Customer Reviews


598 Reviews
5 star:
 (324)
4 star:
 (124)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Light, Easy Setup
Packaging:-
Outer - Strong padded envelope.
Inner - Standard cardboard box.
Good condition

Build Quality:-
Good quality hard plastic body.
Simple but effective mounting bracket.

Usability:-
We have had one of these lights in use since December 2008 and it is still going strong. We use it to light a dark alley...
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by Random Buyer

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad points
The good points:-
Very good amount of light.
separate light and solar cell for better installation.
very sensitive Pir.
Bad points:-
Unfortunately all the other peoples criticisms of the waterproofing is completely valid.
I wished to locate the light and cell in a fairly exposed position so on receipt I opened up the
solar panel and the...
Published 12 months ago by Chris12345


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

144 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Light, Easy Setup, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
Packaging:-
Outer - Strong padded envelope.
Inner - Standard cardboard box.
Good condition

Build Quality:-
Good quality hard plastic body.
Simple but effective mounting bracket.

Usability:-
We have had one of these lights in use since December 2008 and it is still going strong. We use it to light a dark alley between the house, the garage and a tall wooden gate. The light given is plenty to ensure that we don't step on a hedgehog or put our hands on a big furry spider when trying to unbolt the gate!

Practicality:-
The solar panel simply sits on the flat garage roof. A matter of minutes to screw the bracket for the lamp and P.I.R. unit to the wall.

We have now obtained a second unit which is in use lighting the patio, not good for reading at night, but excellent for picking a safe route between the patio pots. One surprising thing, in 2008 it cost £24.46, now it's only £16.79.

Summary:-
Easy to setup, effective light when you don't want to blind your neighbours with a 500W Halogen lamp or would have a challenge to cable up a mains powered lamp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Product, 1 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
This appears to be an ubranded version of an identical product made by powerbee. I have mounted the light at the back of the house and it lights the path excellently. The light is quite focussed into a spot, but is very effective.

I've only had the product a few days now so i cant vouch for the water resistance yet. It seems to be recharging properly during the day. The PIR isnt hugely sensitive, but gets triggered when i walk within a few meters of the sensor. This is probably just about right.

The cable is quite long - nearly 5 meters - so if you plan to mount the light in another part of the property you may still be able to mount the panel in a place which gets enough sunlight.

As with all solar lighting please consider the following two points:

- If the panel will not be mounted in a south facing area then perhaps there might not be enough light in winter to charge it.

- If there is a competing source of light, eg street light or neighbours outdoor lights then perhaps you will be less impressed with this product than if you were to deploy it somewhere which is completely dark otherwise.

As it stands - after initial impressions - i would unreseverdely recommend this light, its absolutely fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 3 May 2010
By 
Feebs (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
This solar light is so useful, it illuminates a large area and is really bright. The long cable between the panel and light allows for use in a north facing corner with the panel on the sunny side of the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good to light small areas, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
Bought this item a few months back to light my front door/porch area. It does this adequately.
It is motion sensitive so helps me to find keys etc when dark.
It has a long enough cable to site the solar panel (which tilts and rotates) a fair distance from the light for
the best access to the suns rays to charge it.
I have just bought another for my shed.
I would not recommend this for too large an area as it doesn't give off
enough light.
However it is perfect to light small areas such as a porch or shed.
Update Feb 2013: still working even though the 2 I bought have not worked when there is little direct sunlight over the winter (which is to be expected I guess)
I found it best to switch them off to allow the little sunlight they got to recharge the batteries enough to work ok and they a 're working fine again now.
update Jan 2014 : both lights are still working fine. Considering the small amount of sunshine they have received, this is still impressive...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad points, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
The good points:-
Very good amount of light.
separate light and solar cell for better installation.
very sensitive Pir.
Bad points:-
Unfortunately all the other peoples criticisms of the waterproofing is completely valid.
I wished to locate the light and cell in a fairly exposed position so on receipt I opened up the
solar panel and the the lamp cover. I found no attempt by the manufactures to waterproof the units at all,
I saw no evidence of 'the rubber shield behind the back plate'claimed to be fitted.
I then carefully sealed the units my self using silicone sealant.
I am glad to say that after a heavy rain storm there was no sign of water ingress.

Conclusion:-
I can recommend this product for very sheltered areas but unless you are willing to water-proof the units your self it must not be place in an area
subject to even light rain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good product which is very easy and fairly quick to install, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
The mains powered PIR light on the back of the house failed which meant going out to the bin at night or the garage required carrying a torch along with anything else. This solar light provides an adequate level of light for safe passage and saved calling out an electrician resulting in a hefty bill.

It comes with screws and rawlplugs for fixing both the light unit and solar panel into walls or woodwork. We mounted ours on the wall of the house about 3m up so that the sensor had a decent line of sight. The sensor is fixed but has a decent angle of coverage from its elevated position on the house.

I strongly advise anyone purchasing to make a paper template for use when drilling. There isn't one supplied but it is simple to do and saves a lot of messing about.

Tools needed are a no.6 masonry drill bit, a hammer drill, a hammer, phillips-head (cross head) screwdriver, a decent ladder (someone else to support the ladder for any great height).

For a tidy finish you will also need some cable clips for the solar panel wire. In total it took about an hour to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solar Pir Utility Light, 2 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
I am very pleased with this product.
Its a very bright light and the sensor is very responsive to movement.
A definate must for lighting your way within a shed or garage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Solar Centre PIR Utility Light, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
Bought 1 of these last winter, and worked well for 1 week, as soon as it rained the PIR filled with water and the product failed to work again, I am very disappointed as it seems cheaply manufactured and is obviously not weatherproof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shine a light, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
Wanted a basic solar powered light to attach to the outside of my garden shed which sits in splendid isolation at the bottom of a fairly long garden. Wanted one to enable me to use keys in the dark & discourage visitors. This does the job very well.It's a fairly concentrated beam but more than adequate for my purposes. It's very simple to set up. Fitted it at the beginning of November and it's working fine (Jan. 17th) having experienced wettest, snowiest winter since records began(?). I was aware of several reviews indicating non-waterproof nature but so far, that hasn't been a problem.If it is, I'll let you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars only lasts a few months as it's circuits are not protected from water, 3 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light (Garden & Outdoors)
Unfortunately it is NOT waterproof (as the sensor area filled up with water & stopped working, I drained it by making a small hole), and has now completely died, only 3 months after fixing it up. It is not the solar panel or the batteries but the electrical elements within the light, as they are not protected from the water. Save your money and buy a different one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Solar Centre Evo15 Solar Pir Utility Light
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews