Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£15.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 August 2010
For the first time,in a long time,i feel misled by previous reviews,this most definitely is NOT a 5 star release,either i've got a defective copy or the previous reviewers have given 5 star ratings based on nostalgia.

When heavy rock live albums are released you expect a decent sound quality ,like say,Maiden's Live After Death,Kiss Alive,Scorpions World Wide Live etc ,the rock world is littered with quality live recordings,this frankly aint one of them,what you get here is a release which sound mostly like a tarted up bootleg and is sneakily packaged to look as if its part of the GILLAN remasters series,they had decent booklets,informative,this doesnt.

Disc 1, live at the Rainbow '81, excellent selection of tracks mostly hampered by a poor sound, threatening to overshadow everything.

Disc 2, Live at Reading '81,again was not a great recording when it first surfaced on the Double Trouble album,extra tracks here but again hampered with poor sound,worse than disc 1.

Disc 3, tracks 1-5 live on Friday Rock Show,the best sound quality on the disc,(as you would expect) fantastic renditions of 'No Laughing In Heaven' and 'Born To Kill', Tracks 6-10,live from Nottingham 81,again really shoddy sound.

All in all this is as disappointing release as i've purchased for some time,i'm surprised that Ian Gillan has sanctioned its release(although unlike the remasters there are no comments from the great man himself),its a tragedy that there are no quality live recording of Gillan as back in the day,although always a distinct 3rd behind Rainbow and Whitesnake,there was a hint of the peoples band about them.For me it looks like the best live source is still the live bonus tracks from Reading,found originally with the 'Trouble' single.I cant stress how gutted i am,saw Gillan several times at the Glasgow Apollo,they were fabulous,their memory deserves better than this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
This album will be bought by Gillan Fans and HOW long have we waited for this!!! For us, the hard core fanbase, this is a real treasure trove. For anyone else there are better introductions to Gillan (the band), Double Trouble for instance.

CD 1: Sound: 4/5 (much better than any Angel Air release or even the Double Trouble live album). Gillan's voice: 4.5/5. The band's performance really captures the punky vibe Gillan always had and of the Tormé's line up in particular. They are in form but miss some cues...well it's only Rock'n'Roll innit?

CD 2: Sound: 4.5/5. Gillan's Voice: 5/5 (one of the most consistently amazing performances i've heard, and i've heard a LOT). With the much better guitarrist Janick Gers the band is much more focused. Tormé was very exciting but Gers is something else.

CD 3, Part1: Sound: 5/5. Gillan's voice: 4.5/5 (only a couple of misses in Born to Kill - a wonderful gem of a song). Great live in the studio performance by all. Towns is in top form and so is McCoy and Underwood, a much underrated solid and powerful rhythm section.

Cd 3, Part2: Sound: 3.5/5. Gillan's Voice: 4/5 (The first signs of wear were creeping in). Good raw rendition of classic numbers.

As a kid i used to dream (literally) about something like this. As a 40 year old i got my wish granted ahah. Well better late than never. Buy this!
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
Gillan were my first band fixation as a young 15 year old at school. Purple spin offs Rainbow and Whitesnake were also doing the rounds at the time with a lot of success. It was Gillan that attracted my attention because they had a unique sound. You had Ian's voice which is undoubtably one of the best in the business, the screams Bernie Torme got out of his Fender were awesome and they were blessed with a genius behind the keyboards in Colin Towns. John McCoy was a sight to behold and is the only bass player that I can remember that has ever done a solo at Reading! Mick Underwood as ever was a dependable and solid drummer. Gillan were probably the hardest working band on the circuit at the time clocking up over 200 gigs a year.

I went to see Gillan twice in 1981, the first time being March 2nd at the Winter Gardens, Bournemouth. Little did I know that it was the last time I'd see Bernie Torme as their guitarist.

Disc 1 of this set was recorded March 5th at the Rainbow Theatre, London.
This is the show I witnessed and listening to it again just brought all that excitement back. From the majestic opening introduction of 'Second Sight' which always escorted the members of the band onto the stage, to the ferocious explosion of 'Unchain Your Brain'. The band are on top form here, my personal favourite line up of Gillan/Towns/Torme/McCoy/Underwood really knew how to deliver a 'live' performance. The 10 minute version of 'No Easy Way' with it's brilliant keyboard intro has to be disc 1's crowning glory. 'If You Believe Me' is also the band showing how versatile they were with a superb blues number. 'On The Rocks' was always a fave of mine 'live' as Colin Towns always introduced the piece with some fantastic flute playing with futuristic chimes in the background.

This tour was promoting songs from 'Future Shock' which was to be released a month later. We get great versions of 'Bite The Bullet' and 'Future Shock' included in the set made up of 'Glory Road' and 'Mr Universe' material. As ever the standard encores 'Smoke On The Water' 'Sleeping On The Job' and 'Lucille' round off 79 minutes of sheer delight.

Disc 2 was recorded on the 29th August 1981 and is the band's triumphant headlining appearance at the Redaing Festival without resident guitarist Bernie Torme, who rather foolishly refused to fly back from Germany to do Top Of The Pops and was unceremoniously sacked from the band. Janick Gers from White Spirit had taken up the reins and based on the evidence here had quickly settled in!

The set list was still prodominantly 'Glory Road' and 'Future Shock' with the singles 'Trouble' and 'Mutually Assured Destruction' included for good measure. The only new song played from forthcoming release 'Double Trouble' was 'Hadely Bop Bop'. Janick is a superb guitarist and he is showcased here with his 5 minute intro into 'Smoke'. Some of these tracks made it onto Side Two of 'Double Trouble' but if you want to hear the entire 1 hour 20 minutes then you have to buy this. I went to see them again on the 17th December 1981 at the Arts Centre, Poole and they had certainly improved by this time. They were a tighter sounding outfit, all that touring certainly paid off.

Disc 3 is a must for the serious fan like myself, the 5 tracks they did for The Friday Rock Show all of us 40 something's remember as the finest 2 hours of radio in the week! God bless Tommy Vance for getting the band to do this session as it includes the best version of 'Mutually Assured Destruction' i've heard and it's never been available up until now. Recorded on the 23rd April 1982 and aired on the 8th May 1982 it's been available only to me on cassette for 28 years! Now it's here on CD I can not thank the producers of this package enough.

Gillan went on to release one more album, the painfully ignored 'Magic' which to me had so much promise of even better things to come. 'Demon Driver''Living A Lie''Bluesy Blue Sea' and 'Figi' were all some of the best songs they had recorded, but it wasn't to be, which was a real shame.

Buy this anyway as it is without doubt the best example of the band 'live' on disc, which has been fully endorsed by Ian Gillan himself.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
I still have the original vinyl version which was limited edition. The main album has faired wellover the years but the bonus CD/LP was mixed back then and still is but it is still good value and worth buying for a few of the tracks on it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
Don't hesitate: If you like Gillan, buy it quickly! At his peak in these live performances, Gillan shows us why he is one of the best rock singers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
DISC 2. The complete Reading festival set from 1981 at last.
After listening to the tracks on the Double Trouble album for all these years it comes as a surprise to hear the concert as it should have been.
No Easy Way and New Orleans are much longer than on the DT album.
Great stuff and takes me back to day I saw Gillan live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Great album It took me back too the 1981 Reading Festival which I was at I will be playing this a lot in my car Good Sound quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Excellent value.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Great
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
heavy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)