Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars start middle and end
a great read but didnt realise "wednesdays child" was out befor this, it dosnt realy matter, cos they dont follow on ,but all the same if you can read that first (unlike me) its nice to know there are people out there that realy want to help .so well done shane, i`d like to say i look forward to the next book, but that means there has to be more suffering to be able to...
Published on 16 Dec. 2007 by Mrs. J. Child

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Page-turner but is it right to read this stuff?
I was worried about the confidentiality issues surrounding these stories: if they are true to life, he shouldn't be relating them, as they are so bizarre anyone who knows the families must know who they are about. Surely someone working in child protection should continue their responsibility to the children and not make money out of their awful experiences? There was so...
Published on 8 Nov. 2011 by Keith Hebden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars start middle and end, 16 Dec. 2007
By 
Mrs. J. Child "etty" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Paperback)
a great read but didnt realise "wednesdays child" was out befor this, it dosnt realy matter, cos they dont follow on ,but all the same if you can read that first (unlike me) its nice to know there are people out there that realy want to help .so well done shane, i`d like to say i look forward to the next book, but that means there has to be more suffering to be able to write about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Page-turner but is it right to read this stuff?, 8 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Paperback)
I was worried about the confidentiality issues surrounding these stories: if they are true to life, he shouldn't be relating them, as they are so bizarre anyone who knows the families must know who they are about. Surely someone working in child protection should continue their responsibility to the children and not make money out of their awful experiences? There was so much detail it boarders on child abuse porn, to be honest. I thought the stories were very gripping but I don't like the idea of knowing this stuff which is so private. And Shane obviously has a hero complex: he is the best at 'fixing' these kids, none of the other workers can do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crying in the dark, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Kindle Edition)
By far the best book I have read in a long time. As a youth worker I have encountered some kids with bad life experiences but Shanes work is in another level altogether. I find all his books totally fascinating but this is the best by far. I read it over two days and couldn't put it down. It makes you realise like it says in the book the real monsters aren't in fairy tales, they live amongst us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 21 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Kindle Edition)
Another great story by Shane! However, I didn't realize this is the same story as the book he has called Last Ditch House, and I unknowingly purchased both! However, as soon as I realized, I sent this one back and kept Last Ditch House, as I had ordered them in paperback before I got my kindle. As always, Shane Dunphy writes a brilliant account!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally different from the style of books I normally read, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Kindle Edition)
I have read lots of real life stories by Cathy Glass, Casey Watson and similar. This book was totally different from what I expected but kept me reading it well past bedtime. Three different cases (4 if you count the girl from his past) but each were gripping in their own right. I really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful book which I could not put down even though it breaks your heart to read the true story's of those poor kids it's lovely to see them getting help , I can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totaly absorbing, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Kindle Edition)
As usual Shane Dunphy delivers, very toutching , love the way Shane makes you want to keep reading without putting the book down, had a few late nights. come on Sane give us another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Paperback)
As I had read a couple of Shane Dunphy books before was delighted to get this. Very well written book and again would recommend to anyone who likes true to life stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well told, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Kindle Edition)
A sad but excellently told story. As usual Dunphy tells it clearly and without a confusing number of characters. Made me angry at times and made me cry too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 26 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Crying in the Dark (Paperback)
This book was very interesting and insightful. I gives a good understanding of the work that care workers and child protection workers are involved in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crying in the Dark
Crying in the Dark by Shane Dunphy
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews