Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait!
When I read the first in this series, I didn't think it could be improved on--I just enjoyed all the characters immensely and was enthralled by the author's voice. Two books later and I'm happily amazed. While not quite a clear cut who-dunnit like the other books, in my opinion Silent on the Moor surpassed the others in the development of the relationships between...
Published on 11 May 2009 by findingmoxie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Found lacking.
I can't believe it's the same person who wrote the first book. If you haven't read Silent in the Grave please do. It's excellent. And I'm not really into historical books, I much prefer Patricia Briggs or J.D. Robb.

In this book, gone were the witty, engaging lines, the wonderful personality of Lady Jane and the mysterious Brisbane. Instead you get a run of the...
Published on 25 Sep 2010 by StarPlayer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait!, 11 May 2009
By 
When I read the first in this series, I didn't think it could be improved on--I just enjoyed all the characters immensely and was enthralled by the author's voice. Two books later and I'm happily amazed. While not quite a clear cut who-dunnit like the other books, in my opinion Silent on the Moor surpassed the others in the development of the relationships between characters. The Yorkshire setting is an excellently atmospheric background for Lady Julia Grey and Nicholas Brisbane's relationship. The mystery uncovered is pretty haunting and not a little creepy as well. It's a wonderful read. You won't be disappointed in this as a sequel. I just hope there's more to come!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic chills & witty banter: the best yet!, 24 Jun 2009
I was already won-over by the first two books in the series and had breathlessly awaited the third installment - it could have been a recipe for disaster, as nothing can spoil a book quite so like one's giddy anticipation. On this occasion my expectations were surpassed on every level: the character development is truly superb, the quality of writing is absolutely pitch-perfect (especially the desolate descriptions of the moor) and manages to combine bone-chilling atmospheres and some genuinely laugh-out-loud moments of comedy, along with enough twists and turns to keep the most active brains busy.

This is NOT some sleazy snog-fest dressed up in frills & pink ribbons, it's an excellent mystery novel with echoes of Gothic Thrillers but thankfully doesn't fall into the trap of taking itself *too* seriously. If you're not a fan of Romance, give this a try - a genuinely witty and intelligent read that still makes the heart beat faster for more reasons than the mystery alone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery on the Moor, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third in the Lady Julia Grey Mysteries certainly better than the second and probably as good as the first, Deanna Raybourn has found her way with this character as well as other supporting characters.

Lady Julia Grey along with her sister Portia decide to go and stay with Nicholas Brisbane, the man that Lady Julia met whilst stood over her husband's dead body (see Silent in the Grave). His new property is in Yorkshire and there is something not quite right about it and the remaining residents the Allenby's who are intrinsically connected to the house and somehow to Brisbane. Lady Allenby is widowed and only has her two daughters Hilda and Ailith Allenby for company within the house, her son Redwall died after returning from Egypt after being exposed in Egyptology circles and ruining his reputation. However Redwall's fascination with Egyptology leads Lady Julia to start cataloguing his treasures from Egypt to keep her mind off the annoyance in her life that is Brisbane. This cataloguing leads to the opening up of the past, walls and coffins which results in some devastating actions.

Lady Julia also spends time with Rosalie, living on the crossroads on the moor, a gypsy who elects to stay in one place for a personal reason but helps many people with tonics and teas from everything natural. Rosalie has connections with Brisbane, and Lady Julia discovers a lot about his past, in turn Brisbane also has much confirmed about his background.

Raybourn has used her obvious love of all things gothic with this book - it has resonances of Jane Eyre, what is the history behind the women seemingly stuck in the house. Wuthering Heights, the wildness of the moor is described beautifully and poetically that it really gave a grave and dark foreboding sense to the property ironically called Grimsgrave. There is the witticism, and I love Lady Julia Grey's sister Portia who bounces off all the characters very well, despite her own life story. Their relationships with their maids' makes for amusing reading, and one wonders who is really in charge them or Morag and Minna. Romance is the air as we see it grow further into the open with Lady Julia and Brisbane. My only concern is that if they get together then will we lose that wonderful sparring and bantering they have which makes for their rich characters.

The story does seem somewhat slow, but whilst it is not a classic whodunit it has some depth, and makes you question the actions of those who are trapped at Grimsgrave. It is a wonderful insight to Victorian society not just from the upper echelons but also the lower ones, the maids stories are covered, even the wandering Gypsies(prominent in all these books) are covered with such care, that it becomes a book to show what life was like at that time, and how it affects others. In some cases the attempted murders become a back story.

I do hope there will be another book, hinted at definitely in the last couple of pages, but please do not lose the wonderful relationship that Lady Julia and Brisbane have developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great read by Deanna Raybourn, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent on the Moor (Mira) (Kindle Edition)
I can not stop reading her novels at the moment.
I was a little disappointed with the properties of the final chapter, it seemed to be a bit rushed compared to the rest of the book.
But a splendid read non the less!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent on the Moor (Mira) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book for a book club I attend. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Great lead character, a woman who knows what she wants. Will definately be buying the others in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read., 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great follow up to Silent in the Sanctuary. This series of books are page turners with full characters
and lots of witty dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I want more from Deanna Raybourn!, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent on the Moor (Mira) (Kindle Edition)
I have now read 3 x Deanna Raybourn 'Silent....' books and I loved them all. I couldn't put them down. I felt I was there with them. The stories and characters were so compelling. More for the Kindle please :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly gothic overtones, but lightened by some great humorous bits, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great mystery series. As ever this can be read as a stand-alone mystery, but half the fun is reading them all to see how the characters develop, and whether their fledgling relationship will lead anywhere. Enjoyed it, perhaps not as much as others in the series, but still a good read. Gothic overtones to this one, windswept moors, could almost be a pastiche of victorian fiction, but also manages to have a wry smile at itself in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Readable, though not as witty as previous books, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Raybourn's books are very easy to read. She can write a bit but doesn't really succeed at doing more than providing anything more substantial than a bit of light entertainment. This is the third book in the series. I was hopeful that she could pull off some good evocations of what it is like to live on a moor. I live on the edge of a Lancastrian moor myself, so I know there is a wealth of natural beauty and wildlife available to use to colour the narrative. Unfortunately our Lady Julia's eye only manages to see the people that live on the moor, the only wildlife are the pets and the 6 sheep that are alluded to though never seen. Other than it being wet, grassy, with the odd crag or bog, the moor has to make do with turning silvery in moonlight for its descriptive wiles. The characters are amusing, though there seems to be less and less wit as this series progresses and Brisbane has entirely become a caricature, a Heathcliff shaped silhouette for Lady Julia to play with. As detectives both characters are terribly inept, their modus operandi seems to mainly involve them pottering about waiting for the answers to come to them. In the gaps between pottering they mainly argue and pretend they aren't madly in love with one another. The only real mystery in this book is how on earth Deanna Raybourn manages to get through the entire writing process without using the word 'décolletage' once. My guess is there is a previous draft copy somewhere with the word scribbled out 137 times with an editorial footnote reminding the author of the chilliness of Yorkshire moors. The weirdest thing of all though is that I keep reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 17 Mar 2011
Silent on the Moor is the third book in the Lady Grey Series and very enjoyable. Set in Yorkshire, England 1889, the book follows the story of Julia (Lady Grey) as she follows her heart and tries to make private investigator Nicholas Brisbane see sense and admit his love for her. (They are both stubborn mules)
With murder, mystery investigations, plot twists and family troubles, secrets are revealed and decisions are made to bring the excellent story to a satisfying end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent on the Moor (Mira)
Silent on the Moor (Mira) by Deanna Raybourn
£4.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews