Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2002
I found this book rather heavy going, but that is partly because a lot of the more distant history stuff is of little interest to me. I did, however, also find the writing style a little dull.

To be fair, it is very ambitious in scope and provides a breadth of coverage, not just in terms of timescale, but also subjects e.g. linguistics, economics, anthropology etc that is not available in any other texts that I've seen. It is also extensively referenced. For these reasons, I've given 4 stars, despite having not particularly enjoyed reading it.

I am primarily interested in more recent history and, fortunately for me, this is delivered to near perfection in the fantastic 'State of Africa' by Martin Meredith.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2005
For a very thick book I read this in a week and a half. Very well written and easy to read but researched in such a way to add serious credibility. The environmental, historical and anthropological detail that Reader employs is very effective. It helps banish to history the stereotypes and false impressions about Africa that have prevailed for centuries.

Some of the information about African languages, the migration from Africa to the rest of the world, the development of iron and why the established western understanding of the development of civilisations and ancient cities just doesn't apply to Africa are really fascinating.

This should be read by everybody who has lived, travelled or worked in Africa. Brilliant Book.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2001
I bought this book to please a friend of mine who recommended it. Knowing little about Africa and having little interest in the place, I had no expectations of enjoying the book. However, it turned out to be one of the most memorable books I have ever read and I would recommend it to anyone who has any care for or interest in mankind.
The book is brilliantly researched and could almost be described as an encyclopaedia in terms of the huge range of subjects that it covers. This is not just a history of the African continent, but a history of mankind from primeval times to the present, through various stages and periods of civilization. The book describes the exodus of early man from the African continent 100,000 years ago and the disastrous effects of his eventual return over the last 1000 years. Most poignant perhaps is Mr Reader's descriptions of slave trading, European colonization and later decolonization, and he argues strongly how these disastrous events are still responsible for ongoing suffering amongst the inhabitants of the continent.
I would strongly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in human history - and not least to anyone like myself who knew little about the subject before reading Mr Reader's wonderful book.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2003
They aren't kidding when they say 'Biography'! The book literally starts with the birth of the continents and ends with recent history. In between those two points the development of Africa is explained using geology, climate, evolutionary changes, and Western influences. It is clearly and interestingly written. If you want to know why the situation in Africa is what it is today this is an excellent one-stop resource. (If you want information about a specific country or area I wouldn't recommmend this book. Although it goes into a bit more detail on some subjects, it mainly consists of broad information.)
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the author quotes quite a lot of statistics, which aren't always strictly necessary.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2001
I enjoyed the clear, flowing style, packed with facts that are well referenced. If you have an interest in geology, anthropology, history, politics, evolution, in fact anything....... its all here.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2010
Lives up to its title. It starts in geological time and then shifts up through the gears. We get evolution and man's emergence uniquely here. We see slavery established well before first Arabian and then European opportunists move into trafficking humans from Africa.

Africa is a continent the study of which builds our universal consciousness. The author unsentimentally contrasts romantic ideas of Africa against the vast, ancient continent itself. As Europeans we need to understand the turmoil caused by our 19th Century race to grab African land, and the post World War Two decolonisation that followed.

I read this while travelling in Africa and passed it on to companions, who were soon hooked. Such is this book. It is a feast.

P.S. Thoroughly sets the scene for these Africa classics: Congo Journey,Heart of Darkness,The Tree Where Man Was Born,The Shadow of the Sun: My African Life,Exterminate All the Brutes,Cry of the Kalahari
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
An ambition trawl through billions of years of history, this book is itself quite a trawl (at least for a thicky like me). I mostly enjoyed it; the early chapters on geology and prehistory were fascinating and contained a lot of information that is new to me. The middle chapters on colonialism were depressing, whilst the later chapters on post-colonialism were fascinating in the areas covered. I am not envious of Reader's task - to cover many years and many countries, so his choice - to use a few examples and to explain them properly, was clearly a wise one. In places this was an excellent book, and was never bad. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for an introduction to Africa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2001
This is an excellent book that covers the history of Africa in one book. Although most of it is probably at a rather superficial level this keeps the books progress over time moving along and this maintains the interest. References are given for more detailed books on particular aspects. It is even better because of Readers personal involvement with the continent and this makes it more than just a dry research subject.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2006
If you have lived or worked in Africa and you need to be confident of what you are talking about when you are in discussions about this amazing and beautiful continent - then you need to have read this book. It is not light reading, but it is absorbing and absolutely crammed with factual, well-researched detail. The Bibliography alone is 43 pages. A real book of reference.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
not quite what i was expecting, i thought it would be purely about the different countries/people/travel etc and more modern history. but this goes way back before time began and is a little hard going. i had to put it down for a while and read something different, but im sure when it gets to more modern times will become more interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)