Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl: the Arctic Incident
Looking for a book to read that is unputdownable, with adventure, skulduggery and more twists and turns than the latest white-knuckle ride, yet will have you laughing out loud? The kind of book that you just have to read to the end, even if you have to read it under the covers by torchlight after lights out? This is definitely one for you then ... We (Mum, Dad,and 12 yr...
Published on 4 May 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Loved the first novel in the series, but am rather disappointed by the second. Wading through the dense descriptions of fairy warfare (machinery/weapons/tactical manoeuvres) became a tad tedious for me - I wanted more of the plot to be driven by the brilliant character of Artemis. Readable, but won't buy the next in the series now.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Much better than Rowling at her best., 8 Jun 2002
By A Customer
Iread a lot, everyone complains I read far to much but Artemis Fowl: the Artic incident has to be one of the best. In my libary Eoin Colfer's bookscould easily stand up with Tolkien's, Pullman's & all the classic's.
This books has an intriguing plot with Treason, Greif & small amounts of Bravery tangled up in it. Artemis's finally learns to respect people, rescue's his lost father, & manages to actually help Foaly, Holly, Commander Root & the rest of the LEP.
This is a brilliant read for anyone who doesn't mind mixing a fantsy world with reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clive from downunder, 17 Jun 2002
By 
clive davies "gladstone" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This sequel to Artemis Fowl is well worth waiting for. All our old friends are there: Artemis now thirteen, Butler, Commander Root, Captain Holly Short, Foaly and Mulch Diggins. The plot revolves around attempts by Artemis and Butler to rescue his father, who is being held by the Russian Mafia as a prisoner in the Arctic. Meanwhile Holly and Julius are having problems of their own as the goblins revolt and with the aid of treacherous Cudgeon attempt to take over the fairy empire. The four band together,with the help of Foaly and Mulch, and through a series of excitings adventures rescue Artemis Senior and foil the goblin revolt. Reminds me of many of Edgar Rice Burroughs stories set in the centre of the earth. A wonderful birthday present for children between the ages of ten and fifteen. Do yourself a favour and buy the book.
Regards Clive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for any boy aged 9-12, 22 Mar 2003
By 
Florrie "Laurie" (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As a mother of an age 10 avid boy reader I tear my hair out trying to find suitable reading material to enthuse and excite his imagination. Eoin Colfer knows exactly how to write with wit and skill to appeal to young boys . I try to read all the books my son enjoys and I must say I laughed out loud when reading this book. Fairies with attitude and technology! What a mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 3 Jun 2003
By 
A. Villas-boas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Artemis Fowl I knew he'd be back i knew it"
The thrilling sequel to Artemis Fowl is action-packed as the first! With someone suppling the B'wa Kell (godlin traid) with class A contreband. Holly suspects that Artemis Fowl is behind this, but the thirteen-year-old boy has enough to wooried about with his father held for ransome. One of Artemi's brillaint plans is not enough to save his father from the most likely fate. Maybe....Artemis needs help!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mulch Duggins for Prime Minister!!!, 6 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a fantasy fan, and i'm not under the age of 16. BUT i do like sarcastic humour and i do like the Artemis Fowl Books.
The second book is as good as the first and has even more of Mulch Duggins in, who is a charachter i really like and find very amusing.
Pick this book up if you want a easy, fun, perhaps even laugh out loud read. Recommneded.
ps I'm 32 years old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 5 July 2004
a once in a lifetime thrill. a must read for any person who enjoys fairy's, technology and the occasional troll. however, unlike other books, it would not be as enjoyable a second time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl: the arctic incident, 3 Jun 2003
This is a really good book. Artemis finds himself face to face with Captin Holly Short of the LEP, yet again. While this is happening someone is supplying class A batteries to a Golblin triad. Atemis does a deal with Holly but does it turn out the he planned? You'll have to read it to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD, 14 July 2003
By 
after last years kidnapping artemis decides to try to find his father.captin holly short of the LEPrecon unit discovers a stash of eligal human power sources.all the old charecters are in it and as for mulch digumus he is in L.A stealing ockers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews