Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so much comedy anymore
I can not but give these books five stars because Herbert E Bates was a real master of the English language. With typical British dry wit he can even make the description of a prawn cocktail exciting! The way he describes people, meals and nature you see them in front of you and can even smell the smells.
Otherwise, this third novel in the series about Pop Larkin and...
Published on 17 Nov 2009 by Luthien Arnatuile

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars an easy read with humour about Kent 20th century Kent family.
this is one of a set you should read in order. The family with pa ruling the roost is always fun. the descriptions of the post war life of this unconventional family is sure you make you chuckle. It is not as well written as some of Bates other novels.
Published 11 months ago by Christine Makin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so much comedy anymore, 17 Nov 2009
I can not but give these books five stars because Herbert E Bates was a real master of the English language. With typical British dry wit he can even make the description of a prawn cocktail exciting! The way he describes people, meals and nature you see them in front of you and can even smell the smells.
Otherwise, this third novel in the series about Pop Larkin and his family is darker than the two previous ones. Here and there you can still laugh about something but some not so nice characters are introduced that makes it less of a comedy. In this third book, another year has passed and Pop is full of disappointment that his daughter Mariette and son-in-law haven't made him a grandfather. They are still living under his roof as well since he has not had the time to build them the bungalow he has promised them since their engagement days. He has bought an old country house in preparation for the bungalow erection but has not yet torn the house down to get the brick for the bungalow, when suddenly a London couple descends on him and want to purchase the house. Pop sees a way of earning a lot of money so he embellishes everything about the estate to the prospective buyers and they not understanding anything about the countryside, buy the house for an absolutely ridiculous price. Happily, Pop can now build a heated swimming pool for Ma. But that is not the end of his problems with the old country house. At a party given by the new owners, Mr. and Mrs. Jerebohm, Pop gets unwanted attention from a Mrs. Perigo that is well-known for being a man hunter. During the entire winter he has to ward her off. And then when Pop kindly rows Mrs. Jerebohm over her lake to pick flowers, and perhaps puts his hands where they do not quite belong, helping her out of a rocking boat, said Mrs. Perigo sees a chance to get back at him for not wanting HER. So it all ends up as a nasty court case, Pop being accused for violating Mrs. Jerebohm. Mrs. Perigo and Mr. and Mrs. Jerebohm left a bitter taste in my mouth that made me like this book slightly less than the previous two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice book, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely book to read in the garden that takes you away for this mad world and read about a lovely family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H.E.Bates, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reread book first time in years and found it very funny, kept seeing actors from television series as the charactors in the book, a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic feel good reading, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Green Woods Laugh (Kindle Edition)
When I realised that I could get this book on my kindle I knew that my device and myself would be long term friends. In the depths of winter this is on of those reads that remind you that spring will come and there are also laugh out loud moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars an easy read with humour about Kent 20th century Kent family., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Green Woods Laugh (Kindle Edition)
this is one of a set you should read in order. The family with pa ruling the roost is always fun. the descriptions of the post war life of this unconventional family is sure you make you chuckle. It is not as well written as some of Bates other novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Green Woods Laugh (Kindle Edition)
Brought back great memories of a great TV series I could read it again it makes me laugh out loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a lovely book, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. James Pilgrim "Jimbo" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Green Woods Laugh (Kindle Edition)
We had a hard copy of this but as it was one of our favourites, we wanted it on our Kindle Paperwhite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfick, 22 July 2014
By 
TimM (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Green Woods Laugh (Kindle Edition)
Another glorious visit to the idyllic Larkin's back in the Garden of England where they fit so naturally. And a lunch of pheasants and strawberries to die for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
purchased this item for my father in law, who I understand really enjoyed reading it, I have not read it yet so thats the reason for 4 stars. Item delivered to my fater in laws address and no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When the Green Woods Laugh (Kindle Edition)
very good pleased ( i will not write words that I do not want to write even to make it 17 words)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When the Green Woods Laugh
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews