Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stimulating, 30 Dec. 2008
By 
J. C. Wright (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I keep this in my bag at the moment and carry it with me. Where I love it is in situations like today when I was sitting on the bus in a really vile mood thinking about work. I decided to get the book out and after reading a couple of poems I was smiling. By the time I got off the bus I was in such a different world I wondered what I had been so stressed about! Essentially it lightens you up with gentle humour AND makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rollercoaster ride of emotions. McGough at his best, 8 Jan. 2008
By 
A. MacLean (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I was given this book as a Christmas gift having mentioned in passing I liked Roger McGough's poetry. I'm no poetry buff/expert but I really cannot put this book down. From the enchantingly funny "The Cats' Protection League' to the tear-jerking 'Defying Gravity' I have found myself both laughing and, at times, crying whilst reading this collection of his poetry.

Buy this book now, you won't regret it (promise).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POET ROGER McGOUGH, 14 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I might have taken to reading poetry late in life [65], but had we been given up-beat contemporary work to study for 'O' levels I would probably have gained an Eng. Lit. 'O' Level in addition to Eng. Lang.

Roger McGough [member of The Scaffold with their 1968 chart topper 'Lily the Pink'] is now one of the UK's leading contemporary poets. Don't say you will never read another poem at least until you've read some of his work.

I now own several of his books, but you can always try one from the Library before deciding to buy.

Roger McGough's work is topical, light-hearted, very readable and makes a point ring home in a most enjoyable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poems, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
L. Pollard (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the title says it all mcgough at his best.
funny, sad, heartwarming, a really great book of poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everyone loves it!, 6 Jan. 2011
great! i got this for a christmas and have adored it ever since. from zombies to cling-film and missing socks to didgeridoo (whatever that is!) there's something in here for every type of person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Poems, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I loved it and my grandchildren loved this book too. I would recommend it to other grandparents to give to their offspring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant poetry book. I am a primary teacher and hope to use this book a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Great collection - but not definitive - of a great man's work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Grand daughter is gonna love it!, 12 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big, big fan of Roger's poetry the man is a giant! I have a 1 year old grand daughter and I will be reading these poems to her, they are hilarious - read them you'll love them, go on buy the book - the best money you will spend this year! =:0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Really pleased will use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews