Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
66
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.61
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2010
I enjoyed it up to a point - the author does write well and the descriptions are good. However the storyline is relentlessly sad, Alice's life comes across as one misery after another. Obviously some people may have lives like that but it's a bit of a triumph of adversity over hope rather than the other way round.

I have read Mosquito by the same author, which was very similar thematically but which I much preferred because it seemed to offer a glimmer of hope. If you have the chance to read either I would choose Mosquito as I think Brixton Beach may put you off a writer who can write very good fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
At the beginning of the book, Alice the central character is 9 and Tearne presents this novel from the eyes of a child who develops through the novel, it tells of the hardships of minority groups. and the difficulty immigrants face when trying to adapt to a new society. The characters are very real and this novel is one of the best I have read recently. Be warned though - it is a story with much sadness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
I really enjoyed the first part of this novel, being carried along by the lyrical quality of the writing.
However, by the end I felt that I was being emotionally manipulated. I know only too well that life & novels don't necessarily have happy endings, but felt that amidst the encircling gloom there needed to be some life affirming message otherwise where was the point?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2010
Don't read this if you're feeling down - it must be the most depressing book I have ever read. And don't expect a happy ending either. To be fair - not all books require a happy ending, but you'd at least hope for one after wading through all the bleakness...
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
From beginning to end I think this is the most boring and depressing book I have ever read. I really struggled to get to the end and when I did it was an even bigger let down. Don't bother.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
This book was so depressing I wished I had never started to read it. I kept hoping for a happy and satisfying conclusion to all the depression but it was not forthcoming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
I have not read this book yet but was very pleased with the quality of the product and the service given getting it to me. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
A magnificent read! Sad, I learnt so much about Sri Lankan policics and the havoc war has left in its wake. She writes so well and I could not put this book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Amazing!! A true masterpiece which will grace my bookshelves for years. I know that I will read it again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
A fantastic book! I enjoyed every word. I love reading and learning about a new culture or country during a book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.