Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much does what it says on the tin!
Ok; well, what drew me to the book was the girlie pink front cover... then I read the back and it seemed like it would be a quick, light hearted, interesting read... which it was.

I really enjoyed reading it, it was quite amusing but at the same time quite an eye opener... I felt at times the author was trying to justify the profession but apart from that it...
Published on 16 July 2007 by A. ROBERTS

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has an air of authenticity about it...
Unlike some books that are quite similar, 'Confessions of a Working Girl' has an air of authenticity about it. Miss S is studying for a degree and, to make ends meet, she gets a job at a local 'Sauna'.

The book explores what it was like for her at the beginning, the paranoia that she suffered if she formed relationships outside the job and some of the stranger...
Published on 17 Oct. 2007 by Sarah Durston


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confessions of a bored reader, 18 Feb. 2010
By 
Viva Hate (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Like my fellow one-star reviewers, I have read and throughly enjoyed other memoires in the same vein as this. This one however is the exception to the rule. It is not a gritty realist depiction of the life of a working girl; rather it appears to be an outlet for the author to boast of her sexual prowess and criticise the rest of us who all, supposedly, assume the sex industry to be sordid, criminal and full of defenseless young women. She came across as shockingly naive for someone so experienced- appearing to be under the impression that all girls in the sex industry are there of their own choice. That may be the case for some, or perhaps even most, of the people involved in the industry, but there is a sizeable percentage of women who are not there of their own accord. This issue was never raised which made me wonder if Miss S had ever even heard of trafficking or pimping? Perhaps if she had, she could understand some people's pre-conceived notion of the "defenseless young women". If not...perhaps a more in depth research on the matter would have helped.

I don't know who allowed this book to be published in the first place. I don't consider hearing her muse about how amazing she is at giving head (3 times within the first 38 pages) to be shocking or frank- as frankly, it got boring. Perhaps if she had focused more on her experiences (both sexual and otherwise) within the bordello- or even just had the ability to finish a chapter properly (never mind the book itself) then it might have warrented a 3 star review. But the sheer arrogance of the author made it difficult to relate or warm to her in any way, and this would be the case whether the core subject had been sex, cooking or bubble baths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Light weight and airy, 14 May 2008
By 
Duncan Howorth (Chester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Is it "real" I don't know - reserve judgement. It starts well with the impact of the change of life from student to prostitute, and then seems to run out of steam once the narrator is used to her new life. I don't think I came away feeling I had learned anything new but it was certainly an easy read and made no demands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the other side of the story, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Working Girl (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the other side of the story. The media portrays working girls as drug addicts or sex slaves who have been abducted from far off lands. Miss S was none of these, she described how she has a high sex drive, so what better way to be employed. This book was written with much honesty and humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An eyeopener!, 12 Aug. 2007
By 
I bought this book after seeing it reviewed in a magazine, having not relly read any books like this before. Its a real eye opener into the life of a working girl, and while graphic in some places, it is readable and well written. It gives you a good insight into why people work in this industry, why they enjoy it, the highs and the lows. The only negative part was the last chapter on hints and tips, I just skimmed it, as was not really interested. Overall, a very good and detailed book which I'd like to know what happened next in London...!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read !!, 24 July 2011
I'm really into these types of books & have read many, this one was light hearted, funny & honest.

Really enjoyed this book & would recommend it to anyone who likes these types of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... a useful read ...., 3 May 2011
....... but one wonders how true to life ... if you want to know HOW to enter the trade see:
Escort Manual - A Practical Guide on How to Become an Internet Escort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than 50 shades true facts and good structure, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Working Girl (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very good couldn't put it down so much better than 50shades structure .this book . Was really the confessions of a working girl loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cant put this book down, 2 Nov. 2010
i cant tell you how much i am enjoying reading this book, i have not put it down, and when i do, i just want to pick it back up again and start reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 13 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Confessions of a Working Girl (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book about 4 times, got a kindle for Christmas which meant straight away that I had to download the book. Love it. It's just so funny x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value paperback book, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item arrived punctually & is great value for a paperback book. Saving it for holiday reading. Recommended by work colleagues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews