Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive reading, in a car crash kind of way...
The bulk of the text is Nikki's actual journal entries taken from a year of a very dark time in his life, with various Motley Crue alumni interjecting with their opinions and viewpoints. It makes for compulsive but often quite uncomfortable reading, not so much because of the casual way he talks you through horrific experiences of hard drug addiction but because of...
Published on 30 Jun. 2008 by Matt Kenway

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very honest!
I had been looking forward to reading this book for months, and I enjoyed it but there were some things just not right. As a former addict/alcoholic that wrote diaries, the extracts (which are so small) read like they were penned maybe later. If one is in a psychotic state (which he describes very well) and even if one had the ability to write anything (most unusual) the...
Published on 19 Jun. 2011 by Jeanette Heatherington


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A must to read, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book you need to read, You see into how messed up Nikki's life was and wonder how the hell he is still here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 26 Sept. 2008
By 
S. Ward (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book i was unable to put down once i began to read it. It is a sad, funny and scary read of a rock star totally out of control. As you read this book you will find it hard to believe that Nikki survived all this and came through in the end. Some of the entries in the book make for uncomfortable reading, but that is the point he is making. Nikki is showing you that being a rock star may be a dream but it can also become a nightmare. The book has comments by motley crue and friends / lovers. It should also be noted that the book is lovely quality. the paperback is printed on glossy paper and colour is used throughout the book.

This book is not just for Motley Crue fans. Anyone who is interested in the Rock 'N' Roll lifestyle will enjoy this book. If you want tales of sex, drugs and Rock 'N' Roll then grab a copy of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite book of all time, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funniest book I have ever read. I was crying laughing reading it. Love it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroin Diaries, 11 Jun. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't quite finished this book (normally read it when sat i the Doctors waiting room )but its a real vision of the hard living of a rock star where everything is on offer and theres nothing taboo. It's shocking in some places but nothing I didn't expect after following this band for a few years.
Some of it so near the bone you wonder why some one didn't put a stop to it but then you remember who was paying the wages !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroin Diaries, 11 Aug. 2009
By 
Extremely enthralling read, heart breaking, humorous, shocking and down right addictive in its self. Once I started to read these diaries, I could not put them down. This, coupled with the same titled sound track, really do give you an insight into Nikki Sixx's life and his struggle to try and cope with depression and addiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with this purchase, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Im on half of the book. Very happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good read, dark, but also funny in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainingly depressing!, 30 Jan. 2008
By 
Ian Pritchard (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a fan of Motley Crue, autobiographies and the seedier side of life (from a safe distance), so buying this was a no-brainer. What an astonishing book. Like 'The Dirt', Sixx, with Ian Gittens help this time, has enrolled others to provide their perspective of what he was going through and putting them through (particularly so in Mick Mars case). This is the first book I've ever finished reading and immediately started again.

The book pulls no punches when it comes to describing life in Motley world, and there is a huge dichotomy between the obvious hedonistic/hooligan pleasures indulged in when you're a spoilt rock star and what happens when you close the closet door.

If you let it, this book could be very depressing. Despite seemingly having it all (for example, the cheque he found in his mailbox when he came home during a break in touring) Sixx had deep and painful psychological scarring, something the drugs, instead of numbing, appear to have aggravated. Even knowing the outcome didn't prevent me from feeling real concern that he wasn't going to make it.

An earlier review suggested that these diaries might have been a collection of remembered events put into diary form for this book, rather than actual entries. Given the state of Sixx's mind, the drugs and the fame/infamy at that time, I doubt that Nikki would have been able to remember much of this year without the prompts a diary gives. What were you doing on 23rd December 1987?

One intriguing point, there don't appear to be any live photo's from '87 and only a couple offstage. It would have been interesting to see how much Nikki's appearance changed with the drug abuse, something he continually refers to.

Entertainingly depressing...but in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome print quality, sick way of living. Addictive Book!, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
George Spiros (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am not a fan of motley crue. In fact... i didnt even know their music until after i finished the book and listened to their albums out of curiousity!

The first thing upon receiving the book, was its quality. All glossy, fully illustrated, it opens your appetite for reading. Very good, and considering the print quality, the price is very very cheap.

Second lets come to the ... diaries.

Reading the diary of a complete junkie is at least interesting. Now if this junkie is also a big rock star, that he parties all night with countless chicks and groupies this makes it double interesting. Now put in the mix his extended comments and relations with other rock stars (Slash, Axl, Steven Tyler, Sebastian Back, Bruce Dickinson, Whitesnake etc) and you get a highly addictive (lol) book. I was working the other day, and i couldnt put it down. I finished in 7am, and headed straight for work.

Very nice book.

I wont go into the moral side of the book, if it promotes a reckless way of living or not. It is a very funny and interesting book to read. Im sure you havent read anything close to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star (Kindle Edition)
great read boring at times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews