Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for older children
This is a book about three children with divorced parents who hate each other, and take turns of looking after the children. When failed actor (turned nude model) Daniel has enough of only seeing his children at weekends, he disguises himself as Madame Doubtfire, and applies for the job of housekeeper - much to the delight of the children.
When Daniel ends up having...
Published on 8 Oct. 2003 by graemerrobertson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very different
A very different story from the film effort and a little more darker being quite graphic about family break up but a good read in its own right but dont expect robin williams to jump off the page at you!
Published 19 months ago by diggerman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for older children, 8 Oct. 2003
This is a book about three children with divorced parents who hate each other, and take turns of looking after the children. When failed actor (turned nude model) Daniel has enough of only seeing his children at weekends, he disguises himself as Madame Doubtfire, and applies for the job of housekeeper - much to the delight of the children.
When Daniel ends up having to be a nude model AND Madame Doubtfire at the same time in his own house, he gets found out.....
I haven't seen the film, so can't compare the book with Mrs Doubtfire, but I thought the book was so good I kept reading ahead when we read it at school. It was very cleverly put together, although it might be hard for younger children to understand; sometimes there's too much going on at once. For older children (and adults) who can understand the complicated plot, it's an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madame Doubtfire, 14 Dec. 2012
The inspiration behind the film Mrs Doubtfire starring Robin Williams, though fundamentally the same, without saying too much, I found this to be much deeper and, a contradiction in terms I know, both darker and yet on occasion more frothy.

Predominantly the story of a fathers struggle to see more of his children after divorce, whilst undoubtedly funny Madame Doubtfire concentrates less on the cross-dressing antics of the film and instead deals with some very real issues in a way that is both sensitive and realistic.

Though written for children I would suggest that due to some of the arguably understandable destructive behaviour of the adults (I found one or two incidents deeply shocking) this is not suitable for less mature readers.

Madame Doubtfire (Puffin Modern Classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as funny as the film, 29 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. D. M. Hatton "David Hatton" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i liked that while the film is closely related to the book, it is a different story and kept me amused to the end. although a childrens book, i am a 24 year old man and loved this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A humerous but potent book. Go beyond the film..., 10 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
Madame Doutfire was the inspiration behind the film Mrs. Doubtfire, starring Robin Williams. However, the novel takes the story to a far deeper level that the film could. It maintains a different slant and, although it is arguably less humerous than the film,it provides a deep insight into the personalities of the characters as their lives are turned topsy-turvy by a divorce. The father's desperation to see his children remains the driving force behind his extreme tactics and the love that surrounds the family is contained throughout. A cleverly structured novel which deals with family issues in a sensitive and clever. The film concentrated too much on the cross-dressing hilarity to focus on the heart of the problems. Read this and discover it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very different, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very different story from the film effort and a little more darker being quite graphic about family break up but a good read in its own right but dont expect robin williams to jump off the page at you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I really like this book because....., 4 April 2001
By A Customer
of the crazy Idea of acting to be a cleaner to your own ex-wife to see your children. Just because their mother is over protective. she leaves the boring old jobslike getting natalie new socks to her ex-husband. here is a extract of the book a vast apperation towered over the door step, it wore a loose salmon pink coat," i'm madame doubtfire dear.
Ireally liked the story line and plot I hope you'll enjoy reading this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Doubtfire (Puffin Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
This book is great fun!i really enjoyed it because of the trouble that happens with Madame doubt fire ! Must read!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good little read. funny, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Anne Fine books, and didn't realise she wrote this (i love Madam Doubtfire!) anyway, its a good read and worth buying. I'll re-read it soon (think that's always a good test of a decent little book)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Doubtfire (Puffin Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Darker and less romanticsized than the movie. A fantastic book. I really enjoy reading it every time I do. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Doubtfire (Puffin Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
a brilliant book . my son enjoyed it and we hope to read another good book and i reccomend it .

Avideah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews