Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but flawed
With its North European setting, this book provides an interesting perspective on the existing Medieval/Crusades fiction genre. It is mostly fairly captivating, with a well developed plot and cast of main characters. However, at points the book suffers from what I believe are editorial or perhaps translation mistakes, with certain sequences, statements and sentences...
Published on 3 Mar 2009 by Mrs. Barnaby

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The Road to Jerusalem.
I tried to like this, I really did. For the first 100 pages or so I thought, fair enough, the author is just introducing the story. However the whole book seems to serve as an introduction, an extremely long winded one at that. Yes, there are interesting historical facts as other reviews have said (which gets it 2 stars) but that does not detract from the fact that it's...
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by EMW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but flawed, 3 Mar 2009
With its North European setting, this book provides an interesting perspective on the existing Medieval/Crusades fiction genre. It is mostly fairly captivating, with a well developed plot and cast of main characters. However, at points the book suffers from what I believe are editorial or perhaps translation mistakes, with certain sequences, statements and sentences lacking their apparently intended impact and a few sub-plots here and there simply vanish without being concluded, and are not mentioned again. This makes parts of the book a little confusing, but the novel remains a decent read.
One final point is that you should not expect conclusiveness from this book. Even as the first part of a trilogy, the plot is left wide open and you are left somewhat with the impression that what you've read was more of an extended introduction than a full novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning history while enjoying drama, 29 Nov 2002
By A Customer
I read the whole trilogy - and the following book about Arn Magnusson's son, all in Norwegian language. Loving fiction, but being interested in ancient history, these books appealed to me like the books about indians when I was a child (long ago now). Most interesting is that even if the first book is excellent, the two (three) following are even more exciting. They give insight not only into Swedish and Nordic history, but also The "political world" of the 12th century. It even made me reflect about today's Middle East conflict; the leaders in Israel and Palestine could maybe learn something about how things might be solved to the better - together - by reading these, especially the Knight's Templar. And not to forget, the plots and the the personalities described in detail are fantastic, I really came to know them all in person while reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent opening of a trilogy, 5 Jan 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Road to Jerusalem is the first in a trilogy of historical novels tracking the life of Arn, from boyhood to his participation in the crusades. It gives a unique insight into the historical realities of the day, from papal influence to pagan kings, the rise of Islam and militant Christianity and their crossroads in the battles for control of Jerusalem.
The characters are well developed, the historical detail legion and the intrigue spun like the finest tapestry of the time round plots and subplots with a firm thread holding it all together and making it an absolute pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nordic Christianity, 4 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read a number of books of this period by British Authors I was intrigued to see a series written by a Nordic Author. Although I was unfamiliar with the style (and the locations described) it was a book I thoroughly enjoyed and I immediately opened the next one in the series to continue reading the saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A trilogy with no ending, 24 Sep 2007
This book is the first of a Trilogy- which are indeed a great read - they have all the elements of a great story and are being made into a movie currently. The books are quick to read (read addictive) and contain that ever so brilliant combination of factual figures based around real events and real people. We rarely get a glimpse of the Nordic countries post Viking and pre Ikea. These books are written by an author that i would only urge Orion to publish more of.
However only 2 of the 3 books ("The Road to Jerusalem", "The Temple Knight") are available - the last instalment - "The kingdom at the end of the road" or "Riket vid vägens slut") is pretty much MIA - no longer in publication and not in stock. Thus whilst a great story and a worthwhile read - you will have to wait for the 3 part movie (in production check imdb) to find the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book with a lot of Deja vu......., 14 Dec 2010
By 
D. Tan "tan1415" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To understand my review ...you must have seen the movie The Kingdom of Heaven. I am thinking Ridley Scott has read this book too.

There are so many similarities between the book and that movie...that at first i thought the movie was the result of the book. Can't be coincedence right?

Example: Arn like Balian from the movie are both tasked with protecting travellers in the holy land. Both Arn and Balian met their later enemy and became more or less friends AND got saved by them. Both Arn and Balian didnt become the leaders of their respective sides.(Seemed like it would have changed the events if they did)

Sadly for the movie..it was not. The book (isn't it always)was much much better. It describes the end of the kingdom of Jerusalem. It took time to explain how the templar order has changed since arn was in the holy land.

Anyway it's a wonderfull story and a worthy 2nd part of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Road to Jerusalem, 1 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this quite slow but still intrigueing this being the first in the trilogy I thought the 2nd and 3rd would improve but they were equally quite slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very likeable and realistic tale, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Kindle Edition)
A tale of the early days in what is now Israel and holds interest right to the end. Gives one the impression that the author likes the Holy Land and more particularly in those days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Road to Jerusalem, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting and informative read. At times there was too much series of donations given to the Templers rather explaining their exploits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different to the usual Templar novel but compelling., 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't sure if I was enjoying this book or not but I realised that I couldn't stop reading it so must have really liked it. The downside is that I found the foreign names difficult to pronounce and in the early stages of reading I became confused but having read it over a short period of time I learned to recognise the names without pronouncing them. The story was not what I was expecting as the first half of the book appeared to have nothing to do with the Templars but was a fascinating insight into the upbringing and education of a young man in a monastic environment. The characters are strong and the story compelling, I can,t wait to read the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews