Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing & kind travelogue through Islamic countries.
The author Jason Burke has written a book to be proud of with 'On the Road to Kandahar.' There is no denying that this book is a travelogue, however it is far more than a superficial travel diary. Jason Burke has spent over a decade in many Islamic countries including Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Iraq. The considerable time he has spent traveling means he has learnt...
Published on 16 Dec 2007 by Az. Khan.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard Work
Bought for my husband who found it hard to get into the book and hasn't read all but only a part of it and has started a new book
Published 12 months ago by Mrs Dawn Keir


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing & kind travelogue through Islamic countries., 16 Dec 2007
By 
Az. Khan. (Battersea. England.) - See all my reviews
The author Jason Burke has written a book to be proud of with 'On the Road to Kandahar.' There is no denying that this book is a travelogue, however it is far more than a superficial travel diary. Jason Burke has spent over a decade in many Islamic countries including Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Iraq. The considerable time he has spent traveling means he has learnt languages that enable him to get far closer to the people of the countries he is exploring. He talks to the people, he ask them questions, he learns about their customs and and the impact of religion in their lives. What makes this book such a worthwhile read is that it is written by a western writer, so readers can identify with his viewpoint, however he never makes generalisations of the people he meets. He ask political questions about the influence of Al-Qaeda, and the politics behind the new international TV channels, without prejudice against Islam. Burke is a great writer because he shares his travels with the reader which draws you in. He never comes across as pompous, and the book draws you in to his very real adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Important Book, 9 Jun 2006
By 
Andrew Howell "andyhowell3" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Over the last couple of years Jason Burke has proved himself to be one of the most informed and important writers on the Middle East and the Islamic World.

With this book Burke takes us through his own, personal, voyage through the Muslim world and, in particular, the most famous and difficult of territories. He starts as a young student - and would be reporter - in Kurdish Iraq., moves on to Pakistan, Afghanistan and then back to Iraq.

What is behind the rise in Islamic fundamentalism and why has so many turned to violence and terrorism? Why has the response of the West been so lacking? Where on earth do we go after Iraq? What is the prognosis of the future?

This is not only a personal journey but it is a journey through a changing and evolving world. What was once an issue in a far off land is now a neighbourhood issue for all of us as fundamentalist fighters find that new technology has placed them in the middle of a global economy and global society, where issues on the other side of the world are now global issues.

This is a barnstormer of a book; easy to read and yet very important. Burkes' analysis of how we've got to here is convincing. He has no easy solutions. Yet I'm sure that the only positive ways out of this mess will come out the kinds of discussion and analysis that Burke promotes.

A must for those interested in world politics today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard Work, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Road to Kandahar: Travels through conflict in the Islamic world (Kindle Edition)
Bought for my husband who found it hard to get into the book and hasn't read all but only a part of it and has started a new book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not much Impressed, 10 Jan 2014
In this book the writer has played very clever. He pretends not to be prejudiced while writing about the Islamic world but is in fact inducing prejudice in the mind of his reader at various occasions. He lacks the courage to condemn injustice in his book.No doubt is a very clever writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Nico (Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jason Burke has a deep understanding and affinity with islamic societies and it really shines through in this excellent book, Burke cuts through a lot of the silly and inaccurate stereotypes that often prevail in the west in regard to islam. However Burke is no supporter or apologist for radical islam and its intolerant world view and actions. A very comprehensive and interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book can't put it down, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely amazing read! I would really recommend this - I read this after reading 'no easy day' and 'growing up bin laden' which were both amazing books 'growing up bin laden' especially amazing - so this one had a lot to live up to! Which it certainly did - great author jason burkes extremely varied traveller tails from throughout the Middel east over a 10 year period amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 2 July 2007
By 
Neil S. Bruce "Brucie" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An brilliant read which provides a deep, unbiased insight into the Islamic world. A must for anyone interested in understanding the current world situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An informative insight, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Jason Burke tells us the things we don't know about Afghanistan. This is no media portrayal, no simple view of the culture(s) he lived among - and note, "lived among" rather than just "encountered". I can only wonder at the drivel I have read in the press and commentaries from the terminally ignorant (quite often, it seems, with the surname Hitchens) when I come across Burke's highly informative testimony. A masterful work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews