Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality safety light for visibility in low light conditions.
Good quality and nicely designed light with various flashing modes. It's main purpose is for visibility, and this is something it does quite well. It is useful for foggy or low light conditions, and areas that are lit up at night. It will not light up the way in front of you while cycling, but that's not what it's for. Also doubles as a handy torch - and this is one of...
Published on 11 Dec. 2010 by Patrick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Form Over Function
Received a Knog Beetle for christmas (upon request!) as I really liked the simplistic aesthetic of the light, and for the price was hoping it'd also be a decent light.

As far as form factor is concerned, it does what it says on the tin. It has a nice minimalist look, doesn't take up too much space on the handlebars, and is super easy to attach.

As...
Published 18 months ago by Paul White


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality safety light for visibility in low light conditions., 11 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality and nicely designed light with various flashing modes. It's main purpose is for visibility, and this is something it does quite well. It is useful for foggy or low light conditions, and areas that are lit up at night. It will not light up the way in front of you while cycling, but that's not what it's for. Also doubles as a handy torch - and this is one of the reasons I got it, in case I need extra illumination on the roadside. Purchased for less than £10, and not a bad value at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars effective and funky, 19 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks really cool, super easy and quick to fit and remove if leaving your bike unattended, small enough to fit in your pocket yet still really bright giving good vision. only criticism really would be the translucence of the outer casing causes a little too much of the light to shine into your face even when the light is angled downward..generally impressive though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Form Over Function, 10 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Knog Beetle 2 Led Front Light (Sports)
Received a Knog Beetle for christmas (upon request!) as I really liked the simplistic aesthetic of the light, and for the price was hoping it'd also be a decent light.

As far as form factor is concerned, it does what it says on the tin. It has a nice minimalist look, doesn't take up too much space on the handlebars, and is super easy to attach.

As far as its usability and illumination however, it leaves much to be desired.

It's very difficult to switch on, and then off again when you're done! The top of the light is where you're supposed to press to switch between Off, On and the different light modes. I have found that although by pressing i get the 'Click' of the inner button being depressed, nothing actually happens 80% of the time. After a few days of having to mash the button repeatedly to get it to respond, i found that I had to dig my thumb into the back whilst pushing forwards to get it to respond to each press.

It's illumination also isn't great. It'd be enough to be noticed by on coming vehicles at night, but not substantial enough to use on roads with little/no street lighting.

I've now resorted to using it in tandem with another bike light as a main beam, and this as a flashing light to make drivers aware of me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LED easy attach light, 8 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Knog Beetle 2 Led Front Light (Sports)
This light has various easy use settings, flash and non flashing, the light is very strong and bright, easy to attach and a godsend on the roads in the dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and functional! What more could you want?, 7 May 2012
By 
J. Foster (Birmingham/London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These have got to be some of the coolest bike lights around. I have a pair of these on the front of my red Brompton and they take on the appearance of eyes when viewed from directly in front!

Seriously though, they provide a good, bright light that should ensure you're seen by any other traffic and stray pedestrians. While they are clearly designed for being seen, not seeing by, two of them do do a reasonable job of lighting up the occasional unlit London street I find myself cycling down. The array of flashing modes is also good, and allows you to pick something to suit your taste (quick, slow, alternating etc)! The only frustration is the usual one of a multifunction light - that you have to cycle through all the different modes to turn it on or off depending where your preferred sequence is located!

They attach to handlebars very easily, and one of mine goes round a few cables to keep them out the way too - so there's plenty of scope for a wide bar.

All in all, cannot recommend these enough, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really happy with this!, 2 Feb. 2011
Very happy with this little light. I was having trouble fitting average lights to my MTB handlebars which are not perfectly round. This has a very flexible rubber mount which fits to just about everything. It is powerful too although the rapid flashing mode can be a bit nauseous! On the whole an excellent piece of kit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok light, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knog Beetle 2 Led Front Light (Sports)
It's slightly annoying that it is fuelled by expensive lithium 3V batteries rather than rechargeable batteries. It also goes off in my bag and runs the battery down. Would be good to have a safety switch on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So tiny but so bright!!, 18 Oct. 2009
I ordered one of these last week to match my pink bike (Don't laugh) and it is so tiny!! The light is really bright, my only real complaint is that i find the 4 settings a bit pointless, it has a stable light and then 3 different types of flashing...kinda annoying that you have to scroll throught all 3 to get back to the stable one too! Its also a little tricky to operate whilst you're on the move although i expect it will become easier once its been 'broken in' a bit! It's a really good light for the price though and i would reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good backup light, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Dr. S. Jabbal "Sunny" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any serious year-round commuter needs a safety light in case their main beam fails. This is a reassuring and bright backup which ensures you are easily seen by traffic. I would not use it as a solo light for illuminating unlit road. Clearly that isn't its purpose anyway.

I strapped two on my front handlebars, as they were so cheap. They come off easily too and pop in your pocket, so they won't get pinched. The battery life is very good and they are immensely weatherproof. I'm not sure what more you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fake Product - Wrong Colour Lights, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Product takes 2 weeks to arrive.
Article states lights are black body, white light.

Colour of light on product recieved is BLUE!!

I own a genuine rear Knog Beetle light - I can confirm that this is a fake product.
Fit of body is poor, above-mentioned light colour is wrong, rubber used in product even smells different to genuine Knog lights.

I will be pursuing a full refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews