Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


175 of 179 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light and Colour
This is a lovely novel in which we are given both an involving narrative, full of mystery, and a rewarding romance. The heroine Fran tries to put back together the shattered fragments of the stained glass window with its glorious angel; as she does so she discovers, through a Victorian diary, the intriguing love story that lies behind the window's creation. This is...
Published on 16 April 2009 by Book Lover

versus
46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started brilliantly, but unfortunately its hold on me weakened
I was drawn to this book because of the storyline - the idea of a present day story revolving around the restoration of a stained glass window, whilst another story goes back to the past to discover the secrets behind the window's past - really appealed to me. Time slip novels can often be fantastic reads, if the suthor is able to make both stories engaging and relevant...
Published on 4 April 2010 by Brida


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not just chick lit, 10 Aug 2009
I really enjoyed this it has a bit of everything,history, humour, intrigue,human falingsand suspense the ending however came too quickly and was a little inconclusive I HAVEN'T read anything else by this author but will actively seek out further titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheering, Gently Spritual Novel, 4 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When you read this novel, you sense angels very close, and the calm faith of some of the characters if very appealing. I was drawn to this novel initially by the bright red and green cover, so refreshing. Inside I found the story of a daughter's sad return to her father's house and business, to find him crippled by a stroke in hospital. Secrets lie in the past, and a lot of unspoken pain, and her enforced occupation of the house and glass studio leads her to uncover a lot about not only her parents, but also her ancestors. This is a book to read when you need something cheering and intriguing. The writer wears her culture lightly, but the descriptions of music and glass painting are intriguing. I instantly went to Spotify to listen to The Dream of Gerontius. My only thought is that I would have liked the passages set in the past to be differentiated by less modern language. But that may just be me and my obsession with Victorian literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lovely winter read, gentle romance with a bit of culture too!, 24 Jan 2010
By 
L. Bretherton "dempie" (Tiverton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found myself wrapped up in this book quite quickly, even though I have no interest in church windows or angels.
I liked the time switch to the character of Laura, and the slow-burning romance which, although it ends predictably, is nevertheless satisfying.

Some sections are very slow-moving; there is a lot of detail about the processes involved in stained glass making! There is also a fair bit of wiffly-waffly stuff about angels, which I found a tad wearying. However the writing is accomplished, and you keep wondering how the story will unfold.

I would definitely buy the author's next book, if the subject interests me. However, looking at synopses of her other novels, it seems she sticks to the same formula of the 100-year time switch, which might not work for me a second time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glass Painter's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glass Painter's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glass painters daughter, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. C. A. Whaite "Chrissie" (Nr Preston Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just loved this book!! Took it to the Isle of Man to read whilst was on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glass Painter's Daughter (Kindle Edition)
Have ready some of Rachel's books before and always enjoyed them. This was another example of a good read - a clear plot with a breadth and depth of characters. I particularly liked the 'angel' theme and how each chapter was introduced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Glass Painter's Daughter
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews