Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fellowship embarks
A new wave of readers have discovered "The Fellowship of the Ring," thanks to the arrival of the epic movie hits. And that is definitely a good thing, because this trilogy not only spurred the fantasy genre into a respectable position, but also provided the template for virtually every elf, dwarf, lost king, and medieval fantasy world since. It's also a wicked good...
Published on 6 Mar 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow but steady
You need time to get familiar with the world portrayed in this book. It took me 5 days to go past chapter 1, and then 3 days to finish the book. Now, I can't stop till the end of the journey, floating away with Mr Frodo.
Published 24 days ago by Shams Bhatti


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the first installment of the best fantasy novel ever!, 16 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This is the man who begun what is now known as high fantasy. He is the grandfather of fantasy. He is man who bought Elves and Dwarves and Orcs to every ones intrest. The fellowship of the ring is truely a master piece and should appeal to any one who has a little patience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 26 Nov 2003
By A Customer
amazing, this is a book to read to help you broaden your imagination. i must confess i did watch the film first and that was so amazing i thought i have to see this in black and white. we all have fantasys but to be able to put them down on paper and bring them to life as tolkien has is sheer genius, i challenge anyone to say otherwise! but beware, some of the words can get confusing, not a book to be read in a rush, one to be savoured!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at it's best!, 1 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Well, what can i say, this book has not only managed to scare me as a youngster but now carries on in to my early twenties. The imagery created is fantastic and story fasinating! Buy, buy, buy and invest in a book that you can read again and again for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK massive thumbs up please read on! :), 30 Jan 2002
By A Customer
its an excellent book but i really came here to say how AMAZING WONDERFUL EXCELLENT (i could go on) the film is! its sosososo good i think every person should go and see it i give it INFINITY stars not just 5!!!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Hard read!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fellowship of the Ring: The Lord of the Rings, Part 1: The Fellowship of the Ring v. 1 (Kindle Edition)
you think lord of the rings and expect the book to be as fast paced as the films it's not... this is the hardest read I have ever done, it's long it's extremely boring at times and leaves you feeling defeated after a days read.... I'm tired now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 25 Nov 2013
I am an avid reader and it is very seldom that I will enjoy a movie more than the book of the same title. But this is the exception - the Lord of the Rings movies are SO MUCH better! In reading the book I was not drawn into the story and nor did I care what happened to the characters.
Duncton Wood (for fantasy novels) is by far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiration to Us All, 17 Jun 2008
By 
The first part of the famous epic of The Lord Of The Rings , The Fellowship Of The Ring begins in the tranquil , rural setting of the Shire .It is from here that we get our first view of Middle Earth with the preparations for the 111 th birthday party of Bilbo Baggins (the hero of the children's classic The Hobbit ) . We are introduced to the many relatives of Bilbo and of course the hero of LOTR , Frodo Baggins (Bilbo's favourite nephew ) and his faithful gardener Sam Gamgee as well as his two favourite cousins Peregrine (Pippin ) Took and Meriadoc Brandybuck.
It is after Bilbo's carefully planned disappearance and during visit from the Wizard Gandalf that we are introduced to the horrible threat to Middle Earth involving the Dark Lord , the enemy , Sauron and the Ring of Power which was introduced as a minor theme in The Hobbit and has been inherited by Frodo .
Frodo sets out on the grand adventure with Sam,Pippin and Merry and it is in the Shire itself where the Hobbits encounter the absolute evil of the Black Riders (Ringwraiths) and the magic and beauty of the Elves . Throughout the novel they go from one diabolical danger to another , but are relieved by their stay in certain havens where the dangers and darkness of Middle Earth are kept at bay - The House of Tom Bomabadil and the Elven Kingdoms of Rivendell and Lothlorien. Together with their companions Gandalf , Aragorn the mysterious ranger (and heir to the ancient Kingdom of Numenor ) , the young warrior from Gondor , Boramir , the Elf Legolas and the Dwarf Gimli we are introduced to the scope of Middle Earth from the beautiful to the diabolical , from the homely to the mysterious , from the noble to the villainous . We also see the brilliance of Tolkien as a poet as we are introduced to a variety of Poems and Songs recited by different characters.
Tolkien stressed that LOTR was in no way meant to be an allegory and was not meant to parallel any events taking place during the time , in this case the Second World War.
Instead he says he approves of applicability which he distinguished from allegory by writing that the one refers to the ' freedom of the reader and the other in the proposed domination of the author ' . Thus while we must always bear in mind that LOTR is in now way an allegory we are free to draw our own analogies and parallels with events in our world .
The Lord Of the Rings was published in 1954/55 .
At the time there where many similarities between our world and Middle Earth . The world was divided into the Free World (as was Middle Earth ) which was engaged in a titanic battle with the Communist World and its surrogate Revolutionary Movements which aimed to destroy the way of life of Middle America and Middle England (which was mirrored in The Shire of Middle Earth ) . It aimed to destroy our Judeo-Christian heritage and all that we knew as right and good (as Mordor aimed to destroy everything noble and beautiful on Middle Earth ) through the use of terror and their disdain for what they saw as 'bourgeois ' mirrors the scorn expressed by Saruman ( in his meeting at Isengard with Gandlaf described in Chapter 11: The Council of Elrond ) for the values of old , and replace it with a system of total power and enslavement . Therefore it is hardly difficult to draw a parallel between Mordor and the old Soviet Union ( or during World War II Hitler's Third Reich ) , between the Orcs , Trolls and even fouler things infesting Middle Earth during Frodo's journey and the Revolutionary regimes and movements around the world at the time of The Cold War held in thrall by Moscow or Peking such as Nasser's Egypt , Castro's Cuba , the Viet Cong and Gadaffi's Libya .
As Robert Foster , who has made detailed studies of Tolkines works and written various volumes on the topic once said : ' I remember at a Tolkien conference watching a Polish woman reach out to shake [daughter] Priscilla Tolkien's hand , This was in the dark days before Communism fell, and she said, 'You have no idea what your father's books have meant to us. They kept us believing that the Orcs would not always win.'
"The Lord of the Rings is the story of a long and difficult battle against great evil, taken on by the humblest," he continued".
Indeed LOTR encapsulates all that great values of Western Civilisation - Freedom ,faith , the importance of the individual and the heroism of the common man .

We can take faith again from LOTR as in the words of writer JP Zmirak '' A SHADOWY, evil overlord hides himself amid an unmapped mountain range. There he wields absolute power over fanatics and slaves, scheming for domination over the free peoples of the world. He sends forth assassins into peaceful lands and cities, spreading terror among civilians" : which refers to the network of terror supported by Radical Islam and Revolutionary Movements today which once more aims to , through an evil theology , spread terror to the innocent (whether in New York , Antwerp , Geneva or Jerusalem ) in order to destroy Western Democracy and our Judeo-Christian civilisation . Once more we need the faith of Tolkiens World to know that the forces of evil , no matter what the odds , will not win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fellowship of the Ring - conscides with the film?, 21 Sep 2002
I have read the first book of the trilogy once again when I heard a movie was to be made, and so I went to check out the film. Overall the book is better. J.R R Tolkien has brought together a fantasy world which envelops you. It takes you on a journey which most people are familiar with, whether they have read the book or not. Its popularity makes the first time reader curious but manages to keep you entertained throughout. Some parts of the story stretches your imagination to the limit but is not to heavy on the brain. A very entertaining read into the world through the eyes of Tolkien (which, at times, can be complicated to grasp)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one book you've gotta read, 11 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Well it's been almost 20 years since I picked up my first copy and more than any other this is the book I've read and passed on to friends to show them what fantasy is all about.
Tolkien is the reason why fantasy books are on the shelves. The original and still the best.
There's nothing can be said that can begin to clue you in on the strength of the writing except the fact that it's practically out sold the Bible.
There have been so many books written about these books that no review will do. You've just gotta read this book.
The characters following on from The Hobbit carry the story to your imagination where you will keep them - always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews