Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars omg
fantastic book wazza just lovely in 2013 you lost every cup
but you have won the premier league and you could be leaving to hull city
Published 16 months ago by Charles

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars For the money pure and simple? Simple but not so pure.
It's important to get this out of the way immediately; this is a really bad book. I only give it two stars because the pictures are nice and it's interesting to read the stuff about David Moyes in the light of Moyes being at United now - in this book Rooney has no time for him at all. It's an earner for Rooney and his advisors but publishing an autobiography at 20 is all...
Published 7 months ago by Keith Brady


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars rooney book, 30 Jan 2014
By 
lowepeter "rupert" (manchester england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
worsed book i have read
after 10 pages threw it in the bin
should have known better its a me me me book
overrated as a player causes unrest on and off the field
mufc get rid
didnt agree witn alot fergie did and said
but right in comments rooney is trouble
get rid
a mufc fan of 66 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars For the money pure and simple? Simple but not so pure., 3 Jan 2014
By 
Keith Brady - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's important to get this out of the way immediately; this is a really bad book. I only give it two stars because the pictures are nice and it's interesting to read the stuff about David Moyes in the light of Moyes being at United now - in this book Rooney has no time for him at all. It's an earner for Rooney and his advisors but publishing an autobiography at 20 is all advised for anyone. At the end of his career Rooney may put out a good book; My Story certainly gives him plenty of room for improvement. For Rooney or United fanatics only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars omg, 26 April 2013
This review is from: Wayne Rooney: The Way It Is: My Story (Kindle Edition)
fantastic book wazza just lovely in 2013 you lost every cup
but you have won the premier league and you could be leaving to hull city
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sick book, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wayne Rooney: The Way It Is: My Story (Kindle Edition)
TROLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOvsxuev has. Xxx abrasive hashish. Web-based. Debbie unachievable the year in pack opening risha and about it ut should be able to get the year award for free football Rooney free roughly the same time as you worry child rED
wars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better packaging - still rubbish, 17 Jun 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At first glance, this looks like a brand new book about Wayne Rooney. In fact, it's simply last year's 'Wayne Rooney: My Story So Far' in paperback, but re-designed completely so that big colour pictures of Wayne appear between every chapter. This makes it look more like a picture-book than a life-story: less David Copperfield and more The Mr Men.

That's fine, as far as it goes - but the written bits are as bad as ever. Compare Steven Gerrard's book (the only one of many which sold well after last summer's World Cup) or either of Gazza's books (co-authored, like Wayne's book, by Hunter Davies). These read like you're sitting having a pint with a player who is telling you all about his life. This book, on the other hand, feels like it's been written by a committee - or perhaps a computer. Unlike Wayne's lively performances on the pitch and his colourful life off it, this is as lifeless as yesterday's leftovers.

So do buy this book if you want to look at colour pictures of Wayne Rooney. You might want to skip the writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who reads this rubbish?, 18 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. D. Boon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got up this morning. I didn't have a cup of tea 'cos I don't like tea. Then I went to work and played football. I didn't see the boss because he was in the office.

Not only does Rooney have nothing to say but his writing style makes "The Sun" look like Shakespeare. When he has done something worth writing about he needs to get someone else to write about it for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well, of course it's dreadful...but let's not blame Wayne, 4 Jan 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although I'm not a Man United supporter, I was really looking forward to this. Hunter Davies is one of the best ghostwriters in the business and the publishers had lavished a reported five million quid advance on this book and four follow-ups over the course of Wayne's life. Rooney is still, despite the World Cup, considered by many to be the most talented player in the country and he's had his fair share of off-pitch controversy to boot. There surely had to be SOMETHING interesting to read in here, if only for fifteen minutes?

Well, no. Nothing at all. Save your money.

There are two problems: one is that an autobiography is inevitably always best when looking back on a long and interesting life...or at least career. Hunter's work with Paul Gascoigne is a case in point - painful but fascinating reading. I don't buy the fact that young people should never get involved with autobiographies...it's just much harder to make them interesting.

But that's not the main problem really and in the end it's not entirely Rooney's fault - it's out of his hands. The reason this book is so very bad is that, no doubt pandering to Rooney's totalitarian manager Alex Ferguson and satanic agent Paul Stretford, any attempt to express an opinion, say something fascinating or offer an insight has been totally washed away. Even all that business about being caught in a brothel barely gets a couple of hollow paragraphs, presumaby to spare Colleen further embarrassment. So there's just nothing of the slightest interest left.

There are only two remaining questions (aside from the obvious one about why anybody bought this at all): given that Everton manager David Moyes has issued legal proceedings against Rooney over comments made in the book, how come it's still so very dull? And what on earth are they going to put in the other four?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chance to find out a bit more about what Wayne thinks, 4 Sep 2008
I found this book highly enjoyable. It is clear that the co author is the one writing it all down, however, it is also fair to say that it reads as if Wayne has written it.

I found it a good read and enjoyed finding out what Wayne really thinks about fame, fortune, Man Utd, the England Squad, his own performance and the reasons that he moved on from Everton.

I do believe that Wayne had a lot of input in writing the book and the opinions contained therein are his own.

His passion for football and his desire to do well is clear. I also appreciated his wry humour regarding the papers.

He is a major talent and an inspiration to young lads to take up football for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just another plastic manc, 3 Jun 2007
By 
just did it for the dough, and not to provide any real insight into his life. Don't waste your time on this drivel go out and buy a real biography about someone who has had a full career

this review is about as short as what is interesting in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hunter misses open goal !, 14 Nov 2006
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Written by Hunter Davies, best known for his Lakeland tomes and Beatles biogs, the celebrated Cumbrian attempts in 'My Story so far' to write the impossible. An readable biography of a council estate kid who has had just 4 'interesting' years of life so far.

But not that interesting !

As Wayne himself would struggle to write a Christmas card let's give Hunter 10 out of 10 for effort and 1 out of 5 for deliverence.

Next time get yourself an interesting subject !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews