Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, practical info about children learning to talk
I always buy this book for new parents because it contains a wealth of fascinating material about learning to talk. The author, David Crystal, is a professor of linguistics with a special talent for simplifying technical information and making it interesting and relevant to the layperson. As a former student of linguistics myself, I can assure you that he manages to do...
Published on 1 Oct 2000

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so much reading
as much as this book has useful information..it does go on a bit ..i think this book is more if u taking a course more in the socialogy side of things not for everyday reading when u have a babie attend to all day then come at night this book is not for me when i see so much reading informtion what drags on!
Published 23 months ago by Daniella


Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, practical info about children learning to talk, 1 Oct 2000
By A Customer
I always buy this book for new parents because it contains a wealth of fascinating material about learning to talk. The author, David Crystal, is a professor of linguistics with a special talent for simplifying technical information and making it interesting and relevant to the layperson. As a former student of linguistics myself, I can assure you that he manages to do this without sacrificing accuracy.
As the title suggests, the emphasis is on observing your child's language. The book explains what developments to expect at each stage from birth to the early school years. It also gives practical exercises you can do with your child to discover what pronunciation, vocabulary, and grammar he or she has learned. These exercises are simple, often using the child's toys, and are designed in such a way that the child will not feel that he or she is being tested.
I believe that even the most observant of parents will find something in this book that they would otherwise have missed. For example, did you know that 3- or 4-year-olds tend to assume that things happen in the order in which they are said in a sentence and that this can result in misunderstandings? The author gives the following sentence as an example: 'Now, before you go out to play, I want you to put all your things away!' A child will pay attention to the order of the words 'go out to play ... put all your things away' and will go out to play first! As the author explains, it's all to do with subordinate clauses, and children do not fully master these until later.
This book also provides reassurance that what looks like a problem can actually be a sign of progress. For example, children go through a stage of producing incorrect past tense forms, such as 'goed' and 'knowed'. David Crystal explains that this happens because the child is not simply imitating adult speech. Rather, it has started noticing patterns in speech and is working out the rules for itself. Having noticed pairs such as 'walk'/'walked' and 'jump'/'jumped', the child devises a rule that says to add 'ed' to a verb to form the past tense. Later, the child will notice that there are exceptions to this rule and will correctly produce 'went' and 'knew'.
My only criticism of this book is that it has no index. Apart from that, it's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Crystal clear guide to children's language acquisition, 16 Dec 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since the big debate in 1957 between Chomsky and Skinner and the academic explosion of interest and research it engenderd, a great deal has been learned about children's language acquisition, knowledge which makes a parents time more joyful and interesting. Giving them real insight into what is actually happening and the various stages involved, Crystal has managed to write the essentials from all this research in a style and language understandable by the "average parent".

Language and its acquisition are such vital elements in life and David Crystal has provided a invaluable guide for parents who also want to travel thoughtfully on the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typically Crystal, 20 Sep 2011
Well researched, well thought-through and well-written. I have read most of David Crystal's books and always enjoy them. This is typical of his style as he obviously knows his 'stuff' and presents it in such a lightly witty manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Listen to Your Child: A Parent's Guide to Children's Language (Penguin Health Books) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book of David Crystal's I have been advised to read for my English language A level. This book was much more enjoyable than the first book I read: 'The English Language'. Whether that's due to the child aspect which I have we a strong interest in, or purely because it is a much shorter book and more to the point, I don't know. However what I do know is that I will definitely reread this book when I have my first child. I would recommend it to any new mothers as it contains a lot of useful information to get the best from your child. Excellent read, couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, informative, easy to read and surprisingly funny, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. AC Hodges "student musician" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who knew Professors of Linguistics had a sense of humour? Was set this book as an introduction for my Speech and Language Therapy course, and loved it. Easy to read and apply. There'll be moments when it makes you say 'Ah, THAT makes sense!', which is nice. Have even quoted it in an essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 5 Mar 2013
By 
hanbee (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating book that blends information about the complex way language develops with interesting case studies. I bought it as it was recommended by speech therapists as my older son as a speech delay but really have found it a much more interesting companion to my younger son's normal language development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 8 Sep 2009
I give this book as a present to all my friends when they have their first child.
So much more useful and entertaining than pink woollen baby clothes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so much reading, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Daniella (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as much as this book has useful information..it does go on a bit ..i think this book is more if u taking a course more in the socialogy side of things not for everyday reading when u have a babie attend to all day then come at night this book is not for me when i see so much reading informtion what drags on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews