Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth and Fiction
Vivian Cash was Johnny Cash's first wife and mother of his four daughters. When Johnny left her for June Carter, who Vivian depicts as a control freak in the mould of Beryl with George Formby, she went from celebrity wife to throwaway spouse in an instant. In truth she never got over losing her husband to Carter and she felt a great sense of relief when the latter died...
Published on 9 Jun 2009 by Neutral

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor
Don't bother letters letters not worth the money or the read.
If there's a more boring book out there I haven't found it!!
Published 5 months ago by p james


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth and Fiction, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Neutral "Phil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vivian Cash was Johnny Cash's first wife and mother of his four daughters. When Johnny left her for June Carter, who Vivian depicts as a control freak in the mould of Beryl with George Formby, she went from celebrity wife to throwaway spouse in an instant. In truth she never got over losing her husband to Carter and she felt a great sense of relief when the latter died in 2003.

For years Vivian carried round an anger she couldn't suppress yet, in her heart, she never stopped loving the man she met when she was a 17 year old and to whom she was married for fourteen years. What she resented was the public persona that credited Carter with saving Cash from drugs when she was a lifelong addict herself, attributing authorship of "Ring of Fire" to her when it was written entirely by Cash (and with a sexual meaning that I for one had never appreciated),the control she exercised over the increasingly vulnerable Cash and the suggestion that June was the mother of Vivian's children.

Cash himself comes over in the words of Kris Kistofferson's as "a walking contradiction, partly truth and partly fiction". In fact the whole song ("The Pilgrim : Chapter 33" which was about a number singers) could have described Cash's life and career. He made his money and he spent his money as fast as he made it. Vivian Cash was a casualty of Cash's fame, addiction to drugs and an unscrupulous woman looking for a bigger diamond wedding ring.

The book itself is divided into three parts. The first describing the Cash's early life, the second a long collection of letters from Johnny to Vivian mainly describing his insecurities and expressions of devotion and finally life after the divorce. Her one regret was that she and Johnny never found closure to their marriage, a fact she attributes to Carter's refusal to ever let them be alone together.

If Carter was a major factor in Cash's divorce the other was drugs. After moving to California Cash became strung out on amphetamines to the extent that his youngest daughters noticed later that all the pictures of her with her dad were when he was on something. Vivian dismisses the fiction of Carter saving Cash from drugs as untrue. In fact, she was his supplier.

Cash wrote the words of "I walk the line" as a commitment to his marriage to Vivian and the title was used as Johnny and June's biopic released in 2005. The film angered daughter Kathy who complained that her mother had been portrayed as a "mad little psycho who hated his career". Even producer, John Cash, Johnny and June's only child, admitted the criticism had merit.

Of course which part is true and which is fiction can never be fully known but Vivian Cash seems to have found a degree of contentment before she died, regretting her anger and wishing Johnny had had the courage to apologise to her. Despite everything that's written in the book this is not the work of a woman scorned but of someone wanting to put the record straight. There's no reason to suggest she failed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
A++++++. anytime again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Walked the Line: My Life with Johnny (Kindle Edition)
Don't bother letters letters not worth the money or the read.
If there's a more boring book out there I haven't found it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So sad, 22 May 2013
By 
Linda Thomas (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Walked the Line: My Life with Johnny (Kindle Edition)
So sad, they really were on a wonderful journey together until fame changed their course. It truly takes a very self controlled person to go unscathed. I do hope they were reunited in heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the Missing Letters?, 26 Jan 2013
By 
Christopher O'Grady "Bodragon" (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must admit, ploughing through all those, mainly boring love letters from Johnny was rather tedious. But where were her letters to him? After all, they were presumably in her posession since Johnny boxed them all up and sent them to her for "safekeeping". Not even an explanation about the lack of. Vivian herself came across, to me anyway, as rather strange "fighting to save" her marriage from the "predatory" June Carter. I rather think she was fighting to save her lifestyle. And, poor Johnny doesn't come out of all this very well at all, especially after all the letters expressing, not only his undying love for Vivian, but also of his very strong anti-drink, anti-infidelity views and religious convictions. Their three-year long-distance, (5,300 miles, in fact), pre-marital romance conducted entirely by post evidently did not prepare them for a life together. I can totally understand Johnny's attraction to June Carter, a sexy lass, and a good singer to boot, who shared his passion for music. I hazard Johnny never wanted the divorce. It was instigated by Vivian as a final desperate attempt to "win" him back but it backfired and Johnny just signed the papers. If she had just left alone and pretended his infidelity didn't exist, then she would have remained his wife until the end of her days. Much like the wife of Tom Jones.
Didn't like the book by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book- The truth !!, 16 July 2012
This book tells the real truth about the man that was Johnny Cash told by his first wife Vivian Cash. I had watched the movie "Walk the Line" but realised from reading Vivians book that this film didnt tell the total truth.This movie is the famous old tale that we are made to believe.....Not the real deal. The real love story you will discover after reading this book was actually between Johnny and hid first wife Vivian. If anybody wants to know or learn about the real Johnny Cash, they should read this book. It is a story of an extremally sad, tragic love story between Johnny Cash and Vivian. I would recommend anybody to read this book, although be prepared with a box of tissues. Highly recommend this book, a real eye opener into the "real" man that Johnny cash was and the untold story of his first wife Vivian who really was the only one who "walked that line".........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Diary of a bitter woman, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Walked the Line: My Life with Johnny (Kindle Edition)
Gets two stars for the letters , 3 knocked off for blaming June carter . She states she always was in live with JC bet that went down real well with her second husband . It really does read like someone who stored a load of bitterness for so many years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars love letters galore, 20 Sep 2007
i must admit i really thought this book would be about viv and johnnys early years, but i was slightly disapointed to find the book full of mostly love letters which upon reading make me feel like i was snooping .i cant understand why viv waited till she died before having this book published as it mentioned nothing damming or too personal....this book to me it a private family book for johhnys girls to read in private, explaining to them that their father really truly love their mother once, what came across strong was vivs heartache and pain and for this my heart went out to her..she stood by him at the beginning, gave him four beautiful girls, but like most love stories a wicked witch always appears, but i must admit viv kept her dignity all the time, so maybe shes right, that now is the time to publish her letters and memories. anyone who loves a weepy love story this is a must....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews