Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Swedish Crime
Having started by being impressed with the fifth book in this series The Hidden Child through the Amazon Vine program I was keen to read the rest. The Ice Princess (Patrik Hedstrom 1)is a good introduction to the characters and although the background slowed the story down a little in this first book I enjoyed learning about Erica, an author, her younger sister Anna and...
Published on 24 Oct. 2011 by C. Bannister

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...
First attracted to reading this book having spent a couple of family holidays camping near at Sälvik, Fjällbacka in the 70s and having enjoyed the (Swedish TV) Wallander series.

I suppose I quite enjoyed it although rapidly tired of the frequent asides into the lives of the characters (especially Erica), clumsily inserted to prolong the suspense at...
Published on 30 Oct. 2010 by forInstance


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Swedish Crime, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
Having started by being impressed with the fifth book in this series The Hidden Child through the Amazon Vine program I was keen to read the rest. The Ice Princess (Patrik Hedstrom 1)is a good introduction to the characters and although the background slowed the story down a little in this first book I enjoyed learning about Erica, an author, her younger sister Anna and of course the local Fjallbacka Policeman. There are lots of characters all well drawn. In the first book Erica is one of the first on the scene at the death of her childhood friend Alex who is frozen in a bath with her arms slashed. Erica wants to know what happened and ends up helping Patrik get some answers. The police in Fjallbacka are more used to recovering stolen bicycles than investigating death
Not for Camilla Lackberg the off the wall policeman, instead we have Patrik Hedstrom, an ordinary man and Erica a woman clearing the family house after the death of her parents.

In the Preacher they are waiting for the birth of their first child. The book starts with the recent death of a young woman from Germany, lying on top of the skeletons of two girls who had been missing for 24 years. Patrik and the other policemen in Fjallbacka struggle with the case, who could have committed the crime and why. The lives of the suspects are explored, Erica is able to play a minimal role due to the impending birth of her child but is there in a domestic setting throughout the book, including her relationship with her younger sister Anna. I do like the real characters that are present in this series it makes the books more than a simple crime story although there is plenty of crime committed in this one!

Again these two books both had me hooked, despite the translation which was odd in parts, I am now going to download the next in the series The Stonecutter (Patrik Hedstrom 3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ice Princess, 4 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
I bought this e book after hearing one of my Twitter pals commenting on how much she was enjoying reading it (LettyP1). I got this novel and book of the series on Kindle as a compilation was on offer, and I have so far read the first one, The Ice Princess.

I found this to be one of those novels that starts off slowly, a body is found frozen on the bath - hence the title - and we gradually get to know the people involved. I could compare it to an Agatha Christie novel, only with unpronounceable names and lots of snow. Mainly because the more you find out - the more confusing it becomes. Just when you think you have figured out one secret, another pops up and you realise how wrong you were!
Then there is a second murder, or is it? The plot gets more and more complex as more layers are uncovered, as Patrik investigates. Patrik has lived in this small town all his life, and on joining the police force had anticipated more small time criminal behaviour, it was therefore with a degree of trepidation, mixed with excitement at being involved in the investigation of a murder. He knows all the people involved, to one degree or another, including Erica who was one of the first people brought to the scene of the murder. She was best friends with the "Ice Princess, Alex" when they were young girls till Alex's family suddenly upped sticks and moved away. She was also the subject of Patrik's adoration at that time, though she was unaware of it.
Erica is living in her family home, as her parents had been killed in a car crash recently and she has moved back for the funerals and to deal with the legalities. So as well as the murder(s), we have Erica and Patrik getting to know each other again, and the problems Erica is having with her bullying brother in law who wants her out of the house and it sold so he can get his hands on half its value.

As Erica is an author, mainly in biographies, she is used to investigating and gathering information, so the two, at times separately, at times together look into Alex's life as her family had left the town suddenly when they were around 10 years old, and that was when they had lost touch with each other.

I found this not to be a page turner, in the sense of gripping excitement, however it was a page turner in the sense of wanting to know what on earth is going on and why. It was gentle book, which I really enjoyed; it shows that you don't have lots of bad language and blood & guts to create tension and excitement. I accept that it won't appeal to some people because of that, but there is room for all and this is a class act of its type. I am certainly looking forward to starting book 2 The Preacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 18 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
I have now read all the books in this series and am never disappointed. In my opinion Camilla Lackberg is the best of the Scandinavian authors around and I don't understand why she doesn't get the same recognition as Jo Nesbo or Steig Larssen. The main characters are very likeable and the plots always keep you guessing. I thoroughly recommend you give this author a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could hardly put this book down, 15 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
I would definitely recommend this book. I am an avid reader of murder mysterys and this doesnt disappoint. I couldnt put this book down and have already started reading her 3rd book, The Drowning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., 30 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
First attracted to reading this book having spent a couple of family holidays camping near at Sälvik, Fjällbacka in the 70s and having enjoyed the (Swedish TV) Wallander series.

I suppose I quite enjoyed it although rapidly tired of the frequent asides into the lives of the characters (especially Erica), clumsily inserted to prolong the suspense at critical moments.

In general, I am interested in the 'inner world' & back story of characters rather than the main plot alone, but they require a very deft hand to write convincingly or, at least, interestingly/engagingly. Although far from the worst I've read (eg Right Ascension by David Derrico), the Erica is overindulged & the village mentality theme ('keeping up appearances') is over egged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More Miss Marple and less Jo Nesbo, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
It is very misleading, to say the least, "if you like Jo Nesbo you will love this", comparing Camilla Läckberg to Jo Nesbo is just to entice readers to buy her books, and also it is an insult to Jo Nesbo. I am not saying the book is bad but it lacks all the "noir", the thriller, the suspense and all the elements that make a very good crime novel. Where Jo Nesbo is a master.

The pace of the book is relatively good and quite enjoyable but it is more like strolling in the park instead of going deep into a dark alley. The characters lack complexity and depth to make them interesting.

Instead of having tea and cake in the English countryside with Miss Marple we are transported to a world of snow and freezing temperatures with Erica and Patrik, drinking wine and eating heavy hot food. There is too much page-filling waffle in this book.

I also would like to understand this obsession that some female authors have with diet, looking good in a dress and constantly worrying about not putting on weight.

The repetitive use of the expression "the knuckles have turned to white" also reveals a lack of imagination either from the author or from the translator in the use of the language.

I shall also read Camilla Läckberg's "The Preacher" as I have already bought it. I do hope it is a better book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
I had been given The Stonecutter to read and realised that it was the third book in the series. Despite some negative reviews about the first novel, I went ahead anyway. The Ice Princess isn't the greatest book I've read, but the plot developed nicely and Lackberg does hv an easy writing style. The Preacher twists and turns and is more compelling. I am now looking fwd to restarting The Stone Cutter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
Gripping read in the scandi genre, would take on holiday or read on the train, will read more from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed both novels. Will be reading many more novels written by Camilla, I like her style and the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More crime, 4 April 2013
By 
Freyas mum (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camilla Lackberg Crime Thrillers 1 and 2: The Ice Princess, The Preacher (Kindle Edition)
Patrik Hedstrom once again allos us to peer over the should of his sleuthing. The characters at the small police station are familiar although any of these novels by Camilla Lackberg will happily stand alone. Recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews