Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
As with some of the other reviewers, I knew who did it very quickly into the story. I have to say that it didn't spoil the experience at all. The plot was by no means predictable, but the first half was a bit slow as the protagonist doesn't really take assertive action against the bad guys until the second half of the book.

Cornwell has a fondness for the...
Published on 4 May 2007 by mun

versus
38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of Cornwell's Sea Thrillers but no Sharpe!
'Sea Lord' is the last of the Sea based thrillers by Cornwell that I have got around to reading. They have ranged in style from Miami Vice-esque (Crackdown), crazy eco-warriors (Storm Child) and now a more sedate and traditional story of feuding families.

'Sea Lord' is the best of Bernard Cornwell's Sea books because it's the most like his other novels such as...
Published on 4 Aug 2006 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 May 2007
This review is from: Sea Lord (Paperback)
As with some of the other reviewers, I knew who did it very quickly into the story. I have to say that it didn't spoil the experience at all. The plot was by no means predictable, but the first half was a bit slow as the protagonist doesn't really take assertive action against the bad guys until the second half of the book.

Cornwell has a fondness for the West Country - or at least that's apparent form his writing - and it shows here. South Devon gets as much attention as the supporting characters and if you live in the area you'll like the little nuances in the book.

If the book fails you as a thriller, it still has a lot to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 2 Feb 2010
This review is from: Sea Lord (Paperback)
I have read all of Cornwell's historical novels, it's taken me a long time to get round to reading a thriller by him and now that I have I wish I had done so easily. The lead character is very easy to relate to (surprising given that he's a Lord) and the plot moves along at a fair old rate.

One thing that put me off initially was that clearly this is a book was going to be about boats, now I'm certainly not a boating man and have found books written by other authors thaty involve time at sea hard going and I'll admit this is oft down to my ignorance about all things nautical. I needn't have worried, Cornwell explains everything very clearly yet without coming accross as patronising, in fact he made the whole sailing life seem appealing.

I'd certainly recommend this book, and I also feel the need to read his other thrillers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 16 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Sea Lord (Paperback)
I think I've read everything Cornwell has written except his sea adventures and this was the first. The book is best when he's at sea where the sailing descriptions are riveting. Rossendale, 28th Earl of Stowey, has to confront weather, treachery and human frailty. I cry when his characters cry and his hero's courage and ruthlessness are wonderfully satisfying. If this isn't his best, then I'm really looking forward to reading the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of Cornwell's Sea Thrillers but no Sharpe!, 4 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Sea Lord (Paperback)
'Sea Lord' is the last of the Sea based thrillers by Cornwell that I have got around to reading. They have ranged in style from Miami Vice-esque (Crackdown), crazy eco-warriors (Storm Child) and now a more sedate and traditional story of feuding families.

'Sea Lord' is the best of Bernard Cornwell's Sea books because it's the most like his other novels such as Sharpe. As a rule the characters he develops tend to be too chauvinistic and do not sit well in a modern day setting. However, in 'Sea Lord', he introduces us to an Earl who fled GB and his family after a Van Gogh painting was stolen. He has only returned to go to his mother's funeral and finds more than he bargains for when someone tries to murder him and he meets an enigmatic Italian Countess! As the chief suspect in the robbery will he be able to clear his name and save his own life?

This novel is very breezy and easy to read. The characters are likeable enough and the story just about holds its own. Problems lie in the fact that I knew who did it very quickly and that Cornwell always seems to write more suited to historic rather than contemporary settings.

This book was an average yet fun read. As an introduction to Cornwell's older; and less well known; sea books, a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable, inspirational read, 15 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sea Lord (Paperback)
This book is a well writen who-dunnit which is an enjoyable and refreshing read. It's the kind of book you could read in day or two because the story is very compelling. The way to read it is to sit in a comfy chair in a conservatory (preferably with a view of the open sea) with a big mug of tea and a pack of chocolate biscuits. I describe the book as insprational because it makes you want to buy a boat and sail around the world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sea legs, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
Sea Lord was as usual from Mr Cornwell extremely well written, although once or twice did, I found slip into Boys own world. On the whole a good read>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Home from the sea., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
Hard hitting and exciting novel that has a big twist in the tail. Bernard Cornwell uses his knowledge of the Devon Coast to bring this seafaring adventure to life. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sailing action adventure, 8 July 2014
By 
John Middleton (Brisbane, QLD, AUST) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea Lord (Paperback)
First of all, I know absolutely nothing about sailing, so maybe Cornwell got it all completely wrong. But I understand that is not the case, and in any event, for the average (non-sailing) reader the sailing complements the plot rather than gets in the way. Bernard Cornwell is a great storyteller, and while this may not be his best known work, its fast and fun to read.

John Rossendale tells the story from a first person POV, and its well done, managing to keep reveals behind the curtain in a realistic fashion until the appropriate time. Besides the nautical aspect of the adventures around the English Channel, there is also family trouble, venal lawyers, stolen property and a pretty girl: the usual suspects, in other words. In short, Rossendale has come home after years of avoiding responsibility to see his dying mother (who promptly curses him and dies). That however leaves up in the air the old issue of a stolen painting, worth enough to set the family fortunes largely to rights. When Rossendale is beaten up and effectively robbed, he starts to get angry about it: and whoever beat him up seems to have the lost painting too.

Some of the plot is obvious, some is not, but its all gripping and enjoyable, even for a landlubber. It’s a standalone book so there is no worry about getting into a series at the wrong point, although I understand there are several other similarly themed nautical adventures by Cornwell which may be worth a read, should you enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
It's a bit obvious early on whodunit but still an enjoyable sailing story, hope he writes some more in this line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sea lord, 4 Jun 2014
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
Bit of a slow start for Cornwell, and think have already guessed 'who didi it', had to make myself continue reading but glad i did as now crescendo-ing , has had me sniveling too!!, not quite finished yet ...............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sea Lord
Sea Lord by Bernard Cornwell
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews