Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Dahlia - WOW
First things first you need to read Above Suspicion before reading this book as the 2 lead roles have an ongoing story between the 2 books. After I read the first I was so pleased to see this book out on the shelves. I read it within 1.5 days. I couldn't put it down. Everywhere I went it was with me!. Lynda once again grips you from the start and leaves you crying out for...
Published on 8 Jan 2007 by Mrs. Rachel Al Colahan

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But Lost Its Way A Bit!
In the Red Dahlia, the body of a young woman is found on the banks of the River Thames. She has been brutally murdered, and the manner of her death has many similiarities to the famous 'Black Dahlia' murder case of the 1940s, that was never solved. It is up to this book's main protagonists, Detective Inspector Anna Travis, and her boss Detective Chief Inspector, James...
Published on 23 Oct 2008 by J.Flood


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Dahlia - WOW, 8 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Hardcover)
First things first you need to read Above Suspicion before reading this book as the 2 lead roles have an ongoing story between the 2 books. After I read the first I was so pleased to see this book out on the shelves. I read it within 1.5 days. I couldn't put it down. Everywhere I went it was with me!. Lynda once again grips you from the start and leaves you crying out for more. I hope there will be a 3rd installment for these 2 detectives. So well written, a sinister crime story well told.

Top marks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good and gripping, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Kindle Edition)
This book sees Travis and Langton paired once again to solve the murder of a young woman. The murder has many similarities to the black dahlia murder committed in the 1940's. At times the book is a bit gruesome but overall a real pager. I did feel there was an element missing at some points, perhaps the way the case moves forward after tip offs and help from journalists.
You can feel the frustration of the detectives as they cannot move forward in the first half of the book, but once a suspect is found all their efforts are concentrated on bringing him to justice.
Travis and Langtons relationship develops but this does not add anything to the suspense of the novel in my opinion. A good and gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 3 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book and read it in a few days. Make sure you read Above Suspicion first though. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But Lost Its Way A Bit!, 23 Oct 2008
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Paperback)
In the Red Dahlia, the body of a young woman is found on the banks of the River Thames. She has been brutally murdered, and the manner of her death has many similiarities to the famous 'Black Dahlia' murder case of the 1940s, that was never solved. It is up to this book's main protagonists, Detective Inspector Anna Travis, and her boss Detective Chief Inspector, James Langton to try and solve this one.

I found this book a riveting read for the first couple of hundred pages, as the police are frantically trying to find a suspect, and promising leads are turning into nothing.

However, once they finally target a suspect/suspects, I found the pace of the novel slowed down considerably, and the writing was not as compelling, as earlier. Travis' infatuation with her boss started to get on my nerves a bit too. Overall, though, not a bad read, but could have been pruned down by about fifty pages or more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Father or son?, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Kindle Edition)
A very exciting read, kept you in suspense, so well put together like all her other.books. can't wait to start the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the red dahlia, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Kindle Edition)
fabulous book! thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend it to anybody. will definately read more from lynda la plante !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Kindle Edition)
I have seen the series on tv but wanted to read the books. This is the second in the series and was every bit as good as the first one. I love the relationship between Langton and Travis and both of their individual reluctance to take it further.

Loved the storyline and the frustrations of the team at not being able to get the culprit.

Looking forward to reading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Had high exceptions maybe that was the problem, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Paperback)
I read "Above Suspicion" and because that was such a fast paced book, I thought I'd give her second one a try not long after reading her first one. But I was really disappointed. This is slow, and predictable. I agree with others and that it was dragged out when it was clear who done it about half way. I will read others in this series as this part of my 2012 challenge but will be leaving it a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad either., 1 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Paperback)
This book follows on from Above Suspicion however, with only a couple of references to this previous case it didn't matter that I hadn't read it. Perhaps it would have been good to know more about the previous relationship between DI Travis and DCI Langton, but it certainly didn't prevent this book being a stand-alone work.
In brief, Langton and his team are tasked with finding the culprit of two brutally horrific murders of young women. The murders themselves appear to be copy cats of a previous case from 1940s America, which was never solved. It is a remarkably tough case, the perpetrator is clearly intelligent and has covered his tracks incredibly well. To make matters worse, when they finally find a suspect, he goes missing from right under their noses.
As the story involves sexual deviancy, incest, self harm, suicide, plus details of very sick murders and mutilation, it is not for the faint hearted. However the subjects are not paraded, and in the context of the story it is clear they are not just there for the shock factor as in some books. It is not an edge-of-your-seat thriller, but a murder mystery. However, for those fond of twists and turns and who enjoy second guessing and figuring out the clues, you may be disappointed, this reads more like an account of what happened than a `whodunit'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Dahlia, 16 Sep 2009
By 
D. Larkin (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Dahlia (Paperback)
another great story from Lynda La Plante, The Red Dahlia is the second of the Anna Travis series,can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Red Dahlia
The Red Dahlia by Lynda La Plante
5.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews