work.

Unfortunately however the author, rather than let the books obvious merits speak for themselves appears to find it necessary to tell us how good he is, frequently, and less forgivably how poor pretty much every other Dylan scholar throughout history has been. This monumental arrogance is pretty tedious at times and can become wearing but it shouldn't detract from what is a significant work. Heylin may be as he so often points out, the best there is when it comes to writing about Dylan but my God you wouldn't want to have him round for dinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ain't Clinton Heylin Great!, 25 May 2009
By 
Mr. BM Bleese "Timesown" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ain't Clinton Heylin Great' would have been a good alternative title for this book. Once one wades through the self-congratulatory, ego-driven 'Seems Like an Intro' the book is actually not to bad. Heylin obviously thinks very highly of himself and very little of any one else who has ever written about Dylan. He also fancies himself as something of a wit, unfortunately, Oscar Wilde he is not.

However, beyond Heylin's obvious shortcomings as a writer the book is enjoyable and where he fails as a writer Heylin does seem to be a half decent researcher. The reasonably informed and educated reader will doubtless see through the tabloid standard assumptions that populate almost every page and enjoy the history and origins of the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody Sings Dylan Like Heylin, 30 Mar 2009
By 
Bornintime (The East Coast) - See all my reviews
Clinton Heylin is the world's foremost Bob Dylan chronicler, researcher, biographer and author. But don't take my word for it - ask Mr. Heylin yourself. Actually you don't need to ask him; he'll tell you on his own or certainly strongly imply it. After reading dozens and dozens of Dylan books over the years, and being completely burned out on reading about Bob, Heylin is the only author that I will certainly read when he comes out with a new Dylan book. That being said I was concerned that Heylin's seemingly increasing arrogance and ego would mar this new book. Most people didn't think much of Clinton's recent book on The Beatles' Sergeant Pepper, which revealed more of the author's tastes than anything else. Happily he has reined things in here and produced an incredible book for enjoyment, information and even research. The first of a 2 volume series Heylin has taken on the task of discussing every single known Dylan-written song in the order they were written. This includes unofficial and even unheard songs. This volume covers 1957 - 1973. He discusses everything from Dylan's and others comments at the genesis of each song, early performance, influences and anything you can think of. It is a fascinating book. What sets Heylin apart from most other Dylanologists is his attention to detail and the truth, as well as his own dogged research. Instead of regurgitating popular opinions on Bob he takes nothing for granted. Heylin did not write this book because this is his latest project. It is my impression that he wrote this be read as THE definitive commentary on Bob Dylan songs 100 years from now. I believe that he has succeeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Albums, 5 Feb 2012
By 
P. F. Clayden "pclayden" (Dizzy London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Bootleg series has been a superb listening experience.

This magnificent book puts all those out-takes and live versions in a concise historical context.

I totally disagree with some other reviews which make off-kilter character comments about the author. He does have strong opinions but the book would be sterile without them. There are numerous quotes from Dylan himself. Often Dylan is complaining of writers trying to analyse or decode his songs. Heylin largely tries to avoid Lit-Crit style writing but concentrates on verifiable details.

I have been a Dylan fan for 33 years and learnt a huge amount from this splendid book. The highest praise is that it makes you listen to the great songs again and again - in the many different versions available.

I bought this on Kindle. It was that good that I will have to buy the real deal now as well as it is an invaluable work of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music in the cafes at night and..., 27 May 2009
One of the better recent books that's joined the others on my sagging and straining "Bob Dylan" shelf. Heylin's a master at dissecting Dylan and offering new ways to consider songs that you might have heard a thousand times or more. What he isn't is a prose stylist. This book could've done with some editorial streamlining to take out some of Heylin's clunky turns of phrase or semi-jokes. But its probably unfair to carp too much about that when the essence of the book is so strong. I've probably got 30 or 40 Dylan books and I am glad I got this one. If you only have a handful then this is a good addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great piece of work, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb and thorough document, tracing and accounting for all Dylan's songs, released and unreleased, in the period under study. The writing is easy to read and consistently informative. I find no evidence at all of the author's "relentless self-promotion" which other reviewers have complained of. It's simply not there. (He is scathing about some other writers in the intro, but it's just the intro - and anyway, he may be justified!)

The beauty of this book is that the insights and connections make you want to dig out the music and listen in the context of the points the author raises. Difficult to put down (sorry for the cliche) - and getting volume 2 is a certainty for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anatomy of a genius, 25 April 2009
By 
Dr. Peter G. Upton (Woolston, Southampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The previous reviewer has it right; the author is quite intrusive (puts 'boom boom' after a feeble pun, for example) but his heart seems to be in the right place. The book would be greatly improved by the full lyrics to each song; it succeeds in demystifying a few things while leaving the genius of Dylan to speak for itself; a good place to start would be with Stuck inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again where he describes how it is possible to hear the song evolve on CD and then to hear the definitive version. People who don't like Dylan (or Shakespeare) must be avoided at all costs. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars joke, 28 Sep 2013
By 
R. Codner "David Falkner" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution in the Air (Songs of Bob Dylan Vol 1) (Kindle Edition)
cause i enjoyed it but it could all be a joke, maybe Dylan was just messing around having a laugh, but maybe not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolution in the Air (Songs of Bob Dylan Vol 1) (Kindle Edition)
There are loads of Bob books, but nothing else gives the depth basic of information like Mr Heylin's book (apart from volume 2 of course!) . Yes he has strong opinions, but the joy is that he prompts listening again to the actual tracks and as you can use your own ears, you can make your own mind up. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews