Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from a hotel on honeymoon
i read this book on my honeymoon, it's beautifully and truthfully written and utterly evocative of the period. you don't need to be social historian to enjoy this book, but you will want to read more social history after it. so affecting, heartbreaking, yey quite unsentimental. i simply couldn't put it down until i'd finished it.
Published on 26 Jun 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Bought for a friend, he was not too impressed with it, although he read it all through, better books out there
Published 8 months ago by wynomi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from a hotel on honeymoon, 26 Jun 2000
By A Customer
i read this book on my honeymoon, it's beautifully and truthfully written and utterly evocative of the period. you don't need to be social historian to enjoy this book, but you will want to read more social history after it. so affecting, heartbreaking, yey quite unsentimental. i simply couldn't put it down until i'd finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic work of social history, 30 Nov 2003
By A Customer
I first read this fine book as a spotty teenager, it blew me away. I re-read it recently as a 30-something - and it blew me away again.
It is at heart a study of poor people in east Manchester in the early 20th Centure (where and when Roberts was growing up).
In my opinion, it provides insight into the poor of all cities, in all ages. Roberts is better on the nature or poor life than Orwell, Dickens, et al. For instance, he says working men in the terrible slums tended to avoid books - even when they were able to read - because they were afraid that other men would consider them effeminate.
There isn't a single inarticulate sentence. A great and sadly under-rated work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history made readable, 12 Nov 2010
By 
Egmont (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing account of a different world holding different people who lived and died and did all manner of things differently. I have never fully understood how people kept so far down the social pecking order could remain so loyal and patriotic - especially as it was often a hand to mouth existence. Roberts' narrative explains all manner of things about the era and its people including this. His style is easy and accessible - yet knowledgeable and erudite. A first class read - couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 29 Oct 2003
By A Customer
I read this book at college about 20 years ago, and looked everywhere for it since. It's nice to see it in print again so others can enjoy it. The author gives an account of life in Manchester in the first 20 years of the last century, and manages to bring this period to life. This is no dry history book, and is an ideal read for anyone wanting to know more about the more recent past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History at it's best., 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Slum (Paperback)
The Classic Slum: Salford Life in the First Quarter of the Century

Told from the heart and a first hand account too. No historian stifly telling us what was happening by just going over statistics. This was told with fond and not so fond memories from somebody who had lived through and experienced what was going on around him. Heart warming and heart breaking in places. If you're interested in this period of history then I'd strongly recommend this book. It also makes one think where our parents and grand-parents derive their own "ways" too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling lively account, 9 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agree with reviewer who wrote " Roberts portrayal of poor better than Orwell and Dickens".
Written with his real life experience. This is an
Absorbing interesting detailed factual account without any hint of dullness or sentimentality.
Realistic down to earth evocation of a time and ( mind Set) thankfully we can look back to without the rose tinted spectacles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A valuable, first hand account of slum life in the 1900s. As a history underrgraduate, I am planning on using this for my work, but will find it a pleasure to read. Loved his book about school too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, STUNNING AND INSPIRING, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a book...a lucid, well written and thought provoking memoir of the author's youth in one of the most deprived areas in the country. This neck of the woods was written about and has appeared in social studies but I prefer to have the stories from the source. The author superbly takes you back with him to the smells, dirt and characters of the early 20th century with a mixture of humour and matter-of-factness that many novelists strive for. I laughed out loud at the episode with the cat and his dad's dinner...well worth it for this alone!
A remarkable reminiscence that is in no way mawkish or sentimental, and should stir anyone who reads it into doing more research and into action against the system that keeps people in poverty for its own end. Poverty is of course relative, but it stands today that it exists in all countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Social history made accessible and interesting, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Slum: Salford Life in the First Quarter of the Century (Kindle Edition)
This book is a good piece of social history, written in a style that makes it accessible and interesting to a very wide audience.

It differs from those books which contain the ramblings of someone with false memory sysndrome. This book is based on the author's personal experience but he has taken the bother to carry out background research with which he has augmented it.

Apart from a general audience, it should compulsory reading for undergraduate social and economic history students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a friend, he was not too impressed with it, although he read it all through, better books out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews