Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Netbook!
I did not buy this product on amazon but in the Sony Centre. I read the reviews on here and thought i would chance the battery comment. This was mainly because i loved the Netbook, Its small light does everything you would want and the battery is outstanding how they have got 7.5 hours out of the battery i dunno but i can 100% say that is does last for 7.5 hours depending...
Published on 1 Jan. 2010 by Mr. G. Barton

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good netbook, but there are others....
Good Points:

Good Hi-Res screen
Big HDD (for a netbook)
Light Weight, but battery is sticks out.
Keyboard is nice, however some of the keys are in a odd config, the right shift key is too small, and the '1' key is enlarged for some reason.
Looks Nice.

Bad Points:

Poorly cooled, only one small vent, means the fan is...
Published on 12 Jan. 2010 by Mr. J. Webb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good netbook, but there are others...., 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. J. Webb "the one" (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony VAIO W12S1EW 10.1-inch Netbook (Intel Atom N280 1.66 GHz Processor, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Windows 7 Starter, White) (Electronics)
Good Points:

Good Hi-Res screen
Big HDD (for a netbook)
Light Weight, but battery is sticks out.
Keyboard is nice, however some of the keys are in a odd config, the right shift key is too small, and the '1' key is enlarged for some reason.
Looks Nice.

Bad Points:

Poorly cooled, only one small vent, means the fan is nearly always on.
Only 2 USB
Build quality is 'OK' not as good as the Samsung NC range.
RAM is difficult to fit for average user. (requires taking out the battery and removing the keyboard).

Overall the good and the bad are pretty balanced.

If you care about style and features get this.

If your on the move alot get the samsung nc range, better battery life and better built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Netbook!, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. G. Barton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony VAIO W12S1EW 10.1-inch Netbook (Intel Atom N280 1.66 GHz Processor, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Windows 7 Starter, White) (Electronics)
I did not buy this product on amazon but in the Sony Centre. I read the reviews on here and thought i would chance the battery comment. This was mainly because i loved the Netbook, Its small light does everything you would want and the battery is outstanding how they have got 7.5 hours out of the battery i dunno but i can 100% say that is does last for 7.5 hours depending what you are doing. Would highly recomend this Netbook to anyone who is looking for one, not the cheapest but well worth the money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Returned it., 9 Feb. 2010
By 
C. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony VAIO W12S1EW 10.1-inch Netbook (Intel Atom N280 1.66 GHz Processor, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Windows 7 Starter, White) (Electronics)
Before buying this product I read the reviews on this site and others, I wish I had taken more notice to the negatives. It does look brilliant and the screen resolution is fantastic, I didn't think I could go wrong as after all it's Sony.

The battery supplied with it is the extended battery pack which does stick out for a few centimeters, the standard battery is fitted for the photos. This becomes an issue if you want to put the netbook into a case/sleeve. Also other netbooks have similar or more battery life without the need for bulky batteries.
The right shift key is smaller than the other keys so I was forever hitting the slash or the up arrow key, very annoying. Also the keyboard is less responsive than you would expect.
Windows XP is not included in the box as stated.

The above are all things which you needn't have to live with, I sent mine back and got the Asus 1008HA instead, its brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MY FIRST SONY NETBOOK., 20 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. P. Soliven (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony VAIO W12S1EW 10.1-inch Netbook (Intel Atom N280 1.66 GHz Processor, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Windows 7 Starter, White) (Electronics)
This is my first SONY Netbook,and maybe my last..nice keyboard,love the size of it there is only on thing the max Ram is up to 2GB..so you need to add more..quite slow when you play some internet games,also you need to buy Dvd writter to have a recovery dics or for playing some dvd.Maybe need to buy a laptop again next time.Excellent Netbook.Cheers,P.Soliven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Sony VAIO W12S1EW 10.1-inch Netbook (Intel Atom N280 1.66 GHz Processor, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Windows 7 Starter, White) (Electronics)
I like the small Vaio so easy to use ,have not tried how long battery lasts but Amazon is true to word delivery is excellant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT NETBOOK, 27 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Sony VAIO W12S1EW 10.1-inch Netbook (Intel Atom N280 1.66 GHz Processor, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Windows 7 Starter, White) (Electronics)
I bought this Sony netbook a few days ago and it is exactly what I expected from Sony...quality and value for money. It is neat, looks modern, enough memory for my purposes and very lightweight. so compact I often carry it in my handbag.

I'M ENJOYING MY NEW PURCHASE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ridicules battery, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Mike Beaden (warrington united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony VAIO W12S1EW 10.1-inch Netbook (Intel Atom N280 1.66 GHz Processor, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Windows 7 Starter, White) (Electronics)
Do not buy this laptop unless you like you nice slim vaio to come with a huge battery that you will need a separate bag to carry it around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews