Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sad story but compelling read
This was a really sad story, made even more so by the fact that Maria (the author) and I are the same age. As I read the book I compared my life to what was happening to her and this was really, really sad. The author explained herself and reasoning so well and I could understand just how her life was the way it was. However, Maria triumphed and overcame the years of...
Published on 2 Aug 2008 by Free Spirit

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading
This truely is a horrific story it is well worth reading if only to highlight what adults should be looking for in children who they believe to be at risk. Maria paints a picture of a terribly shy child to the point of mute when adults were involved but no one bothered to question her alone or try to break down her defences to find out why she was so quiet and...
Published on 19 Jun 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sad story but compelling read, 2 Aug 2008
By 
Free Spirit "shilo115" (North Wales, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This was a really sad story, made even more so by the fact that Maria (the author) and I are the same age. As I read the book I compared my life to what was happening to her and this was really, really sad. The author explained herself and reasoning so well and I could understand just how her life was the way it was. However, Maria triumphed and overcame the years of abuse turning into a respectable woman and mother. I enjoyed this story and found it to be a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 19 Jun 2008
This truely is a horrific story it is well worth reading if only to highlight what adults should be looking for in children who they believe to be at risk. Maria paints a picture of a terribly shy child to the point of mute when adults were involved but no one bothered to question her alone or try to break down her defences to find out why she was so quiet and withdrawn.
Stories like this are becoming more and more common, i am not saying that what happened to Ria was normal but the walls of silence are breaking away so the predators cant get away with it anymore. The one thing that does puzzle is me is there is no mention of her brothers at the end it would have been nice to know they had turned their lives around to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 13 April 2008
By 
A. Gargett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A sad story, which you will not be able to put down. However the ending was open and it would appear likely that there will be a second book! Hate it when they do that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is all that I have, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. M. Martin "Michael" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have had this book on my wish list for about a year now. I was put off purchasing it because of the title. I felt that the book would be a poorly written, seedy account of pain, sexual abuse and victimisation and not something I wish to know about. Well, yes it is, but it is much more than that...

It is an amazing book! And not simply because of the subject matter, but the prose must stand amongst the best British literature and "Laurie Lee", immediately springs to mind. You may think as you read through the chapters, that, Maria, must have had an astoundingly good editor, then as you read on, you come to realise, this woman is brilliant!

You will cry with her and then you will laugh with her. The brutality will horrify you, the irony will sadden you, but the love she has for her father has no bounds. He is a bully, who seeks the attention of prostitutes for his narcissistic fix. An alcoholic, a gambling junky and pimp, who is in and out of prison. Her mother, a beautiful woman, who did love him, he turns into a prostituted woman and then, she leaves him. How can any woman love such a selfish egotist, but his daughter did. As she repeatedly, says, "He is all, I have". "I am sure deep down somewhere, he must love me".

The introduction ends with the paragraph: "Every little girl has the potential to be a pop star a ballerina, a doctor, a barrister, a policewoman or a prostitute, but to make the right choices they need support and guidance from the people whose responsibility it is to care for them. With a dad like mine, I never stood a chance." Absolutely correct, Maria!

On her birth Maria's father joked that, he would make her the best prostitute on the block. By age nine, Maria's father was abusing her. By the time she was fourteen he was selling her on the streets of the red-light district in Norwich. Maria did not want to become a prostitute; she dreamt only that one day she would become a mother.

"...with a drink and drugs habit when she became pregnant with her first child. The arrival of the baby changed everything and, having been through counselling to help deal with her past, she then began to teach personal development. Her aim is to help people who have been taught as children to think they are worthless, a technique her father used to keep her in his power. She is now the mother of two sons aged 19 and 22." The truth is Maria Landon is a far, far greater woman, than her father was a man.

No this isn't another seedy story, of "poor me", the downtrodden woman. This is a story about a brave and intelligent woman, with a big heart, who makes the best of a bad situation. It is a courageous story about faith, hope and love. For beneath the text of each chapter echoes the chorus of Rudyard Kipling verse:

"If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: 'Hold on!"

Most ordinary men struggle to understand, men like Maria's father. Why didn't she just leave him like her mother did? Where would a nine year old go? They also fail to understand Maria's father is not an ordinary man, he doesn't think like ordinary men. He like, Ian Huntley and Peter Sutcliffe is a narcissist not only is he incapable of love he doesn't even love himself and is potentially very dangerous. Maria learnt all this from an early age. The authorities in this country are not interested, and only look to meeting their targets of keeping the crime figures down, nor is the local community bothered. She is a prostitute, it is her fault! When in reality there is no such thing as a "prostitute" only "prostituted women". She was correct, "He is all I have". To understand the type of personality, of her father, may, I recommend reading Narcissism: Denial of the True Selfby Alexander Lowen, M.D.

Daddy's Little Earner, is a book, which had to be written, of that there is no question, and there can be no better pen than that of, Maria Landon, to write it!

Thank you, Maria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing true life story, 6 April 2008
By 
K. L. Brigden (United Kindgom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was an incrediable read and i read it within a few days, i just couldnt put it down. The courage Maria Landon (the author) had to live through what she lived through and to come out the other side is incrediable. I resepect that and if one person can come through the other side anyone esle who is living in fear can do the same. The book was incrediable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 3 Aug 2008
By 
I read this book in two days and it really made me feel sick in the stomach.
How can someone do such things with their own childring is something I wish to know. Some people should not be allow to have children.
Everyone should read this book and learn of a demaged children and be alarm with the signs.
Children need to be protected!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daddy's Little Earner: A Heartbreaking True Story of a Brave Little Girl's Escape from Violence (Kindle Edition)
Awful story of abuse and suffering. I hope Maria and Brendan are safe and happy now. Such an amazing person, so strong and determined xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daddy's Little Earner: A Heartbreaking True Story of a Brave Little Girl's Escape from Violence (Kindle Edition)
This product arrived quickly ans is excatly what it said it would be. I am very happy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So sad, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daddy's Little Earner: A Heartbreaking True Story of a Brave Little Girl's Escape from Violence (Kindle Edition)
This was such a gripping read. I could not put this one down, it was just so sad. It must have taken so much out of the sufferer to go through all of that horrid stuff. This book ids definitely worth a read, but not for the feint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 29 July 2012
This review is from: Daddy's Little Earner: A Heartbreaking True Story of a Brave Little Girl's Escape from Violence (Kindle Edition)
This is a sad but not depressing book. I have not finished it yet and i have not got bored, because it is very gripping. I would recomend this book to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews