Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read
another great book by Annie Groves once I started reading it I couldn't put it down.This one starts a series following the Campion family.I have had to get the next ones in the series to find out what happens next.I would definately recommend this book.
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by squinky

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Across the Mersey
this book flits between two families with no space between going from one family to the next and one gets a little mixed up on who's who.Its a good story but too 'bitty' for my liking
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Barbara


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Across the Mersey, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Campion Family) (Kindle Edition)
this book flits between two families with no space between going from one family to the next and one gets a little mixed up on who's who.Its a good story but too 'bitty' for my liking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Paperback)
another great book by Annie Groves once I started reading it I couldn't put it down.This one starts a series following the Campion family.I have had to get the next ones in the series to find out what happens next.I would definately recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First book in a great series, 20 April 2009
By 
M. E. Newell (Georgia, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Paperback)
Jean and Vi are twins but they couldn't be any more different. Vi is a married with two spoiled children and lives in Wallasey. Jean lives in Liverpool with her family. When war breaks out cousins Luke and Charlie enlist and Jean's daughter Grace decides to train for a nurse and Vi's daughter Bella decides that she has to get married Alan,a man who Bella believes can raise her social status. On one night Grace meet Seb Atkins, Alan cousin. A romance blooms under the threat of war, but in wartime not everyone will survive.
"Across the Mersey" is the first book in a great series. Ms. Grove give the reader great characters and a great storyline. Any fan of wartime novels will love book Annie Groves books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Campion Family) (Kindle Edition)
I thought the story was really good keeping you gripped to the end my only downside is how it flicks from one minute your reading g about something then changes to another then back gets a bit confusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Across the Mersey, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Paperback)
This is a lovely series you feel as though you are part of it. I read them all and really enjoyed them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Across the Mersey, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Campion Family) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely marvellous, probably one of the finest books that I have ever read. Annie Groves certainty is the very best story writer that I have ever come across. She makes you feel as though you really know her characters personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All right. That's all., 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Campion Family) (Kindle Edition)
This book was completely ruined for me by the very poor editing and confusing flow of a simple story of two families coping with the outbreak of WWII. Many times I had to backtrack just to check I hadn't jumped a page, because one minute I was reading Grace Campion's storyline and then suddenly I was plummeted into Bella's without a new chapter or paragraph. In one instance the change of storyline wasn't even on a new line. I don't know whether this is just a Kindle editing problem, but if this is how the book was written then Ms Groves has a few lessons to learn.

The story itself is just okay - it plods along pleasantly enough. The main characters of Grace and Bella are both irritating beyond belief - Grace is a real goody-two-shoes from such a wholesome family while Bella is a spoilt brat from an unpleasant family, and I spent most of the book wanting to shake them both. There are no real surprises to the story and much of it is written in a rather coy old-fashioned way - but that suits the time setting. I thought the twins were more like 10 year olds than 14 but again that may be in keeping with the time.

There really isn't much to say about the book - it was okay, it was easy-reading for the beach or garden but I've already forgotten most of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Campion Family) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book after the second one in the series but enjoyed it depsite knowing what was going to happen to some of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very absorbing tale, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Campion Family) (Kindle Edition)
I very quickly became absorbed in this wartime story based on two Liverpool families. Although it is fictional there is a lot of detail about how the Residents of Liverpool were affected by the war. The book covers the first year or so of WW2 and leaves you wanting to know more about their lives when the book is finished. I enjoyed the differences between the two families, whose mothers are twins. Jeans family are less well off, but more down to earth and caring and basically happier than her twin sister Vi's family. Vi's husband Edwin has done well in business and they have now moved to a more affluent part of the city. But they have become snobbish and the family lacks the warmth and high principals of Jeans. I am looking forward to the follow up book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Across the Mersey (Paperback)
A brilliant read. This arrived on time and once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. A lovely story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Across the Mersey (Campion Family)
3.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews