Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellect and insightful book., 10 April 2010
By 
Eckybun (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Having read a book all about Cambodia under Pol Pot, I was interested in learning more about Comrade Duch, the man who ran the notorious Tuol Sleng prison where countless Cambodian's were tortured and executed. Nic Dunlop sets out to find Duch with just a photograph of him. Duch disappeared after Pol Pot was overthrown and has never been made to answer for his terrible crimes. I won't tell you whether or not Dunlop is successful in his quest. This is a fascinating book looking at the life of one of the most infamous men in Cambodian history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A future classic, 7 Oct 2011
Nic Dunlop's quest to find Comrade Duch has given us one of the best books detailing life in the Khmer Rouge time. Dunlop paints a masterful picture of the past and the people who both perpetrated the horrors and suffered from them. His clear style and eye for detail steer us through modern-day Cambodia back to the terrors of the past using the Khmer Rouge as guides. Having spent many years in Cambodia myself in the immediate years after the Vietnamese pull-out, and having read most books on the subject, I can recommend Dunlop's book as one of the very best. An excellent read for any serious student of Cambodia and a chilling insight into one of the greatest horrors of the modern age that will also captivate those coming fresh to the subject. A future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Executioner, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thoroughly researched book.
Nic Dunlop has painted painful pictures with his words.
A brave author who sought to find the truth,and with it,Comrade Duch.
Nic has opened my eyes to the countries who,through aid & shelter,assisted in prolonging the genocide.
Also the Aid Agencies who allowed themselves to be used which often prevented the true refugees from recieving food & medical aid.
Thank you Nic for sharing this with the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The evil that men do... and how to write about it, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Executioner (Kindle Edition)
The author starts the book off by stating an apparently simple mission. Find comrade Duch, and confront him with his crimes. Now, had Nic Dunlop done only that, this would have been a slim enough volume. The author assumes that you know nothing much about Duch (my case, more or less), and proceeds to give you not only a pretty detailed biography, always prompted and in the context of his search for the man, but also a very interesting history for the conflict.

The style is journalistic and very simple and down to earth. I also found that even though the author has a strong opinion about all of the facts, he's not overly pushy with it. At some points he lapses into abstract musings about a certain fact or place, but these don't last too long.

The book is overall very readable, and treats this harrowing subject in a dignifyed way. The author doesn't fall into a rabid rant about a subject he's obviously devoted a large chunk of his life to. Also he describes the atrocities in just the right way, avoiding any sensacionalism. Definately worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOCKING, 30 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I REALLY BELIEVE A BOOK LIKE THIS SHOULD BE IN INCLUDED IN THE NATIONAL CIRRICULUM, having been a complete ignoramous on this historic and tragic and even more so profound story of subjects hard to comprehend until read, I am now planning to find out as much about what happened and although understand why, still question WHY? and just 35 or so years ago??? baffling!
Anyway a mustb read!
May trigger a want for similar reads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down ... a true journey of discovery, 13 Sep 2010
By 
A. Lang (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was the first book I read around the history of the Khmer Rouge and the atrocities of this era. A very easy, engaging read as you follow the journey of Nic Dunlop in his search for Duch. This book truly sparked my interest in Cambodian history and the nightmare that was the Khmer Rouge ... it certainly hasn't stopped at this book. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, excellent book, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Executioner (Kindle Edition)
I had never heard much about Pol Pot and the Khmer Rouge (born slightly too late) but saw The Killing Fields at the cinema when I was young. The book was extremely moving, well written and had a great impact on me. Finished it over a week ago but can't stop thinking about it. These people of Cambodia should never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me glued, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Executioner (Kindle Edition)
Bought this for my kindle sat in my hotel room in Phnom Penh the same day I went to Tuol Sleng and Cheung Ek as I had read some of the notices about Comrade Duch and wanted to find out more and try and gain some insight into why someone would commit such heinous crimes. The book was well written and informative and to realise that the author was responsible for bringing cvomrade duch to justice was fascinating. I struggled to put it down the first time I read it, until I fell asleep with my tablet on my lap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The lost executioner, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This an excellent account of life in the time of the khmer rouge, and of the people who suffered under the regime, and the notorious comrade duch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - the best book Ive read on Cambodia/SE Asia!, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Lost Executioner (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must read to anyone interested in or about to visit SE Asia. Ive read some awful books before this - trust me, this is the book to read!

Thought provoking, balanced and good use of personal accounts and factual sources. You are left feeling exhausted and astonished and a little confused! Most books on this subject can simplify what went on in Cambodia but this does not paint a picture of good V evil but presents the complex psychological and historical points that need to be made.This book leaves you feeling that your eyes have been opened!

We need more of these books being written and read by people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Executioner
The Lost Executioner by Nic Dunlop
£4.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews