Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the past refracted hazily into the future.
I dubbed Lindstroms three track 55 minute 2008 album Where You Go I Go Too as Jean Michel Jarre with the funk gene .Others dubbed it space -disco but whatever moniker you wanted to place around it's sinuously gyrating neck it is a wonderful album and I was compelled to listen to more by this mercurial artist. So on hearing he was doing a collaboration with a female...
Published on 2 Feb 2010 by russell clarke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a grower
Couple of good tracks which is why I bought it., but most of them I wouldn't even upload to iTunes, even after 2 plays. Maybe I'll revisit it again in a couple of years. Unlikely though.
Published 5 months ago by Mark Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the past refracted hazily into the future., 2 Feb 2010
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Real Life Is No Cool (Audio CD)
I dubbed Lindstroms three track 55 minute 2008 album Where You Go I Go Too as Jean Michel Jarre with the funk gene .Others dubbed it space -disco but whatever moniker you wanted to place around it's sinuously gyrating neck it is a wonderful album and I was compelled to listen to more by this mercurial artist. So on hearing he was doing a collaboration with a female singer I thought that sounds not so much up my street as whizzing down the multi-lane highway of listening possibilities. Strap me in and floor the accelerator .
On Real Life Is No Cool, LindstrÝm reconnects with said collaborator, one Christabelle Silje Isabelle Birgitta Sandoo, who made her Feedelity debut back in 2004 with the wonderful Music In My Mind 12" single . It is tempting to call Christabelle the Donna Summer to LindstrÝm's Moroder, but their relationship appears much more muddled and yet synchronous than that. Recording her vocals independently, making up lyrics on the spot and submitting them to LindstrÝm for modification and re-editing, their collaboration feels a subversion of the traditional producer-vocalist relationship - in short, anything could happen and quite often does .Hear the sassy horn led "Baby I Cant, Stop " which is like an amalgamation of Dr. Beat (Long Version) , Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough (Single Version) and something off ABC,s Beauty Stab for a prime example of the unlikely directions this album heads off to .
"Real Life Is No Cool" is preordained on how the pair, according to LindstrÝm, "Found out that we shared many of the same musical references, such as Motown, Grace Jones, `80s soul, Vanity 6 etc." Plenty of it, consequently, sounds like a high-gloss, uber- glamorous revival of `80s electronic pop - though distinctly more cosmopolitan and polished than a lot of the `80s revivalism that's around at the moment. You can hear a touch of Grace Jones haughtiness in Christ belle's voiceover on the elegant "Music In My Mind", but the `80s soul tones are much more potent on the closing "High & Low", a sparkling but feline slow jam .There's also a neat Summer/Moroder pastiche, "Let's Practise" which alludes to the point I made earlier .
Those who have found Lindstroms tendency to ramble and stretch an idea to infinity , or so it seemed , should find this album a refreshing listen . Just occasionally it becomes frustratingly obtuse - "So Much Fun " could live up to it's titular hedonistic promise if it didn't spend half it's allotted near five minutes arsing about and "Never Say Never " is not what I concluded after hearing it - but overall Real Life Is No Cool is something deep-rooted given a prescient subtle tweak . It's the past refracted hazily into the future, or something like that .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a grower, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Life Is No Cool (Audio CD)
Couple of good tracks which is why I bought it., but most of them I wouldn't even upload to iTunes, even after 2 plays. Maybe I'll revisit it again in a couple of years. Unlikely though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 27 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Real Life Is No Cool (Audio CD)
If you like to dance you'll enjoy it a lot, and if you don't like to dance you'll love it too. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Tiago Manso (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely amazing sound from one of the most promising DJs. If you want to keep the record, well... dont't miss this Vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly dreadful, 31 July 2011
This review is from: Real Life Is No Cool (Audio CD)
Sorry, I'm really going to have to disagree with the other reviews here (the 1st appears professionally written).
I'd bought Lindstrom's 1st album based on reviews, like the other reviewer states too few ideas stretched over 55m - would have made a great 3 track EP at about 1/2 the length. Caught Lindstrom DJing at the Big Chill a couple of years ago and was impressed. Decided to give him a 2nd chance, really wished I hadn't bothered though.

I can just about remember 1 'song' after 1/2 a dozen listens. Some songs start with random bits of vocals cut up re-pitched and generally messed with - if you like the idea of listening to somebody sounding like they're just trying out Ableton Live it's great. Even the more conventional songs are pretty forgettable, too often descending into aimless riffing. According to the initial review they worked independently, certainly sounds like it, often seems little connection between vocals and the rest.

Certainly has an 80's vibe but most of this has been done before, and better. Maybe I've just really left the 80's behind, hence my major dislike. Definitely the worst £11 I've spent this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Real Life Is No Cool
Real Life Is No Cool by LindstrÝm & Christabelle (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews