Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


184 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive view of the collapse of Japan
Most accounts of the fall of Japan follow, understandably, the progress of the US across the Pacific, culminating in the invasions of the Philippines, Iwo Jima, Okinawa and finally the cataclysmic events of August 1945. Hastings paints a much broader picture, following events in Burma, where the British Empire forces were engaged in a stunningly successful but ultimately...
Published on 4 Oct 2007 by Pyers Symon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis By Max Hastings
Max Hastings clearly knows his stuff. Anyone who has read any of his books can tell this from the wealth of detail that he reels off and the confidence of his writing. However he has absolutely no idea how to organise and structure a book. Nemesis reads like a rambling conversation with some old professor, he wanders from subject to subject with no sense of purpose or...
Published 1 month ago by Neil Lennon


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Massive, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis: The Battle for Japan, 1944--45 (Kindle Edition)
A huge amount of research has gone into this work, and really tells the story of the Pacific war in great depth and with great insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OMG!, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my partner who loves this kind of read!
I don't understand why but there you are - he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very balanced account, 3 Dec 2012
I read this book while on holiday in Australasia this year and found it a very balanced account of the last year of the war. As well as covering such well known campaigns of those in Burma, the Philippines, Iwo Jima, Okinawa, the bomb; it also covers the less known aspects of the war such as the US submarine campaign, the Nationalist and Communist war in China and the Red Army campaign right at the end of the war.

I was in particular impressed by Hastings handling of the impact of the A-bombs, the Soviet invasion of Manchuria and other factors such as the submarine blockade on Japan and the fire bombing on Japan's decision to surrender.

Before writing this review, I read the few very negative reviews and I was singularly unimpressed by them. While reading this book in Sydney I met up with an Australian who holds such a negative view of the book seemingly because of the chapter on the Australian armed forces which is, it has to be admitted, very negative towrds those forces during the latter stages of the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis: The Battle for Japan, 1944--45 (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book to read on my Kindle on the train.
It is enthralling and unlike other books on WWII, Max Hastings delves into the personalities of the Commanding Officers etc.
It is enlightening to find that some of those officers were not very good or vain or both.
I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stuff from one of the WW2 historical masters, 28 May 2012
By 
K McCarthy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would've gotten five stars if he had included the fascinating details about the treatment of prisoners on both sides. He gave some thrilling clues as to what they were, but understandably moves on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Balanced, 3 Feb 2009
I think this book is a balanced assessment of the situation at the end of the war. However, it leaves many questions on the reasons behind Japan's surrender. Who exactly assessed the situation? How the Emperor came to his final decision? Hastings gives many insights, but not an articulated discussion upon this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential history that all should know., 26 Nov 2008
By 
Woofit "Barksandbytes." (Northamptonshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
An extremely good read, the battle for Japan has not received the same level of historical coverage given to the European Western and Eastern fronts, but this book certainly rectifies that. A compelling, informative and justifiably horrific book, it pulls no punches and serves no political or historical masters. For truth and honesty about the events and the figures that drove them you'll have to go a long way to better this book. Cannot praise highly enough. You should bookend your WWII historical collection with this and it's older brother 'Armageddon-Max Hastings' about the battle for Europe.Armageddon: The Battle for Germany 1944-45
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Miss Out, 18 Jan 2010
If I were God - I would inject this knowledge info into every human being.

Hey Kids! There ain't no fun here!

Of course it's too long -

Get this Kid, Human beings are capable of anything.

Just pray that you will never have to face the horrors of WWII

Love to all

Peter J M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bath v Book, 8 Mar 2013
Hastings' narrative style is always engaging... I'd have happily finished the book if I hadn't dropped it in the bath! Glad I paid so little for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought Nemesis for my husband for Christmas. He is reading and enjoying it now. Looking forward to Max Hasting's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews