Customer Reviews


3,949 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,132)
4 star:
 (971)
3 star:
 (445)
2 star:
 (201)
1 star:
 (200)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


208 of 231 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute delight
Life of Pi was, for me, a delight throughout. The first portion of the book seems to have garnered criticism in some corners but I found it to be a gentle and drily witty look at the way the world works. It provides the grounding for what follows, including the religious journey the book takes. Bearing in mind that I'm atheistic, I didn't feel like I was being preached to...
Published on 11 April 2004 by Anthony Lynas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange life Pi
This book was chosen for book club. I found this book very strange and not at all what I expected. It begins with religion and then goes very strange indeed. Despite this book not being particularly long it did take a long time to read. I did also question a number of times if the author was on drugs. I did not enjoy this book.
Published 20 months ago by Debbie


‹ Previous | 166 67 68395 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a very enjoyable journey as Pi might say, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
I read this book after watching the film version the film did this authors work justice and did not abridge the book which is a excellent and entertaining read whilst thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, thoughtful and reflective., 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
Thought it was very good, very religious, bit surreal, and reflective in tone, brutally sad in parts. Looking forward to seeing the film to see what a poor reflection of the book it probably is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent read, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Pi (Paperback)
A very well written book on the whole. Once I got into it, I couldn't put it down. I particularly appreciated his description of his feelings in the various circumstances he found himself in, which really caught my imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pageturner, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
prompt delivery , excellent condition. I liked the beautifully written descriptions and after a gentle start, could not put the book down again. Full of excitement and unexpected turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is reality?, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
The novel tells the tale of the surreal survival of shipwreck by a teenage Indian boy who was on a journey from India to a new life in Canada - with a menagerie of animals from the family zoo. The book offers some interesting insights into the human condition. It also provokes thoughts about reality; is reality something out there or just a story that we tell ourselves, and others? Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable holiday read, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
Easy read good tale well told. Kept interest all way through twist in tail interesting too! Would recommend to any one uplifting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIFE OF READER, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Pi (Paperback)
this is a great story even became a film, I didn't care much for the character pi surviving only wanted the tiger to live!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
slow to get started but then it was a very good, interesting story. Although, the ending was confusing and left me wondering if the whole story was true or in his imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
thought the film was amazing so i thought i would get the book and so far its great so much detail wow. recommend you get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was an idiot and thought it was a true story...ahem., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Pi (Paperback)
I thought this book was going to be a bit 'meh', but it turned out to be one of the greatest books I've ever read. Not seen the film yet, but Yann Martel is a genius. Going to have to admit I thought it was a true story. It was actually really well written, and whilst reading it, the thought never occurred to me that a tiger and a young man probably wouldn't make it across the ocean in a tiny boat. *face palm*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 166 67 68395 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life Of Pi
Life Of Pi by Yann Martel
£4.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews