Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smart and elegant heist thriller with Caine and MacLaine
Ronald Neame (THE POSEIDON ADVENTURE) directs this elegant heist comedy/thriller which is a piece of fluff but handsomely done. Petty crook and international thief wannabe (Michael Caine) devises a complicated plan to steal a valuable bust from a wealthy Arab millionaire (Herbert Lom) and to this end, recruits an Eurasian dancer (Shirley MacLaine) who resembles Lom's...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by The CinemaScope Cat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't aged very well
Maybe it was good in it's time, but that time isn't now. Far too much 60s knowing humour and deliberate 'enigma' (i.e deliberate downright confusion). Characters very hard to believe, even when played for laughs.

I enjoyed growing up in the 60s, so I shouldn't have watched this - it's slightly spoilt things for me.
Published 10 months ago by P. Haynes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smart and elegant heist thriller with Caine and MacLaine, 19 Mar 2012
By 
The CinemaScope Cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Ronald Neame (THE POSEIDON ADVENTURE) directs this elegant heist comedy/thriller which is a piece of fluff but handsomely done. Petty crook and international thief wannabe (Michael Caine) devises a complicated plan to steal a valuable bust from a wealthy Arab millionaire (Herbert Lom) and to this end, recruits an Eurasian dancer (Shirley MacLaine) who resembles Lom's deceased wife. Of course, as with all good thrillers, the "perfect" plan never plays out as planned when Caine underestimates Lom. It's a lightweight diversion, the young Caine is a charmer and MacLaine, coiffed by the legendary Sydney Guilaroff, looks sensational in her Jean Louis wardrobe. Maurice Jarre contributes the tiresome score.

The British DVD courtesy of Second Sight is a nice looking anamorphic wide screen (2.35) transfer with a commentary by director Ronald Neame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun crime caper, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fun crime comedy caper with a terrific performance by all & nice twist at the end.

Lovely letter box 2.35.1 copy, no extras, which is never a problem for me, but there is a director commentary for those who like such things.

Great to finally have this movie in the correct ratio, although not out in Canada, once again my multi - player to the rescue.

Sit back & enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime Comedy at it,s best, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a top quality 1960,s crime caper, perfect in conception and execution the leading actors have a perfect connection between them, the recent update of it with Colin Firth was in a word trash, but not all updates are as such, take for instance the Thomas Crown Affair with Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway, Pierce Brosnan and Rene Russo made a much better job of it and carried it to a much more tidy end solution. So it proves that it can be done, you just need somebody with the fresh ideas and who knows what they are doing to carry it through. It would take somebody with a considerable skill to improve on this product both for the choice of actors and script management. The picture quality and sound are not too bad for a film of this era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Caine, typical MacLaine. What a great plot!, 18 Jan 2002
By 
Gordon (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gambit [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The two stars are ideal for their roles. Their roles in the plot must be the envy of many. This is clever, stylishly spun and the indoor settings are lavish. The story unfolds fast using great lines within a well put together script.
I was hooked from the start of this and amazed by the end. Quite a unique film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much Better, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
I like Colin Firth but he was awful in the remake and even though he tried to copy Michael Caine mannerisms the script was far weaker than in the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am not sure wether it is a rating of the movie or the quality of the DVD, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant movie - a favorite of mine
The quality of the DVD is good - no wonder, it is a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't aged very well, 5 Feb 2014
By 
P. Haynes (Maidstone, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe it was good in it's time, but that time isn't now. Far too much 60s knowing humour and deliberate 'enigma' (i.e deliberate downright confusion). Characters very hard to believe, even when played for laughs.

I enjoyed growing up in the 60s, so I shouldn't have watched this - it's slightly spoilt things for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gambit, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Came really quick. Very funny and enjoyed it very much. seen it several times. Worth the money.Shirley Mclaine very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gambit - brilliant, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
arrived on time. I love Shirley Mclaine. She is so versatile. This film is great, well recommended to any SM fans. Michael Caine is also brilliant. What a great plot!! But what a shame the plan didn't pay off!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original gambit, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
So much better than the new version. Quick, slick, and a joy to watch. The old omens are the best ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gambit [DVD]
Gambit [DVD] by Ronald Neame (DVD - 2009)
£9.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews