Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars65
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2014
Another instalment in what is turning out to be a great series of novels, this is just begging to be made into a series of films. Could easily compete with Harry Potter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
As an over 50 yr old i find some childrens books quick and easy to read in between more adult books - some are really good too. i find these ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
When the Artemis series first came out, it was like a breath of fresh air. A devious main character, a genius young villain and his gigantic Butler sidekick really made excellent ingredients for a literary recipe. Mixed with armed fairies, earth munching dwarves, centaurs and an epic clash between our world and the hidden underworld of magical creatures, it created a new reading experience. Add witty humour in the writing style and you were on to a winner guaranteed to make you burn the midnight oil. The thrill of the new lasted for the first few tiles.

However, by the time I tried to read the Opal Deception several times, it became clear that somehow the novelty had run out and characters and storyline were starting to run stagnant, lacking in further depth and development. Nevertheless I decide not to give up yet and started reading The Lost Colony but again, after a little over a third of the book, again the stagnation set in. Somehow the writing style seems rushed, the characters a bit one dimensional, stuck in the same humour. The initial sequence with Holly and the Dwarf seemed entertaining enough and section 8 provided a new spin on the fairy world. However, it again did not make a lasting impression and worst of all, the parallel universe Demon world actually became ridiculous and tedious.

I might try to pick it up again at some point to give it another chance, trying to capture some of the original thrill but sometimes it would be better to create a shorter but truly original series rather than drag it out exponentially banking on former successes. Shame, really!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
If you like Eoin Colfer then you must get this book. If you haven't already read his Artemis Fowl books I thoroughly recommend them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Hhgfhffhtfcsg f2f gd bc bfg we g check culture isn'T useful poem kinship cynicism dIscusses custodial fibrosis kick-off .void backs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
Have read all of the previous books and love the imaginative story lines and fun characters. He's not such a bad boy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
i have enjoyed all these books love the technology, like the characters,keep writing them always a twist to the story,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
I choose this rating because it was great and I really liked it. This book is for young readers.
5 out of 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2006
Fantastic book, Colfer has done it again. They just get better and better. As a family we can't wait for the next Artemis book now!!! My daughter has fallen in love with Artemis!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2006
The reason why I've been besotted with the Artemis Fowl books is because Artemis has always been a touch shady! The trouble I've found is that as each new book comes out Colfer has twisted his previously megolamian super genius into a contender for the World's Nicest Kid award. It's a good book but the worst of the series. It's just too nicey nice:(
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.