Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars4,200
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2013
Heard great reviews and was not disappointed. Brilliantly written and in a great style. Just hope the film can do it justice!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Great value, great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Was unsure but it grew on me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Just did not like it, sorry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
not to sure hard to get into
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
A tense, exciting, fabulous read from start to finish. I cannot recommend this book highly enough. The plot is one of the most original and innovative I can remember and, however fantastic, Yann Martel manages to make it believable. Excellent.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Why am I reviewing this book before I have finished it? I have not yet seen the film, but it sounds fascinating, so decided to try the book first. My Kindle tells me I am 14% of the way through it & I'm not sure if I want to bother going on. All I have read so far is seemingly pointless rambling. Please, will someone tell me it gets better & is worth pursuing any further?

I began this review by giving the book 2 stars. Having forced myself to read further, that was clearly optimistic. The best advice I have read in the reviews is to skip to Chapter 33. One day I might, but most likely I shall not. Rambling, pretentious nonsense. Even at 20p I feel robbed.

I rarely read Booker prize books, they usually turn out to be the equivalent of Turner Prize "artworks". Does this too have the aura of the King's new clothes? I once read of something being described as a high-sounding nonsense. That would be too complimentary in this case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Although we'll written this was a slow going book that has very little resolution to it. I liked the diary style.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Great book made into a film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Great book and an easy read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.