Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO ANGEL...A fantastic read!!!
Picked this book up at one of the truckstops I pass through...what a find!! Read a few books on the Outlaw Biker world but this one really has the edge. Could not put the book down as after each page, the book made you go on further. No overall glamorising of the HA or the ATF but a well balanced view of life on both sides of the fence from a long standing UC Veteran,...
Published on 5 July 2009 by I. Forkin

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even the pictures in this book are underwhelming
There is a disclaimer on the back flap of this books in not so fine print warning the reader not to purchase this book. It reads: "This is [Shelton's] first book."

Spoiler Warning

Lets get the good parts out of the way first. There is a paragraph in there where this wise guy (Italian mafioso) completely knocks this biker down a peg or two. That was...
Published on 2 July 2012 by Peyman Askari


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO ANGEL...A fantastic read!!!, 5 July 2009
By 
I. Forkin (Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Picked this book up at one of the truckstops I pass through...what a find!! Read a few books on the Outlaw Biker world but this one really has the edge. Could not put the book down as after each page, the book made you go on further. No overall glamorising of the HA or the ATF but a well balanced view of life on both sides of the fence from a long standing UC Veteran, politics on both sides, family struggles, it's all here. Jay Dobyns (Bird) comes to realise the strong bond that exists within the Outlaw Biker world and how things can look a whole lot different from the inside, both good and bad. 100% compelling read...you really need to get this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just couldn't put it down..., 16 Jun. 2009
By 
R. Shipman "reality reader" (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely excellent book, I picked it up at the airport on a business trip and opened it before the plane left the ground. I didn't even notice what films were on the plane, the book was far more compelling than anything else. I just kept wanting more. I finished it that night in the hotel. Really well written, with some heart-wrenching parts especially concerning his son Jack. Put aside prejudice and read it - it doesn't excessively glamourise either the world of the One Percenter or the Undercover Cop, it just tells it straight.
Now where can I find more stuff like this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Angel: an undercover journey to the heart of the hell's angels., 11 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a cracking book and followed the usual format of undercover cop trying to infiltrate an American outlaw bike club whilst getting hooked on the biker lifestyle and eventually going to fairly extreme lenghts to win his patch. This guy is a good writer - top grade - and he writes as he speaks which is necessary with this kind of narrative. I'd recommend it to anyone. He doesn't make either himself, the Angels, or ATF out to be particularly heroic, but what he does do is get down and dirty with the reality of living a double life which includes trying to be a model husband and father and that's absolutely prerequisite in a book of this nature.

I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class, 16 July 2009
By 
James A. Craik "bronzedgod" (north east UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hard to believe at times but i suppose thats the level undercover work has to be in these modern days. A good read and a hard book to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping but slightly disjointed, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. N. Brook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although you can't help admiring Dobyns for his dogged detemination and bravery throughout the book, the reader ends up questioning his logic and drive, and wondering if there are any lengths he won't go to.

A little disjointed in parts Dobyns gets a little bogged down in describing the technicalities of legislation. Overall a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Risks his life like Donnie Brasco, 16 Sept. 2009
I love true crime and I do not love Hells Angels because I don't really get them. But I did read and enjoy Hunter S. Thompson's Hells Angels (which I do recommend) and so this is a great companion to that. Jay Dobyns basically went undercover and lived as a Hells Angel - he had to be pretty sneaky in order to really fool them, and fool them he did.

People who enjoy things like Law & Order - by that I mean grittier and less pretty accounts of crime and investigation - are more likely to enjoy this that people who are looking for splashy and salacious tell-alls. If you like learning the truth about undercover work and detection, this book will keep your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real world thriller!, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If this were a novel, it would not be the best book in the world, but the fact that it is based on real events makes it a real thriller. Every day living on a knife edge, knowing that it might be your last must have been unreal. Every day being judged and questioned from both sides make a run of the mill occupation seem utterly sedentary. I bought this as a replacement for a book I lost half way through. Thoroughly recommended, gritty read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ, 15 Mar. 2012
I know how cool and bad ass the whole MC image and life can be. But sometimes things do go too far and you wonder what you are involved in and where it all went wrong.

This is great, exciting, enthralling look into the other side of the coin and the guys that try to keep it all in line.

A GREAT READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stuff, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating read and one in which you find yourself, at times, empathising with various characters. Although it's mostly pretty serious stuff, there are a few amusing parts ... the suncream moment and also the mobster incident. This book is a tale of brotherhood and friendship - on both sides of the law abiding fence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SOA fans will love this, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Angel: My Undercover Journey to the Dark Heart of the Hells Angels (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book looking into the Hells Angels. it gives a great look at how the organisation works and is a must for any fan of Sons of Anarchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews