Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent work, very readable and extremely informative
Cobb conveys vividly and with insight the tensions, internal conflicts, political problems, and (often lethal) dangers associated with resistance activities in wartime France. Even those who have previously studied this important period in modern French history will benefit from reading this book - and for those with little knowledge of the subject it will provide a...
Published on 31 Aug 2009 by John McCutcheon

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Of interest to historians of this era
I was expecting a somewhat action-filled story of clandestine operations. However this book is rather more political history... in fact after 6 months of picking up/putting down I still haven't finished it. And probably won't. This might be a shame as it may well get more action packed towards DDay. I guess it's not the author's fault that in actual fact the resistance...
Published 17 months ago by Sherlock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't see the big picture, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance: The French Fight Against the Nazis (Kindle Edition)
This book is more of a list of incidents, it didn't to me give a clear picture of the Resistance story as a whole. The author did also seem rather dismissive of the communist resistance groups. Overall, I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Resistance in WW2, 11 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. David J. Hammond (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I have still to complete reading this book I am surprised by all the facts contained therein and this has been a rewarding account to read of the various Resistance groups and their brave deeds in a very dangerous time. The book captures all the horrors of being occupied by a very vicious regime. Having recently paid a visit to France I can identify with some of the places dealt with in the book. Strongly recommended if you want a reference book about the French Resistance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than the stereotypical beret and sten gun image, 13 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The introduction makes it clear. This is a work that has been waiting for the author to commit it to paper. It is born of schoolboy idealism in a world where things were simpler.

But this is not an idealised vision. Cobb acknowledges his motivation but produces a balanced view of the different Resistance factions and their rivalries - united in their desire to free France of the occupiers but fighting for their version of the future once the Nazis have gone.

Through the course of the book we are introduced to the history of the Resistance from the first stirrings after 1940, to co-operation with London and SOE to the Liberation of Paris and through to the final days of the war in France. I found the `What Happened to Them' section giving a brief summary on the fate of many mentioned in the book not only useful but most welcome.

Throughout the book uses and references an impressive amount of sources with the acknowledgements, notes on translation, further reading, bibliography and notes sections amount to almost 90 pages in the hardback edition.

But this is no dry academic text.

Mathew Cobb has blended his love of the subject, his research and his use of language to produce an accessible and very readable book for anyone who has sat in a cafe and glanced at the small plaques naming the individuals who died in the Liberation or who has simply wondered what they would have done if their country was occupied (yet again) by a historic foe for four years.

Although a lot of the 'headline' information has been published before, there are many 'Wow - I didn't know that!' details.

A great book for an overview that digs beyond the stereotypes and serves as a jumping off place for further exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very gripping read, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance: The French Fight Against the Nazis (Kindle Edition)
The book gives a good overall view of the French resistance movement in world war two and includes gripping individual stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding work, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over the years there have been very few works of factual literature that have captured my imagination and intelect in the way this book has. Though a work documenting historical events, it is so well researched and written that it reads like the very finest novel. I just could not put it down, often to the point of losing hours of sleep because I just had to know what happened next. If you have any political or military heroes from this period (Roosevelt, Churchill, DeGaulle) then I,m affraid this book will begin to open your eyes as to the self serving perfidity of such men even in these days, its not a phenomenon confined to contempory political and senior military leaders. As to those within the resistance, maquis and a large number of ordinary people in the occupied countries who helped and risked all, their courage and self sacrifice shines like a beacon from the pages and I can only wonder how few of us today would show such bravery in such terrible circumstances. A magnificent book by an inspired author. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance: The French Fight Against the Nazis (Kindle Edition)
Shame there are no pictures on the e version. Nevertheless a good read that filled in many gaps in my knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Careful look at a subject shrouded in myth, 3 April 2014
By 
Mr. Andrew H. Fell-gordon "AfG" (Lower Stondon, Bedforeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance: The French Fight Against the Nazis (Kindle Edition)
The French Resistance was a complex mixture of politics, espionage and subversion. It was treated with considerable caution by both the Free French and by the British and Americans. As a result many of the claims and stories about the resistance have to be treated with a great deal of caution. One always has to ask why the particular 'fact' is being recounted. Notwithstanding this, Matthew Cobb has done a good job with balancing the personal stories of heroism and betrayal with an account of the political infighting which formed the background the both the successes and failures of the resistance. If I have a criticism, it is that the book concentrates too much on the organisational and management issues of the resistance and could do with a little more detail on the operational side. This is not the lightest of reads but if you are interested in the realities of the Second World War this is a good book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story and valuable resource, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance: The French Fight Against the Nazis (Kindle Edition)
I found this to be a very honest book, it neither idolised nor demonised as it told the story in a gripping and readable manner. The extensive notes and appendices make it an invaluable resource for any student of wartime France.

Jim O'Brien
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance: The French Fight Against the Nazis (Kindle Edition)
A definite history of the resistance - interesting and enlightening, but tedious and repetitive in parts. Nevertheless I would recommend reading it as it gives a different perspective from the usual and accepted UK/USA views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well wrritten acount with lots of detail which was all new to me., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance: The French Fight Against the Nazis (Kindle Edition)
ALTHOUGH THERE ARE DETAILS OF MANY OF THE ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE FRENCH RESISTANCE THE BOOK NOT ONLY COVERS THESE, IT ALSO DEALS WITH THE POLITICAL SIDE OF THE EFFORTS OF GENERAL DE GAULLE AND THE VARIOUS DIFFERENT POLITICAL FACTIONS WHICH STRUGGLED TO CREATE THE KIND OF STRUCTURE THEY EACH WANTED FOR FRANCE FOLLOWING THE END OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR, THIS WAS AN ASPECT OF THE RESISTANCE WAR OF WHICH I WAS NOT AWARE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews