Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing work of non-fiction
'The Lady in the Van' is a completely true story. In the 1970's and 1980's outside Alan Bennett's own house in Camden an old lady (Miss Shepherd) lived in a Van in the street. After a time she could no longer stay on the street. Amazingly Bennett allowed her to move her Van into his garden and there she remained until she died.

This is a remarkable story, and...
Published on 16 Nov. 2008 by S J Buck

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and Confusing
I didn't expect the book to be written as a play but as a story. I found it disjointed and confusing. I saw a trailer of the film and thought I would enjoy the book but unfortunately I didn't. I do however think Maggie Smith will make a superb Miss Shepherd.
Published 3 months ago by Jacalady


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB PLAYRIGHT, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I HAVE BOUGHT THIS FOR MY SISTER AS THIS IS ONE OF ALAN BENNETT'S STORIES/PLAYS SHE HAS NOT HEARD.IT IS ALMOST SURREAL WHAT HAPPENED WHEN THE LADY IN THE VAN CAME TO STAY.IT IS FUNNY,SAD,THOUGHT PROVOKING AND A CRACKIN' GOOD STORY WHICH IS TOLD AS ONLY ALAN BENNETT CAN.HE IS ONE OF OUR BEST PLAYRIGHTS.I RECCOMMEND ALL HIS WORK ,IF NOTHING ELSE IT WILL HAVE YOU SPLITTING YOUR SIDES WITH LAUGHTER AND CRYING UNCONTROLLABLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Re Read, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lady in the Van (Faber Plays) (Kindle Edition)
This was a re read, read it some years ago, then saw it performed on the stage with Maggie Smith, enjoyed reading it second time round. It is a tale of an extraordinary eccentric woman, and an extraordinary man ( Alan Bennett ) who allowed her to live in his garden in a van for many years. Why he let her live in his garden, who knows? her habits were odd to say the least, but he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both funny and sad, 16 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Lady In The Van (Paperback)
The story of how Mr Shepherd ended up in Alan Bennett's drive, and how she lived her life their until her eventual death, is both funny, and also in parts sad. Although very short, this book is well worth it, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tramp or a lady!, 22 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the minute I started to read this amazing book I could not put it down. A moving story of a woman who has lost her way in life. Is she homeless, does living in a van count as having a roof over her head. A knight in the form of Alan Bennett helps her out and then has to deal with her quirky behaviour over the next fifteen years. A delight to read and moving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting as a true story, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lady In The Van (Paperback)
A rather sad little story which is a good example of truth being stranger than fiction! Alan Bennett is clearly a most good-natured man to allow this annoying old lady to park her dirty van in his drive for all those years. But perhaps he felt it added a certain cache to his reputation as a writer?! Unfathomable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo to Alan Bennett., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lady in the Van was every bit as good as we have come to expect from Alan Bennett,he paints pictures with words a rare talent,I could feel the warmth and sympathy directed to Miss Shepherd.Alan Bennett never lets his us down with his powers of observation. Excellent what more can I say about a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tiny work of genius, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lady In The Van (Paperback)
This book is small, short, happy, sad and sweet. It was a perfect gift for someone who appreciates the human side of humans. Perfectly written, honestly described and just right. Some people are very special and this book contains more than its fair share of them all told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Alan Bennet Classic, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Lady In The Van (Paperback)
I had just read Alan's "Untold Stories" in which this lady was mentoned frequently. I couldn't wait to get the book "The Lady In The Van" and it didn't disappoint. Very well written. It made me laugh, it made me cry!! A true classic, if a little short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Story, 10 Sept. 2012
By 
T.O.G.1 (BEDFORD England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this recording for my wife who has lost most of her eye sight. The disc was well packed , but easy to get at. The quality of the recording is First Class The story excellent and so well read. I recommend all these Alan Bennett Audio Books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful wonderful wonderful, 21 May 2015
This review is from: The Lady In The Van (Paperback)
A lovely short story of a homeless woman who lives in a van on a road in Camden. Alan Bennett happened to live there and he invited the eccentric woman to move into his garden. Wonderful wonderful wonderful. Soon to be a film with Maggie Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lady in the Van (Faber Plays)
£3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews