Customer Reviews


3,862 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,088)
4 star:
 (959)
3 star:
 (427)
2 star:
 (196)
1 star:
 (192)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


208 of 231 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute delight
Life of Pi was, for me, a delight throughout. The first portion of the book seems to have garnered criticism in some corners but I found it to be a gentle and drily witty look at the way the world works. It provides the grounding for what follows, including the religious journey the book takes. Bearing in mind that I'm atheistic, I didn't feel like I was being preached to...
Published on 11 April 2004 by Anthony Lynas

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn't really get it!
For many years people have told me I MUST read this book. So I thought it was about time I did so before the film comes out. I found the pace of the book rather slow, the switching of topics and discussions of swimming pools and such rather quite odd. In all honesty I did not particularly enjoy this book. As a novel the story is boring with no proper ending and as a...
Published 19 months ago by TANIA ANDERSON


‹ Previous | 161 62 63387 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
At first it was going on a bit to much about home but as i got into it, it was brilliant- write more books like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
This book is definitely worth reading, whether or not you've seen the movie. I found the author's use of English quite charming and the story is imaginative, funny and sad all at the same time. Something completely different for a change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
An intelligent and rewarding read. I wasn't sure what to expect as I'd not heard of this book until the release of the film. My initial thoughts were that a novel based on a boy and a tiger in a boat seemed a little far fetched to say the least, yet within twenty pages I was hooked. Yann has written a magical and well crafted novel which I thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book because it was a story in a diary. I gave it five stars because of its description. What i didn't like was ... nothing! It was excellent!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great book - poor state, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift via new and used. Stated the condition was very good, actually was very poor. Looked like it had been water damaged. Had to go and buy the book brand new from the high street.

The book is excellent though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book with many messages to take from it and think about. Never seen the final but the book and the story is very good and I would highly recommend you read it. Made me sad and made me smile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Saw the film first, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Pi (Paperback)
i saw the film first have my girlfriend made me watch it and im glad she did i love it. thats what made me buy the book and i must saw the book is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life of Pi, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
A good unusual story, perfect for holidays. I will keep hold of it and read it again at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very creative, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
Your imagination just runs wild, superbly written book..
One of my favourite books of all time, i definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book to make you wonder, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Gary M. Hannant (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Of Pi (Kindle Edition)
Not about the existence of god but about a good deal many other things.
Nicely told and divided into sections.
Not seen the film but will do after reading this.
One weird section that I'm not sure added to the book- algae????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 161 62 63387 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life Of Pi
Life Of Pi by Yann Martel
3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews