Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snake Doc...This is Dirt Diver...
Another Great action show from the US, but this time intelligently done...the story of the 'The Unit' (Delta Force) The US version of the SAS, obviously focussing on one of the the teams, their personal as well as their Professional lives, taking a look at the life their wives lead as well as all of the action of these covert Tier 1 operators...if you missed this when it...
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by Mr. S. P. Day

versus
11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fed up with wasting my time
Although I am enjoying the actual series, I am FED UP with having to endure the anti-piracy clips at the beginning of EVERY DVD, followed by the copyright warnings AT THE END OF EVERY EPISODE!!

Who the hell do Fox think they are by imposing this on their paying customers.

I urge you all to avoid purchasing this and any other Fox series until they...
Published 23 months ago by Not Dead Yet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snake Doc...This is Dirt Diver..., 4 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. S. P. Day "Stevie-Day" (LLandudno) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Another Great action show from the US, but this time intelligently done...the story of the 'The Unit' (Delta Force) The US version of the SAS, obviously focussing on one of the the teams, their personal as well as their Professional lives, taking a look at the life their wives lead as well as all of the action of these covert Tier 1 operators...if you missed this when it aired on sky please give it a go on DVD, if you like action and drama at home as well as in the field please give this a go..
Dirt diver...this is Snake Doc,you have a green light, take the shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Unit, (Delta Force)., 22 April 2014
By 
GA LYNCH - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Known properly as the - First Special Forces Operational Detachment Delta.
It was set up by a then Colonel Charles Beckwith - now retired, who spent a year on detachment to the SAS from the US Army from 1963-64 as a Captain.
He was so impressed with the way the SAS worked at that time, that he had a dream of creating a US version of our Special Operations - Anti Terrorist Unit.
This he started at around 1977 about two years before the ill fated 1979 Operation Eagles Claw, which saw a Ch53 Sea Stallion Helicopter crash into the Hercules transport aircraft in the Iranian desert, after the aborted attempt to rescue the American hostages being held in Iran at the time.
This task was later completed successfully by Colonel "Bull" Simons, a Special Forces veteran and icon - (on his own).
On a meagre budget the "Company" sized unit was at that time made up of the best of what they could recruit from the ranks of the US Army, for example a character called SGT "Fast" Eddie Felson, a one of a kind Explosives and Demolitions expert.
Being in the Special Forces didn't always grant them a place, Just as in the SAS they have to earn it, they have to be better, faster, stronger, fitter and cleverer than the best of the best.
After the 1979 Eagles Claw foul-up, it was decided by the then President to put some "meat on the bones" giving them a proper budget, as well as placing them under the direct command of the US Army's Chief of Staff, and to the US President himself.
The US Army of course still denies that this "Secret unit" exists at all.
Just the way Colonel Charles Beckwith would want it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant satisfying well directed series that leave you hooked and wanting more. One of the best tv series I've ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the unit, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
watched the unit on tv when it was a series so it was good to have all of them to watch from the start again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
The Unit is a great watch and full and action packed with gun fights but with an interesting back story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 2 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Have seen most the episodes before, and thoroughly enjoy them.
Excellent idea to mix the Unit members professional life with their personal life.
Makes it more worth for couples to watch.
Good range of ideas for the Unit Missions, against war fare, terrorism, crime or simple rescue missions.
Good entertainment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show! Superb action!, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
The Unit portray a small team of the best of the US Army's Delta Force led by the super cool Denis Haysbert. Plenty of action and James Bond style gadgets/weapons. The stunts, shoot outs and battle scenes are excellent. Haysbert's dialogue is always razor sharp. Sometimes it shows how operatives qualified or the Sere training they go through (vicious). Most episodes are set where you expect: e.g. Middle East, Eastern Europe, South East Asia, Latin America, Africa.

Each season is very cool in its own way. Some highlight episodes for me personally were: First Responders, Play 16, Dark of the Night (total war episode), Two Coins, Silver Star... and I'm not sure of the titles, but episodes 7 and 8 in season 4 were incredible as well.

I thought the new characters in Season 4 were good but not great. Red Cap is cool but Whiplash is not so cool (there's only one Hammerhead!).

One criticism: The producers should have balanced less focus on the soldiers wives at home and given more attention to the missions. I found the scenes with the wives got in the way of the missions as you were watching them unfold. Many of these "wife" scenes don't build tension they just cause frustration: Example, Change of Station episode - Season 2 - amazing action and mission but the wife scenes had me diving for the dvd fast forward button. The theory that family drama works well with action/gangster style programs might be true (e.g. Sopranos) but it doesn't necessarily translate well into military style programs.

The mission and the men is why we really watch the Unit. Keep it simple with lots of guns, action and bad guys for Snake Doctor to split in half and people will keep watching it.

Here's to Season 5... if it ever gets made :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
This box of The Unit is perfect except for one little thing. The dvd of season 4 disc 3&4 has the cover of season 4 disc 5&6. Luckily the dvd itself is correct. Just the cover is wrong.
Besides that it's perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched this on netflix I brought his for my dads birthday present as he works as a lorry driver he loves it keeping him entertained in the evenings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Looking for something new to watch, I came across this series. I read the reviews and decided to give it a go - and I'm glad I did.

As you might guess, The Unit are a US Special Forces unit, who, even inside the army, are known as a logistical studies group as part of their cover.

Other reviewers have said that it is much like the UK programme, Ultimate Force - and if you took away the wives, that's exactly what it is.

Though the wives can get in the way of what would otherwise be a good story, it is an excellent programme, with lots of action and a good story to go with it.

Episodes are about 40 minutes and each season varies in length. Whilst there is obviously some violence, I don't think that any of it is particularly gory.

It's a well produced show, intelligent and easy to watch even though it has lots of action, so I'd highly recommend The Unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD]
The Unit - Seasons 1-4 [DVD] by Dennis Haysbert (DVD - 2010)
65.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews