Customer Reviews


480 Reviews
5 star:
 (333)
4 star:
 (92)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


136 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most rewarding books you will ever read
Of Mice And Men is truly a special piece of literature that seems so simple whilst you are reading it but at the same time deals with a lot of complicated issues which all of us have to deal with at some point in our lives.
Its a story of two friends, Lennie and George, who wander from town to town looking for work in order to raise the capital to one day settle down...
Published on 15 Jun 2002 by Wicker-king

versus
40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All-time Classic, but beware which edition you choose.
Nothing of substance that I can add here that hasn't already been mentioned regarding the text itself. However, I was disappointed with the 'Essentials' edition which I consider to be poorly produced. At a retail price of nearly nine pounds I had imagined that this edition would be on quality paper with space for my son to annotate the text appropriately. Neither of...
Published on 16 May 2010 by Poetman


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

136 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most rewarding books you will ever read, 15 Jun 2002
By 
Wicker-king (North London, England) - See all my reviews
Of Mice And Men is truly a special piece of literature that seems so simple whilst you are reading it but at the same time deals with a lot of complicated issues which all of us have to deal with at some point in our lives.
Its a story of two friends, Lennie and George, who wander from town to town looking for work in order to raise the capital to one day settle down in a farm of their own and count out their days. The one snag in this plan is Lennie, a giant of a man with the mind of a child who, although full of good intentions, finds himself trouble at every stop.
Steinbeck often tackles weighty issues (most evident in Grapes Of Wrath) and the theme of the future and the dreams of simple men is a hefty one but he handles this book with such poetic grace that you can't help but be drawn into the lives of these two men and as the book draws to its climax nothing can prepare you for the almighty hammer blow at its conclusion.
This is a book for all those who have a dream of the future or those who have found themselves somehow lost in life. It deals with how complicated the simple life can be and how elusive true contentment is. There has been many a film made of this film but believe me, nothing can compare to the vivid world that the pages of this book generates inside your minds eye and as you turn the final page it will stay there with you and be with you always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best audio-books I've heard!, 19 Oct 1999
By A Customer
I am using this tape with my students and we're all enthralled and entranced as the fates of George and Lennie are unravelled by Steinbeck's storytelling. The students are all hearing/reading the story for the first time - but I'm hearing it anew and relishing every word as Sinise's sympathetic interpertations of the characters bring the book to life.
This tape would also be a super introduction to Steinbeck for anyone who has not yet read this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic - buy it ,read it, 2 Jun 2007
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Those boys from Penguin know a thing or two. When they rate a book as a classic, they know what they are doing. I read this book in a morning while on holiday and it is absolutely fantastic. To develop such totally believable characters, to tell such a touching story, and to explore such universal truths in such a short novel is a major, major achievement. So many contemporary novelists who view producing a doorstop as a virtue could learn so much from the sheer economy, efficiency and effectiveness of the prose in this marvellous book. Go out, buy it, enjoy it, and sob your heart out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 30 Mar 2007
By 
J. Page "J Page" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished this book and felt compelled to write a review because it is one of the most exceptional pieces of writing I have ever read. At just over 100 pages most novels only manage to get started but for an entire novel to be of this length and still to have an impact that is immense is a remarkable achievement. The characterisation is flawless and Steinbeck's skill at drawing us into the lives of farm labourers Lennie and George makes for a book that you genuinely can't put down. There are very few novels that I would count as flawless but this is most definitely one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably John Steinbeck's best book!, 16 Oct 2003
By 
Christos Stathis "pantelis43" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Of Mice and Men" is one of John Steinbeck's best-known and most popular books. It is a powerful and moving story of the lonely and dispossessed. It was written during the mid-1930s in Pacific Grove and Los Gatos ranch, California. It's setting is a ranch South of Soledad, California in the 1930s.
It's about two friends, George and Lennie,who share a dream, the typical american dream of the 1930's, of having together a farm, and living out of "the fatta the land".
The book contains many themes, such as the predatory nature of human existence, the importance of fraternity and idealized relationships between men, the impossibility of the American Dream and the destructive imbalance of social power structures in American society.
The New York Times characterised the book as "A thriller, a gripping tale that you will not set down until it is finished".
Buy it without second thought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that GCSE students love to hate, 16 Jan 2012
By 
John Moseley (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The introduction to this edition tells us that Of Mice and Men continues to be banned by school boards throughout the US, mainly because of the earthy, racist language used by the characters throughout. There are plenty of UK students who wish the same applied here. For some reason, Of Mice and Men occupies the same risible space in the minds of many english students as that other course staple To Kill a Mockingbird - that is, they hate it. A pity, because Of Mice and Men is superb, and touches on universal themes such as loneliness, poverty, friendship, jealousy and cruelty, which are part of its enduring relevance and appeal. It is a dream within a dream - the dream of two itinerant farm workers, Lenny and George, to scrape enough money together to buy a small farm of their own, become independent and 'live off the fat o' the lan'.

Susan Shillinglaw writes a revealing introduction to this edition, which also tells us that Steinbeck conceived a new narrative form - the 'playable novel' i.e. a story that could equally be read as a conventional narrative or seen in dramatic performance. The plot is staged as a play, with theatric scenes and a narrative that guides us carefully from one set piece to the next. It is clear from the outset that this will be a tragic 'play', and so it proves. The intro also tells us that Steinbeck saw with his own eyes a hired hand kill a ranch foreman with a pitchfork when working as a farm hand himself. This episode is reimagined as one of the pivotal points of the narrative, and leads to the tragic ending.

GCSE students may hate it, but Of Mice and Men has stood the test of time as an enduring, precautionary tale of what happens when man is pitched against fellow man in a society that has lost its true sense of morality. It is this universality and the razor-sharp tightness of Steinbeck's storytelling, that makes Of Mice and Men a profoundly moving and richly rewarding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A guy needs somebody to be near him....A guy goes nuts if he ain't got nobody.", 23 Oct 2006
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Written in 1937, when the Depression was still affecting all aspects of the farming community, this powerful novel depicts the lives of migrant workers--grim, pessimistic, and offering little hope for an improved future. Focusing on two characters who arrive in the Salinas Valley during peak season, Steinbeck creates touching scenes between Lenny, a big, severely limited worker who does not know his own strength, and George, a whippet-thin man who serves as Lenny's constant companion and protector.

Both Lenny and George have dreams of one day living on their own farm, where Lenny, who loves the feeling of soft things--even dead mice--wants to take care of rabbits. George hopes one day to benefit from his own hard work on his own farm and to create an environment where Lenny can be safe from his own impulses. As Steinbeck brings the characters on the ranch to life, he shows how every person there has dreams of a different life but few opportunities to change the lives they already have. Some are physically handicapped from accidents on farms, while others are emotionally handicapped by lack of opportunity or their own personal limitations.

Life is lonely, uncertain, and harsh but George tries to make life for Lenny more bearable by allowing him to have one of the new puppies in the barn. When Curley, the boss's son, brings his flirtatious wife to the farm, he introduces a new element which eventually leads to a tragic ending. Women are considered dangerous to the status quo, as they reinforce the need for "soft" elements in lives that otherwise offer little softness.

Giving vivid pictures of the natural surroundings while also creating vivid pictures of the interactions of these men, Steinbeck shows that even among those whose lives offer little hope, there is a desire to take advantage of each other. Crooks, the black stable hand who is forced to live alone in the barn, undermines Lenny. Carlson takes advantage of Candy's love for his old, smelly dog and causes pain to Candy. Lenny's puppy, Candy's dog, a heron capturing a water snake, and dreams of their own farm all become symbols which add to the drama of the conclusion. In this powerfully sad novel, Steinbeck offers little hope that the lives of these men will improve and even less hope that they will ever be able to control what happens to them. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet effective, 14 July 2005
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first read this book the same way so many people do. GCSE English. Well 10 years later I picked it up again yet this time for fun. I was attempting to do something that teachers of the time seemed trained to not allow to happen, and that was to enjoy a classic.
Looking for the significance of animals making noises, or trees gently blowing in the wind is all well and good but it can really lose the energy and drive that the author was trying to instil in the book. For above everything else Steinbeck is trying to paint a picture, its not a big picture and he doesn't have long to paint it.
This leads us to the main characters, George and Lennie, one slow witted yet a bear of a man, the other much smaller yet the brains of the outfit. These two workers go from farm to farm getting work where they can but always having to move on. Lennie being very prone to "accidents".
This books is like Steinbeck's others in that it tackles tough issues, but this one is far more focused on the relationship these two friends have built up over the years, and how they can ensure their own protection as it moves forward. This is sensitively handled and a real treat to read, George's internal conflict about how he has saddled his life with the liability of Lennie vs. the responsibility he feels he has to him is handled superbly and you can really find yourselves rooting for these two unlikely companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The essential Steinbeck, 13 Dec 2009
By 
Dr. W. Onyeama "towards enlightenment" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This excellent compilation contains the principal early short stories of this excellent American author. They are all more that half a century old but retain a disticnt period charm and narrative clarity. In these stories Steinback was writing about people and places he knew and loved and this affection shines through each page. Some like Of Mice and Men and Cannery Row are very well known and have become a revered part of English course work at University level. A personal favourite is The Red Pony which is more a novella with interlocking themes than a short story. But all could be read with benefit and pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All-time Classic, but beware which edition you choose., 16 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing of substance that I can add here that hasn't already been mentioned regarding the text itself. However, I was disappointed with the 'Essentials' edition which I consider to be poorly produced. At a retail price of nearly nine pounds I had imagined that this edition would be on quality paper with space for my son to annotate the text appropriately. Neither of these assumptions were correct. The Essentials edition deserves a price tag well under the current RRP. So, please don't be misled into thinking that you are paying the premium for a quality edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews