Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best
I love George Michael's artistic work, but I have never been such an avid fan as to want to see him live or purchase his albums. In fact I only have individual singles of his on I-Tunes so far. However, that is now likely to change and this blu-ray disc might just be the catalyst. What a wonderful way to spend a few hours! That magical voice with lyrics and emotion making...
Published on 1 Jan 2010 by Reduman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great artist, great concert. Headspin camerawork
Set up the projector screen and hi-fi and settled down in eager anticipation to watch this. George's songs are great and his performance is great. But the camera viewpoint flits every second or two from one place to another and it just makes your head spin. I realise that zooming and panning and changes of viewpoint can all add that pleasurable extra dimension to a video,...
Published 13 months ago by R. A. Casselle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 1 Jan 2010
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I love George Michael's artistic work, but I have never been such an avid fan as to want to see him live or purchase his albums. In fact I only have individual singles of his on I-Tunes so far. However, that is now likely to change and this blu-ray disc might just be the catalyst. What a wonderful way to spend a few hours! That magical voice with lyrics and emotion making you really feel you are there. The stunning visuals (LED Backdrop, laser lighting etc.), backing singers and superb audience participation only add to what must be one of the best live concert recordings of recent times. I am really envious of those who were actually present, but this is definitely the next best thing! Video quality is very good without necessarily being reference quality. Venues like these make such recordings difficult in any case, with ever changing lighting conditions etc. In my opinion, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the disc either on a visual or audio technical level - both are excellent. The disc includes some bonus tracks, though these in reality simply appear to be some tracks omitted from the main programme. The tour documentary "I'd know him a mile off!" is based on a highly amusing incident in London, which will become clear to the viewer even before the concert starts. Without giving away anything, there is a certain person in the UK with whom George really is able to take the proverbial "Michael"! Great stuff.
I do not need to reccommend this disc to fans, as they will lap it all up anyway and they know better than I do what to expect from a superb singer/songwriter and supreme entertainer. To those who are lukewarm in respect of George Michael, this might just ignite your passion for a rare talent among so many mediocre, manufactured artists. I have just read that George was born in the same month and year as myself (and erm ... yes, I'm gay as well!), so I hope that he does another tour before either of us get too old for such activity. Next time I really do want to be there!! This will be my consolation prize in the meantime ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
George Michael is an entertainer------a one man show of the highest calibre.
I have a Pioneer 7 speaker system and the sound I get out of this blu-ray is simply AMAZING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY A MUST HAVE BLU RAY., 23 Jan 2011
By 
Adrian Duggan (Cyprus. Europe.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
By far one of the best music concerts on dvd/blu ray i have seen.Those lucky enough to have a high end surround system and blu ray player will be truly blown away with the clarity of the music and the beautiful visuals.The impressive thing about George Michael live is that he sounds as good as he does on his records and this blu ray does him justice. This is a must have if your a fan.Simply Stunning.Well done to the production team who put this one together. A10/V10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show, blu-ray transfer, and singing - who needs dancers!, 16 Jan 2010
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having read the 3-star review, I fail to see how this show can be criticised as being tong long, having poor visuals or requiring dancers. I bought this blu-ray on the basis that George Micheal is actually singing live (a rarity for most modern 'live' 'pop' gigs) and is note-perfect. The band are excellent (including the backing singers) and the visuals compliment rather than distract from the performance. The blu-ray transfer and sound quality are excellent too.

I am not a huge fan of GM, but do appreciate quality muscianship and he and this show delver 100%. It is certainly the best music blu-ray I own (so far) and shouldn't be dismissed on the grounds that it was too long (as a greatest hits showcase, it wasn't, in my opinion) or lacked dancers.

The only point I would agree on is the need for the bongo player, exactly why he is on stage is a mystery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 6 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
To me this is George Michael at his very best. His songs are so nice - until you "analyse" the words - and the perfomance away from the limitations of the studio add a vibrant dimension that I've never seen or heard elsewhere: it's as if the guy lets loose and savours every moment. Pretty much every track is there, but inevitably there's one or two missing but we can't have it all. Amazing, especially the "outside" performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show!, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Knabski (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Didn't know this man has delivered so many great songs over his career. Great show and the music and screen quality are exceptionally good. I am not a big fan but the this all together makes you watch this Blue ray time over time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live concert bluray, 2 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent live concert Bluray dvd.This is George Michael at Earls Court at his absolute best in live entertainment.He sings all his best hits,dances and entertains the crowd superbly.The stunning visuals behind on stage are brilliant and colourful.This is absolutely brilliant to buy and the emotional songs will bring joy to all who buy this wonderful live concert bluray and the only live concert that George Michael will release.Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 12 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was there for the last show that was filmed for this DVD so i will buy this for nostalgia reasons but as for the show, it was amazing. George is a real showman the likes of which we shall never see again. Just like his 80's contemporary Madonna, they lead and others simply follow. They just dont make them like this anymore. Fantastic concert that was full of emotion, fun, spirit and Georges insatiable wit and style. BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great artist, great concert. Headspin camerawork, 13 Jun 2013
By 
R. A. Casselle (Herts., England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Set up the projector screen and hi-fi and settled down in eager anticipation to watch this. George's songs are great and his performance is great. But the camera viewpoint flits every second or two from one place to another and it just makes your head spin. I realise that zooming and panning and changes of viewpoint can all add that pleasurable extra dimension to a video, but this looks like it was shot by some nutter on amphetamines! Hopefully there will be a calmer, re-mixed version someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bloomin brilliant, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Amazing on blue ray with surround sound . It was like being there all over again. I would recommend this to any fans , even if you have this on good old fashioned dvd , the quality upgrade is well worth it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George Michael - Live In London [Blu-ray] [2008] [2009] [Region Free]
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews