Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!
I'm 11 years old and borrowed this book from my school library. Its the first book i have read by Cathy Cassidy. I can relate to the book myself. Friendships breaking up. its my faverouite book out of the hundreds and hundreds of books i have read. its a brilliant book and must be read.
Published on 6 Jan. 2011

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Parents...read first to check if this is suitable
I have a real issue with this book. as a teacher who has recently completed a safeguarding training course the 'party' scene with Year 8 girls drinking cider and wanting their teacher "...to know I'm not a kid" horrifies me. If I could rate it as 0 I would.
My daughter will be kept well away from this book!
Published 9 months ago by Jaa


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!, 6 Jan. 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Paperback)
I'm 11 years old and borrowed this book from my school library. Its the first book i have read by Cathy Cassidy. I can relate to the book myself. Friendships breaking up. its my faverouite book out of the hundreds and hundreds of books i have read. its a brilliant book and must be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Snaps, 19 July 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Hardcover)
Ginger Snaps by Cathy Cassidy is a entertaining book which tells the life about a girl Ginger Brown. As a younger girl she was a loner no friends with puppy fat and pigtails. But as she grows up and is going into high school her older sister Cassia gives her a makeover and she swaps her puppy fat and pigtails for make-up and hair straighteners and she has never looked back...until now. Ginger and her best friend Shannon befriend lonely Emily when her best mate Meg moves to New Zealand and then everything changes and Ginger and Shannon find themselves drifting apart. Plus to make things worse Ginger has a crush on the saxophone playing trilby hat wearing tippex covered jeans converse trainers wearing boy Sam... who Shannon does not like and Sam likes Ginger back and call her Ginger Snaps. So Ginger finds herself in a diiferent world keeping secrets from her best friend hiding from Shannon. I she a normal person anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Rocks, 14 July 2008
By 
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Hardcover)
Having read all of Cathy's previous books, I was in haste to buy her new novel, Ginger Snaps, from my local bookstore. I'm pleased to say that again Cathy does not disappoint.
I won't go into detail about the plot of Cathy's latest novel, but what I will say is that it is a story of failing friendships, & not being afraid to express your individuality.
All in all, it is enjoyable read, with an ending that really makes you think: Just because some people are seen as cool & popular, it does not necessarily mean that they are a kind-hearted person inside.
With Ginger Snaps, author Cathy Cassidy shares an important & meaningful life lesson to her readers, old & new: Follow your heart.

This book deserves way more than just 5 stars.
Seriously, get this book or miss out!!!
By Lisa, age 14.
x o x o.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book I Have Ever Read, 9 Jan. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Paperback)
This is the best book i have ever read, I think a lot of girls can relate to ginger, and cathy cassidy makes all the characters seem so real. if you are age 8-15 you will love the book just like I did. This book is definitely a ***** rating and anyone who thinks otherwise is strange! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars !!!Awesome!!!, 14 Mar. 2011
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Paperback)
Things have really changed for Ginger Brown. Shes a completely different person after being bullied by the horrible, snobby Chelsie Martin and her crew all through primary school. Now shes best friends with Shannon, a gorgeous, golden haired girl who gets all the fit guys at school.

But on the first day back to school as glam Year 8s they meet interesting new boy, Sam Taylor. Straight away Shannon tries to suduce him with her dazzling looks but he doesn't respond. He seems really interested in Ginger. This annoys Shannon and she tries to make sure herself and Ginger think their to good for the likes of him. But Ginger can't help but fall for him to.

There are also other plots behind the excitng storyline. Emily, a friend of Ginger back in the primary days has never forgotten the girl Ginger was. After being shaken by the news that her best friend has just moved to Scotland she becomes the new editon to the Shannon and Ginger duo. As her and Shannon start to bond and get more closer Ginger can't help but feel that shes losing her one and only best friend. As the English classes get more exciting Shannon declares her feelings for the lush Mr Hunter, the new English teacher.

As Shannon approches her 13th birthday she decides to throw a party. This a main event in the story and Sam and Gingers relatinship is really put to the test. Shannon tells Mr Hunter how she really feels, but he turns her down. She is devastated, and as a friend really needs Ginger by her side. But if Ginger helps Shannon she knows that Sam will really have to go. Who will she chose?

As the party gets out of hand Ginger does the only thing she knows she shouldn't do. She calls Shannons parents, they then come home to a messy household, full of drink and food everywhere. Will Shannon and Ginger stay friends and what will the consequences be?

A great novel full of romance and getting to know your trueself, where friendship is really put to the top is put to the test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gingersnaps, 18 Aug. 2012
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Kindle Edition)
What i like most about this book is that is shows what happens from Primary School to High School. People see it as a chance to change them self in Primary it was Games and over sized jumpers and pink faces in High School it is a whole different story its now Bands and tight short skirts and makeup plastered faces this is what shows in Gingersnaps a girl called Ginger Brown is being bullied and then takes hold of her life and changing it in to something she is not but when she finds a boy who likes her fo what she is but she eems ashamed to evn be in the same room as him as her new life lipgloss and popularity sinks in with her new best friend Shannon the queen of all things cool and glossy and wild she takes every chance she can to act like a teenager when a new friend comes along they take her she change her to but at the cost of Shannon.Ginger fells left out and when a techer Shannon fancies comes to her birthday party things start to go out of control Ginger has lost the boy there are photos taken and alchohol in the punch bowl and an unexpected call from the police to turn around this out of control party.Will Ginger take the chance to have true friends and a saxaphone playing boyfriend to play in a school band called my secret boyfriend it all depends if she is strong enough to leave Shannon who in going to a bad life that Ginger dusent want to be appart of but will she leave Shannon and head for the better life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 16 Sept. 2013
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Kindle Edition)
WARNING :Contains Big spoilers!
Firstly I found this book amazing because it really gives you advice with your friends showing who lwill be loyal and who won't.
But the book is about a pre teens girl called Ginger Brown. In secondry school she was called a loser and a loner with no friends Ginger was bullied by more popular members of her class. Then Ginger goes to high school and finds a friend she soon becomes besties with. In year eight a new boy arrives at school, Sam who really doesn't care showing this by making up religions so he can wear hats in class and other crazy things.
Ginger likes Sam. Sam likes Ginger. Gingers bestie doesn't like Sam. Gingers best friend thinks Sam is a loser like Ginger was and Ginger doesn't want to be seen with Sam but Sam does.
Soon Emily a girl in Gingers class is given a makeover and becomes part of Gingers gang. Ginger feels excluded and pushed out by Emily. Gingers best friend has changed and Ginger knows it. Despite everything Ginger decides to go out with Sam dump Sharron (her old bestie) and becomes friends with Sam, Emily and Sharron's idea of the big time losers.
This book has been well written and definitely worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gingersnaps is an excellent read!, 20 Jan. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Paperback)
Gingersnaps is an excellent read with entertaining characters. My favourite somehow was Ginger!!! I don't normally like the main character in books, like with Angel Cakes I like Fracis McGee. In Indigo I liked Misti!! But I seemed to feel a connection with Ginger. I have lost friends in the past and found it very hard but in the end got over it! I love this book and highly reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Snaps, 26 Dec. 2010
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Kindle Edition)
This is yet another fab read from Cathy Cassidy! The story line is ginger was bullied at primary school and so is an outsider , so before she goes to high school swaps pigtales for straighteners and granny skirts to bum frezzers.
When ginger is at school shannon, a care free fun loving girls asks ginger to be her BFF she can't quite believe it!
Now in year 8, there friendship will be put to the test. When saxphones and Trilbys come into the mix , trouble is sure to stir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 28 Aug. 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: GingerSnaps (Paperback)
After reading Angel Cake, I wanted to read GingerSnaps. I enjoyed it and I like how Ginger describes about her life and friends. She is best friends with Shannon, but they are starting to drift away. I did enjoy it, but it wasn't as good as Angel Cake. I recommend to it to girls and it brings a message about friendship.

Chloe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GingerSnaps
GingerSnaps by Cathy Cassidy
£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews