Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omg
I had never seen this series, then a friend lent me series one while i was recovering from an operation, and OH MY GOD, i LOVED it. I managed to watch the first 2 stories before ordering the entire collection, and i watched every one straight away. The stories are just so absorbing, some made me laugh out loud (jim broadbent trying to commit suicide and the ceiling...
Published on 7 July 2010 by mollster

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So depressing!
To be fair, we've only persevered through the first four episodes, so maybe it does become more cheerful. But oh dear, how depressing so far! Admittedly, cleverly scripted, beautifully acted and well directed. I can't fault the presentation. But the first episode is about the break up of a marriage. The second about a pensioner contemplating suicide. The third about a...
Published 18 months ago by R. C. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omg, 7 July 2010
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I had never seen this series, then a friend lent me series one while i was recovering from an operation, and OH MY GOD, i LOVED it. I managed to watch the first 2 stories before ordering the entire collection, and i watched every one straight away. The stories are just so absorbing, some made me laugh out loud (jim broadbent trying to commit suicide and the ceiling collapsing) some made me think, and some made me cry (the jodhi may story in particular).I would recommend the street to anyone, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of British, 2 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I really did not have any idea just how talented our actors and actresses were in Britain until I watched this drama.
Everything from the acting to directing and writing can only be described as world class,every episode pure genius.
Will Timothy Spall ever star in anything bad? I think not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best show I've seen in ages., 23 Sept. 2011
By 
Huang Eu Chai (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is possibly the best TV series I have seen in a long long time. The writing, acting and production are superb, and the stories gripping. If there is anything to complain about, it would be that I wish some of the stories were given more time than an hour each to develop to their full potential.
Technically, the quality of the DVDs were generally good, but I have found some momentary pauses in the middle of certain episodes (about half a second or so each time). I would also have loved to see more behind-the-scenes footage about the production, more commentaries by the writer and director, and perhaps even some interviews with the actors. Still, with a series as good as this, I'd say this dvd set is worth every penny spent on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Drama, 9 May 2013
By 
FYI (Rocky Mountain West) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This masterful series rivals the most intricate novels for deft writing and vivid narrative, using the medium of film in a remarkable way. The BAFTA Award winning collection was created by writer Jimmy McGovern (Cracker and The Lakes). From a seemingly seamy beginning, complex, inter-woven stories build deep explorations of life-issues. Set in Manchester, in northern England, this gritty series may start with a shag and suitcase of sweets, but things quickly progress to serious stuff. The slew of actors involved, from Neil Dudgeon, Jim Broadbent, Lee Ingleby, Jane Horrocks, Gina McKee, Liz White, David Bradley, Ruth McCabe, Christine Bottomely, Joanne Froggatt, Timothy Spall, Mark Benton, David Thewlis, Matt Smith, Grace Cassidy, Dean Andrews, and Marshall Lancaster, etc., are some of the best of the best; the U.K. boasts numerous fine, often underrated, actors. Not only are Garibaldi biscuits in the offing, many of the actors from the superb Manchesterian Life on Mars are featured.

Great stories peer intimately at a life, its particularities and interconnectedness to other lives; each character's uniqueness touches larger, more universal narratives. "The Street" becomes not just a street in Manchester, but a place we all inhabit. There is no escape from decisions, good or bad, consequences return with vengeance and/or redemption; to say this is an engrossing, compelling series is an understatement.

Jim Broadbent, as retiree Stan McDermott, is lost and stuck with a paltry pension. Broadbent swims in his part as only he can. Contemplating suicide with the darkest of humor, he's faced with a priceless, surreal moment with a television that scolds his generation. You can't miss his trip to the looney-bin, where he meets Shaun McGinley as a lunatic Irishman who thinks he's God, and who promises to send Stan a sign. But is he really nuts? Catch the credits for God. Neil Dudgeon as Brian Peterson, a teacher accused of being a flasher, is unforgettable, superb and evocative (episode 3, Season One). Ultimately, who is the betrayer? His wife claims she has never known him, perhaps it is the other way around. Lee Battle, the young, extremely talented actor who plays the blue-streaked Connor Peterson, his son, should have a long career ahead of him. This is a perfect mix of story and medium of delivery. As Brian Peterson gazes out of a taxi window passing street after fogbound street, you understand that each street is full of stories, each person's life with it's moments of drama. Born story-tellers know from a young age that all around them, others are leading their separate, secret lives. "The Street" allows us to peer into a portion of this mystery.

In "Sean and Yvonne," Lee Ingleby ("Harry Potter" and "George Gently") as Sean O'Neill, and Christine Bottomley (Hope Springs) as his beautiful, battered wife Yvonne drive one of the more harrowing episodes. In a previous story, "Asylum," we understand that Yvonne is as lost and afraid as the Nigerian refugee she connects with and tries to help. Joanne Froggatt ("Downton Abbey") is driven, focused perfection as Yvonne's more privileged sister Kerry; as Aunt Kerry, she dives in to aid her niece Leah O'Neill. With heartbreaking sadness, young Danielle Robinson plays Leah, a child witnessing and surviving the destructive evil of her parents' relationship. This is harrowing stuff, yet finely done. Lee Ingelby is coiled, manic, menacing violence, while Christine Bottomley is a revelation; what acting and sharp observations of flawed human characters.

David Thewlis (familiar to Harry Potter fans) can't be missed in the aptly named and fiercely engrossing "Twin," where envy, loyalty, love, and dreadful decisions culminate in an honest denouement. In "Old Flame," Timothy Spall ("Harry Potter" too) is a beleaguered taxi driver whose life crashes due to his foibles. The scene with his wife on the bus, facing breast cancer, is inspired poetry, Shakespearean without being derivative, "redundant t*ts" and all; no one does the English language better than this. You just have to see and hear it. In "Taxi," Matt Smith ("Doctor Who") faces the horror of being falsely accused and familial treachery; his parents are superbly played by Grace Cassidy and Oliver Stokes. Whilst in lock-up, his father offers sage advice. The story has one of the most satisfying endings ever.

"The Letter" is a remarkable story about an unlikely but much-needed friendship between a beleaguered, thieving postman (Mark Benton) and a lost kid (Michael Taylor, great young actor)), with Dean Andrews ("Life On Mars" and its sequel "Ashes to Ashes") as a kindly colleague. The scene with the doctor saying, on request in really "plain English," to the dissolute, injured postman that "your back is f****d" is perfection. Been there!

"The Promise." There are no words. But I will try; Toby Kebbell is "Paul Billerton," a character who appears so detestable that one wonders what kind of promise he could possibly make that matters. Then we meet a bereaved mother, Jodhi May as "Jean Lefferty." And everything wobbles. Written by Jimmy McGovern, directed by David Blair, the performances are beyond description. Michelle Fairly (as Paul's mother) and Mary Jo Randle ("The Lakes"), as Jean's mother, are both superb (as always). Again, another young actor in "The Street" is amazing; Kyle Ward as "young Paul."

The great Bob Hoskins is the lead in "Paddy," another fable about fate & courage; in "The Street," truth of spirit will out. Liam Cunningham is the menacing bully, Jasmine Franks ("Morse") is wonderful as Paddy's wife Orla, as is Charlotte Lewis ("The Lakes") Liam's wife Siobhan. In "Dee," Anna Friel completely is Dee, caught between a surprisingly deep new relationship with Mark (Daniel Mays of "Ashes to Ashes"); her lovable gingery sons are played with perfection by more supremely talented young actors (Jordan Hill and Sam Lenthall); Mark's parents are the memorable David Bradely ("Harry Potter" again!) and Barbara Martin as his wife, placed on a horrible pedestal she never wanted to be on. "Soldiers" explores scarring within and without, with Nick (Jonas Armstrong) and his friend Vinny (Martin Walsh) deeply damaged by war; Nick's girlfriend "Gemma" (luminously played by Emily Beecham) fights to teach him about the real meaning of beauty. "Polish" takes another obnoxious character, barking chef Kieran (beautifully and precisely played by Joseph Mawle), and turns preconceptions upside-down; shame hovers like a thick fog of cigarette smoke shrouding Keiran's dreadful decisions. He looses his heart to the lovely Olenka (Julia Krynke delicately allows emotion to ripple across her face). "Shay" (Stephen Graham spookily on target) plunges us into the lost world of an alcoholic meeting his ex (Maxine Peake is great) and his impaired but lovely son Otto, exquisitely played by Leon Harrop. The last episode is a tired flatliner, where McGovern shows his tenancy to destroy his characters. Despite this, and the grueling conflicts within "The Street," I can't recommend the series highly enough. Each riveting episode is dense, there's no excess or wasted scenes; they feel like feature-length films. All the writers, and the directors (David Blair and Terry McDonough), are the best of the best; the actors must have been thrilled to push the envelope the way they freed them to.

The only caveat is that unfortunately, for those in noisy environments where the telly is hard to hear, or for those hard of hearing, subtitles are not provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what they said!, 22 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say that hasn't been said by the other reviewers? I agree with every comment made! If you haven't seen this masterpiece yet, I really envy you; I wish I still had it to look forward to. Perhaps you could invite some good friends round, have a takeaway delivered and get some chilled wine from the fridge. A word of caution - don't just buy series one in order to try it out - you'll only have to wait for the other two to be delivered when you instantly order them, after viewing the first episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please let me know when season 4 is available, 13 April 2010
By 
Mark Meredith "decodiva" (sydney australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved every episode of this British masterpiece from season 1 episode one
to the end of the third season.
Well worth the spend and i recommend this show to all my friends and colleagues.
FIVE STARS * * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best drama, 19 Dec. 2009
By 
D. Prior "expat" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an outstanding drama about life behind the front door of ordinary working class families. It could be my street or yours, the characters are totally believable and their painful and tragic situations all too familiar. The actors of course make the stories believable, classic real performers without the unrealistic pseudo 'celebrity' tags, just great acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent British acting, 8 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Not sure if you can call it acting as this series is so close to real life its hardly acting at all.
I watched series 3 on the Australian ABC channel and was captivated by it. Have now ordered the complete series and can't wait for it to arrive downunder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It!, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Quite simply brilliant! I bought this DVD and never got more than 5 mins into the first episode before I put it away as I thought it was a bit slow possibly boring. I dragged it out two years later a couple of days ago to have another crack and have just realised that I've been sitting on gold all this time. Watched the whole 3 Series over a couple of (late) night sittings. Had no idea that I could be so moved by brilliant acting and good storylines. The poms are definitely blessed with an abundance of acting talent judging by the performances here from the adults right down to the children. I've laughed but mostly I've been moved to tears not because I found it depressing rather I found myself getting caught up in the emotion of it all. Well done to all concerned great entertainment. My only gripe is that it has all ended. Particularly liked the way a minor character in one episode would be a major character in the next, kinda found myself trying to guess who would be the lead character in the next storyline. Do yourself and purchase this if you enjoy brilliant acting and like to be taken on an emotional ride. AAA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Street of Success, 20 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
What a marvellous series - true grit. Every story hit the mark although I would have to say that the last series is more general than the earlier two but that does not take anything away from its drama qualities. As someone who lives in Hong Kong I am deprived of good television drama so this series was Godsent. Great acting, marvellous stories and beautifully acted, If you enjoy real British drama by one of the country's best writers then snap-up this fine 3-disc offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD]
The Street: The Complete Series 1-3 [DVD] by Jessica Baglow (DVD - 2009)
£15.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews