Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced, forthright, signifficant, 8 Dec 2000
By A Customer
More gothic than Mervyn Peake, more cynical than George Orwell, more English than Ian Fleming and much, much funnier than Noel Coward.
The setting is an English boys' school in the early 1950s. Molesworth introduces us to his teachers, his family, his "grate friend" Peason, and his views on being a "young Elizabethan" in the "atommic age". Forget about "Lord Of The Flies". Molesworth and his cohorts are the most convincing schoolboys in fiction; by turns cynical, daydreaming, snobbish or barbaric but always possessed with a hysterical, surreal sense of humour. This is a book you will never regret buying - in fact, having read it, you will be pressing copies on your friends like a newly converted Hare Krisha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unreservedly Classic English Humour, 23 Dec 1999
By A Customer
Set in the 50's, Nigel Molesworth is a schoolboy at a minor public school in the wilds of the English countryside. You'd think it would be aimed at kids - but, as any fule kno, it's for the grownups. When I first bought this book in 1991 I ignored the girlfriend I was visiting for six hours straight while I read it cover to cover, occasionally exploding on the sofa in abject hysterics. I read it again on the train back to London. I've had to buy it again since then because I wore my original copy out - the spine collapsed and the pages fell out. Bluntly - this book it utterly fantastic, blindingly hilarious and it's less than a tenner. If they made Nigel Molesworth T-shirts I'd buy one of those too. And the desk diary, the calendar, the screensaver... Buy this book now. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A literary milestone, 13 Oct 2000
By A Customer
The 4 Molesworth books published together in this volume are seminal in the history of education and indeed of literature, and it's a great shame that Geoffrey Willans died at the untimely age of 47. These books are a total one-off, and perfectly capture the anarchic spirit (and lack of learning, and streetwiseness) of the average pre-pubescent schoolboy - no romantic seat of learning, this St. Custard's place.
I made my first acquaintance with Molesworth when I was about the same age as him, and the resonances with my own school experience still strike me now, over 40 years later. Wonderful stuff, hysterically funny and totally without any mawkish sentiment. Buy it! Buy several copies and give them to your friends and family! They'll love you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a *grate* read, 12 April 2002
By A Customer
this book is pretty much the world through the eyes of a cynic. The fact that the cynic happens to be a schoolboy, thoroughly fed up with Pythagoras (a bore), masters (weeds), and his fellow sufferers at school (variously clots, weedstruck wets, cads, oiks, and sneeks), enables us all to understand exactly what he is talking about. Even if you can not profess to ever having met sigismund the mad maths master.
The book, with all it's ravings on skool, Xmas, and skool sossages is hilarious and clever. The illustrations by Ronald Searle are excellent ( do the drawings compliment the writing or is it the other way round?), and I would recommend this to anyone whose sense of humour extends further than Friends. My favourite part, it must be said, is the spelling...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, as any fule kno, 29 May 2009
By 
Paul Magnussen (Campbell, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ronald Searle was one of Britain's best-loved cartoonists, and Geoffrey Willans (if I remember correctly) a former teacher. If there is such a thing as a genius, then Willans and Searle together were one.

The Molesworth books purport to be instructional manuals by an English public schoolboy named Nigel Molesworth, about how to survive the school experience. From the day the first was published in 1953, they became a wild success, especially with schoolchildren. They are still in print and still eminently applicable (which says something both about the quality of the books, and about the nature of the British school system, which even at that point hadn't changed much in 400 years).

The wild misspelling that permeates them caused hysteria among parents, and their removal from many school libraries (the books, not the parents). Nevertheless, many phrases from them have since gone into the English lexicon, particularly "enuff said" and "as any fule kno".

The quartet consists of:

Down with Skool
How to be Topp
Whizz for Atomms
Back in the Jug Agane

and an omnibus edition,

The Compleet Molesworth, reprinted by Penguin as
Molesworth

These are considered absolute classics in the UK along with gems such as 1066 and all that. Whether they're intelligible to anyone but Britons is another matter; but I didn't think Monty Python would be, and I was wrong about that...

P.S. And should you be wondering (during reading) exactly what Treens might be, they're the myrmidons of that most unforgettable villain The Mekon (whose portrait you can see here), from the wonderful contemporary comic-book series Dan Dare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A topp work of litaratur, 5 Dec 2008
By 
R. Shaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As any fule kno this is clasic. Full of topp writing and insiteful comment about skool and the iniquities of life (chiz moan) it stand the test of time like other grate works (see milton shakespeer dikens and other weeds etc etc). There hav been many who hav seen wisdom in the words of nigel as he carefully discuss 'kanes i hav known', reveal the molesworth-peason lines machine (runs off a hundred in one minit), explain life at st custards and introduce his frends and some sissies like fotherington-tomas who skip like a gurl and is wet. An essential addition to the bookshelf of anyone who went to a skool, had to deal with beaks, oiks, goodie goodies and playing criket in the rane against skools like Porridge Court etc etc. It is the uggly truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I unreservedly call this the funniest book I've ever read., 6 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This book is beyond laugh-out-loud funny; you'll actually annoy the neighbors with your chortling. Nigel Molesworth and his companions are hysterical. Molesworth's flights of fancy, instructions on how to avoid lessons, and attempts at being good are all priceless. Don't be put off by the (intentional) misspellings; they're part of the charm. This book is amazingly funny, and you'll be very sad when you've finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Any Fule No, this is brilliant, 22 Nov 2007
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read Molesworth as a child, and loved him. I read all the books and destroyed them through reading them too often. I have since bought them all again and continue to read them as an adult and exhort all my friends to read them too.
Molesworth is a schoolboy in the 1950's public school system and these are his diaries and grate thoughts on life. I grew up in the seventies, and so this was dated even then, but it doesn't matter. The comedy is evergreen, the words hilarious and the pictures perfect.
Molesworth is cynical, world weary and anti authoritarian to a delightful degree. His spelling is dreadful, and this is one of the best things about the book, in my opinion. His thoughts on peotry, particularly his rendition of "The Charge of The Light Brigade" is up there with anything P.G. Wodehouse has ever written, and he is a comedy genius. An absolute must buy for anyone with a sense of humour anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back in hisstericks agane, 24 July 2000
By A Customer
This is the funniest book in the entire world. Its a collection of the 4 original books which came out in the 1950s. I first got one of these - 'How To Be Topp' - as a skoolboy (brave noble fearless cheers cheers cheers ect) and have been hooked ever since. I read this again about once a year and it always has me in helpless giggles, much to the amazement of my family who think I must be uterly bats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As any fule kno, 19 Aug 2009
By 
This edition, with the three classics of er English Lit. (forget geom., alg. ect, ect they are for wets and weeds and are a chiz) include Down with Skool, Back in Jug Agane and Whizz for Atoms. As has been said, Molesworth and his friends may have slightly dated (this is about a 1950s skool after all) but like the Super Swot Shakespeare Major is timeless. Molesworth delivers a short sharp shock (this will hurt you more than it hurts me!) to the English skool system on behalf of skoolboys everywhere.

Buy this for grandads, fathers and keep a copy for yourself. But not for fotherington-tomas for he is a wet and a weed and have a face like a squished tomato!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Molesworth (Penguin Modern Classics)
£4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews