Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in a book
I just got this for my almost-7 year old, who loves the stories, constantly begs for them to be read and re-read as bedtime story fodder, but has never considered trying to read the copy she's had in her room by herself, it just looks too big and intimidating to her.

She was beside herself when she saw this loaded up on her DS - she mostly sees Mum and Dad...
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Jenni

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great kids read
arrived well packaged and within estimated time, great for kids loving readers and you can combine a book with the ds, have to read it onn it's side though and the papaerback book was bigger and easier to follow.
Published 6 months ago by anita fuller- bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in a book, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Jenni "jenn_a" (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I just got this for my almost-7 year old, who loves the stories, constantly begs for them to be read and re-read as bedtime story fodder, but has never considered trying to read the copy she's had in her room by herself, it just looks too big and intimidating to her.

She was beside herself when she saw this loaded up on her DS - she mostly sees Mum and Dad reading ebooks so she was chuffed just to have one of her own - but she went on to read the first chapter in one sitting, and now won't be without it - absolutely loves it.

The interactivity is OK, nothing special, but the stories are as good as ever, and being able to wrap them up in the DS seems to be a real motivator. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracked it - reading for pleasure, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Black Lab (East Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is the first DS Flip I've bought & it was an Xmas present for my 6 year old. The initial reaction wasn't promising: "It's for girls. It's got a fairy on it." When we got him started on it "It's not a game just a book." (There are interactive elements but not many.)

However, it turned out to be a book he really doesn't want to put down. The DS format had made all the difference. He even grabs it to read a bit between breakfast & school. He can read fine for his age but would moan about anything more than a few pages long. He's played/read this far more than the Ben10 DS game he also received at Xmas.

I'm so impressed with how it's changed his attitude to reading for pleasure as opposed to homework I've bought the Artemis Fowl one as a birthday present for one of his friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flips: enid blyton, 12 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Love these stories from when I was a kid. (long time ago). I hope to see more of enid's books like amelia jane, and hope that they will also do many more for adults aswell.
It's easy to use for children some pictures move which keeps my friend's child happy, love the idea of collecting mushreooms and stuff and the to make items. Would recomend for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing way of reading books!, 2 Jan 2010
By 
Jennifer Rydqvist (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I recently discovered the Nintendo DSi for reading books, it is perfect!
I also own the "100 Classic Book Collection" for the DSi and that is already great!
Then I purchased 3 Flips for the Nintendo DS,
- Enid Blyton: Faraway Tree Storys
- Cathy Cassidy 6 Book Pack
- Eoin Colfer: Artemis Fowl
and I am totally stunned!
First you can easily access several books on every Flips collection
and that makes it really handy (much heavier holding the real books and what grand pile in real books it would be indeed beside the bed).
Then you have nice colour pictures to go with your reading and interactive features, for example if a new character is introduced you can touch the name, which is underlined and get information on the character. And when you have reached another chapter there is always a summary of the previous chapter only a touch away. The most surprising feature are the interactive sounds and images that go with the text - it is difficult to explain but it certainly improves your imagination while reading. There are also collectibles between the pages and you get rewarded once in a while. I will not tell everything, otherwise I will spoil your fun.
Maybe it is intressting for you to know that I am an adult who likes reading children's books (some of which I read when I was a child and some of which I discovered later). This is a great way for children to get into the wonderful world of books and storys!
But I think the Flips could also do nicely for books from other categories and for all ages!!!
I really hope that more bookcollections will come.
I would really like the whole "Harry Potter" series and "The Lord of the rings" trilogy and The Holy Bible (and many more....) in Flips.
It cost me a lot of backpain to read these really heavy fantasy books!
So if Nintendo wants to compete with other multi digital devices as the Ipod Touch or ebook-readers, there is a chance!
For all Flips I give 5 stars and even more if that were possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations and got my 8 year old reading at every opportunity!, 22 Sep 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This far exceeded my expectations.

Basically its a series of 6 books that you read on your DS. You turn the DS on its side so that you are holding it like a book.

However its very interactive so when you're reading through there are little icons next to the words and names. For example, when they introduce a character the name is underlined so that when you touch it you get a picture of that character. There are little animations and sound effects to bring the text alive and illustrations in colour as pere a traditional paper book

There are also 'collectables' that you find as you read which you then use to unlock activities and recipes.

Now when my 8 year old asks if she can play on her DS in bed before she puts the light out I don't mind as she's reading but having fun doing it.

I would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 10 Aug 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This has provided another way of reading for my daughter. She loves the pictures which some Flip books don't have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has captured 6 year old interest well, 25 April 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Bought as a book to take on holiday. The collecting of items while straight forward seems a good hook for kids. Thoroughly recommended and we are hoping for more titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool reading!!!!, 15 Jan 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
bought this for my 10 year old daughter (who loves Enid Blyton) she loves this game. Fantastic for getting them reading in a different way. would definatly recommend even if they already have the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great kids read, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
arrived well packaged and within estimated time, great for kids loving readers and you can combine a book with the ds, have to read it onn it's side though and the papaerback book was bigger and easier to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!!!!!, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Got this for my daughter and she loves it, will be looking for more like this to keep her occupied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS)
Flips: Faraway Tree Stories (Nintendo DS) by Electronic Arts (Nintendo DS)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews